• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Raspberry and Banana Breakfast Parfait

Morning! Happy almost-Friday. 🙂 Last night I caught up on the Biggest Loser from Tuesday, and its amazing to see how far the contestants have come already! There transformations to date have been incredible, so I can’t even imagine how they will look at the finale. This show always sucks me in… Do any of you watch the BL? Who do you want to win from the Final Four? I’m sort of torn between Darius (because he’s so sweet and already looks amazing) and Ashley (because she’s the only female left and I think she’s handled being a lot bigger than the other contestants and still have a lot of weight to lose a million times better than Michael).

Moving on… today I had some raspberries that were on the verge of turning and really needed to be used, so I made an easy raspberry sauce. I put the raspberries in a mini food processor:

Blended them up:

Strained out the seeds:

And had a delicious and super easy raspberry sauce!

I went with the sundae theme that I had going earlier this week, and made a Raspberry and Banana Breakfast Parfait for breakfast.

I made Vegan Overnight Oats with:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup light soy milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds

Then I layered the overnight oats with the raspberry sauce, the remaining raspberries, and 1/2 a banana, chopped up.

It was sooooo tasty! The raspberry sauce made the whole thing sweet and having the layers made it fun to eat because every bite was a little different. Plus you can’t go wrong with something that resembles a sundae for breakfast!

Be back later!

12 Responses

  1. I watch BL faithfully every week. I agree with the transformations! They are amazing and everyone looks awesome. I’m also torn about who I want to win. I don’t have a favorite because I like them all. I guess I’d have to say that I am leaning toward Ashley because she is the only girl left.

  2. I watch BL every season. While I do think their weight loss is way too fast, I am amazed by their transformations and can’t stop watching! I am leaning toward Michael or Ashley to win. Your breakfast looks sooo good!

  3. I just started watching Biggest Loser last season, but it totally sucked me in! It’s such an inspiring show.

    I started out being a big fan of the grey team, and yellow when they came back, but I have to say I am currently cheering for Daris. I think his transformation, physical and mental, is the best. I do love Ashley though!

    Did you see the preview for next week? Someone only loses 2 pounds! I’ve been coming up with different theories as to who it is.

  4. I got into BL about half way through this season and am a big Ashley fan…..she has such a great personality. I also think her and Michael have something going on….they are always together and during one of the challenges, they were holding hands and he was calling her “babe”, just my thought!
    They apparently only go home for a month before the finally, so I wonder how much more they can lose. Didn’t they used to go home for about 3 mos?
    I am also interested in the new show, where Julian moves in with a family and transforms their lives and eating.

  5. I have a love hate relationship with the BL. I find it entertaining to watch, and it is amazing how far the contestants have come. However, it does not seem exactly how healthy how quickly they lose so much weight. I mean obviously they are healthier for it, but the approach just seems a bit drastic.

  6. That looks SOOOOO GOOOOD!
    I usually watch BL but I haven’t been this season–too many things on my DVR already! lol I miss it though!

  7. In the past few weeks you can really see a huge change in the contestants! I definitely almost cried a few times…

  8. Beth,
    I just made your tomato soup for lunch (you know how cold and yucky it is in DC today) and it was AMAZING. Thank you for sharing!!

  9. Ooooh! That’s delicious!

  10. I heart BL! They are just radiating after makeover week huh!? 🙂 Confession, I have the biggest crush on Sam, ha! I loved last week’s episode with Stephanie saying “I have a case of the Sam’s”…major aw! With Sam gone I guess I want D or Ashley to win!

  11. your parfait looks delicious.
    LOVE the reasons to bike 🙂

Leave a Reply

