• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Surprise OIAJ!

Morning! Today is so much warmer than yesterday but they’re saying thunderstorms all day… Blah! I hope the weather people are wrong and itll stay gorgeous all day and I can go on a nice run or bikeride outside today. If not, I will be working out inside, seeing as I’ve taken the last two days off in a row.

Last night we watched The Blind Side. I thought it was really good! Definitely a little cheesy, but it was funny and a really sweet story. Have any of you guys seen it? Yay or nay? Any suggestions on movies to add to my Netflix queue? I’m out of good ones – all ideas welcome!!

I got to have an unexpected treat for breakfast today. My boyfriends likes regular old sweetened Peter Pan Crunchy Peanut Butter, and since I don’t usually touch that jar, I had no idea it was getting really low. This morning when I was putting together breakfast and lunch, I saw the jar and realized it was low enough for OIAJ and I got pretty excited because I’m normally counting down until I can eat oats in a jar, but this was a surprise since it wasn’t my PB.

Into the jar (this morning) I mixed:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup light soy milk
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

I love adding vanilla extract to the oats! It adds just a touch of sweetness and makes the whole bowl slightly vanilla-y but its not overpowering. Once I got to work, I sliced a whole banana on top of the oats.

And I hated it.

Haha just kidding. It was so good I all but licked the jar clean.

In other news, this week is National Women’s Health Week, so today is day 3. Women’s Health Magazine’s Blog has been doing a daily post this week with some easy to follow tips that can make a big difference in overall health. Today’s tips are:

  • Go organic. This might be the single best thing you can do for your body. They are the only foods guaranteed to be grown without pesticides, chemical fertilizer, antibiotics, hormones, or toxic agrichemicals—helping you avoid exposure to antibiotics, growth hormones, and toxic runoff from livestock feed lots.
  • Get more antioxidants. These nutritional superstars help prevent cancer and heart disease, safeguard memory, reduce the risk of degenerative diseases like Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s, protect joints, soothe pain, reduce muscle soreness and fatigue, avert blindness caused by macular degeneration and cataracts, and even ward off wrinkles.
  • Eat colorful produce. According to a recent study based on government nutritional data, we’re coming up short in terms of eating a variety of fruit and vegetable colors: Sixty-nine percent of Americans don’t get enough green; 78 percent don’t get enough red; 86 percent don’t get enough white; 88 percent don’t get enough purple/blue; and 79 percent don’t get enough yellow/orange. We tend to eat the same produce over and over again. This skew toward bland means we’re missing out on unique phytochemicals, or plant chemicals, that vary from color to color. These various compounds all do different things to protect your health.

Do you follow today’s tips from Women’s Health Mag? I love these tips. I try to eat organic as much as I can afford and do a lot of my produce shopping at Farmer’s Markets now that the weather is nice. Antioxidants are found in fruits, veggies, nuts, seeds, whole grains, and healthy oils, which make up the majority of my diet. And I love having colorful meals! I think its more aesthetically pleasing when you have lots of colors on your plate, but it’s always good for your body.

10 Responses

  1. I’m going to have to try OIAJ. I’ve got two nearly empty jars. I wonder if it would work with granola since it’s hard to find gluten-free certified oats. It’s stormy here too again today. Looks like it’s going to be for the next week. I guess it’s treadmill or stationary bike for me. Oh, and climbing the stairs where I work. 7 floors a couple of times a day helps.

  2. Id love to get fresh fruits and vegetables delivered to me. Where do you go through to find a place that does this?

  3. I have never before heard of oats in a jar; they sound yummy!

    I get my fruit and vegetables delivered to me from a farm; it’s not all grown on that farm, but they tell me which farm grew which bits of produce. On one set of alternating Fridays, I get a box of vegetables, and on another set of alternating Fridays, I get a box of fruit. I base my entire way of eating off of these boxes and build my meals around them, so I think I’m pretty well in line with the Women’s Day tips.

    • I signed up for a CSA this year for the first time and I’m SO excited. It starts the first week of june, so very soon!!

  4. I follow all of them but eating organic foods. I know i should, I have just found that most organic foods are expensive and it’s just an easy place to cut down right now as I am not working full time and in school.

  5. I didn’t even know they did tips. I’ll have to check it out now! I loved the blind side. It was so sweet that I couldn’t believe it was based on a true story!

  6. oh i loved the blind side! i like to follow blogger tips 😉

  7. I’ve not seen the Blind Side yet. I’m so stuck on Dexter that I don’t have time for movies! lol!

    I wish I could eat more organic food. The selection around here is poor and no one seems to think it’s a priority.

  8. […] I have spied these oats in a jar on a few blogs.  More recently, here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

