• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

7 Reasons to Bike

Hiya! I found a really interesting article on Womens Health Magazine’s website about biking and why its good for you. I’m trying to break myself of this mentality because I know it’s good for me, but I find biking to be a lot easier than running. Sometimes I let myself feel guilty when I bike instead of run, which is ridiculous! It’s easier on your joints, its FUN, you can go so much faster and cover more mileage, and its an awesome supplement to my workout routine. Knowing all this though, I sometimes feel like I don’t get the same quality of workout that I do with running. This article was good for me because it solidified a lot of what I already knew but also taught me some new things (#3 and#6).

7 Reasons to Start Bike Riding

  1. Calorie burn – The average woman burns 488 calories biking 12-14mph.
  2. Good for On the Go – If you live within 5 miles of work, biking to work 2x a week burns an extra 3,000 calories a month, which is almost 1 pound of fat you could lose just from using your bike to commute.
  3. Total Body Workout – Obviously your legs, quads, calves and glutes are working to keep the pedals going, but you work your upper body too with controlling the handlebars, so you get toned all over.
  4. Boosts Energy & Fights Fatigue – A study published in the journal Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics found that bike riding improved energy levels by 20 percent and decreased fatigue by 65 percent. This is because biking causes your brain to release dopamine which is directly related to energy.
  5. Easy on Joints – It puts a lot less pressure on your knees, ankles, and joints than running or walking.
  6. Every Muscle Feels It – Biking uphill, 1/2 sitting 1/2 standing, engages your core and your triceps in addition to your legs and upper body.
  7. Protects your Heart – It lowers your blood pressure and LDL (bad cholesterol) and increases aerobic fitness, all big fighters against heart disease.

I’m going for a bike ride tonight after work so in an effort to pump myself up, thought I’d share this with you all. 🙂

Lunch today turned out to be better than I anticipated. I just wasn’t that excited about it, but it ended up being really delicious and satisfying! I had a bowl of leftover soup from last night

This soup was really chunky and delicious, and held up really well over night. It was perfect to contrast with the crappy weather here in DC. 🙂 Along with the soup, I had an awesome Strawberry Mango Salad.

This salad had:

  • 2-3 cups spinach
  • 1/2 mango, chopped
  • 5 large strawberries, chopped
  • 1 serving light feta, crumbled
  • 1/2 green onion, chopped

It was SO good! The green onions made such a difference and I almost forgot about them after getting them at the Farmer’s Market last week. I still have a ton left and love using them with eggs, in quesadillas, and on salads. I asked my boyfriend (the chef) if I could eat them just as a veggie, and he said they grill them whole at the restaurant and eat them just like that! I’ve yet to do that, but could be tasty!

Ciao for now!

11 Responses

  1. Beth–

    I love your blog! I’ve been doing Weight Watchers for the past few months and I often check out your blog for food inspiration. All of your dishes look so yummy–especially that tomato soup. And I’m originally from the DC area so I can definitely relate to the place.

    I was wondering if your diet/ exercise has changed since you hit maintenance? It seems like you eat pretty low points while exercising pretty frequently. Are you still losing?

    • Hi Katie, Thanks! I’m glad you find some yummy food ideas on here – I really try to change it up and try new things to keep it interesting. I am actually not in maintenance yet officially, as I still have about 6 pounds or so to lose, but it was coming off so slowly and I started getting pretty obsessive about the number of points in things and restricting myself too much and then overdoing it in rebellion against that, so I sort of switched philosophies. Now, I try to eat really healthy but don’t count points or calories, and try to listen to my body when I’m hungry. I’m hoping my body will naturally lose the last 5 or so pounds but I’m not stressing about a time frame, I’m just focusing on being healthy and improving my fitness abilities, trying new things, and enjoying the healthy lifestyle.

  2. I love adding onions to my salad. However, I think my coworkers would not share the same excitement… lol

  3. I second that! Cycling is a fantastic workout–just like swimming it uses your entire body to do it. I feel like with all my cycling training I’ve done, my stomach has gotten smaller because I have to use my abs to hold myself in position on the bike.

  4. Cycling is AWESOME!!! Great post!

  5. #8 reason to bike? It rocks! I love, love, love biking. No – I don’t always sweat as much as I do when running, but I can bike for hours. Can’t run that long LOL! Plus you go places and enjoy the scenery. You can rest when you need to.

    Given a choice, I will always bike over running. Always.

  6. Hey chica!!! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 Although I don’t own a bike, I do spin classes to get my cycling fix you are right they provide a great cardio workout and as you mentioned it is a workout that is easy on the joints!

    I love your story girl, you rock!

  7. I would LOVE to be able to bike to work! However, I live too far away and would have to deal with a lot of dangerous roads…Plus with the hours I work and the chances of bad weather, etc. I think it is a lot harder to achieve than it sounds.

    But I still love biking for fun & exercise!

  8. What a great article – and some great reasons to go biking! I am hoping to get a long ride in this weekend – if it is not too cold!!!!

  9. Great reasons to bike! Makes me want to attack that! I so wish I biked to work, it’s only 3 miles away! But the road is kinda dangerous, and the hubby thinks it’s not the grandest idea mainly ’cause of safety.

    Shucks. I should work on a farm, and ride my bike to the farm, on a nice dirt road, with no cars. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

