• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Hiya! Can you believe tomorrow is already Friday and there’s a whole night of great TV ahead!? Sounds good to me! 🙂

After work, I stopped by the Farmer’s Market. I had brought $20 to spend with me, so I did a loop first to check out what they had, and then went back and bought the things I wanted. I spent exactly $20, and did REALLY well.

I got:

  • 1 bunch fresh sage
  • 1 bag of spinach
  • 1 bag of kale
  • 2 turnips
  • 2 cucumbers
  • 2 pink lady apples
  • 2 fuji apples
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 2 white potatoes

My CSA starts the first week of June, so I cannot wait! I’m basically paying $22 a week and am supposed to be getting 6-8 types of produce every week. I’m so excited to see what they give me and to try new fruits and veggies. I’ll probably still go to the Farmer’s Market a little bit to supplement what I get in the farm share, but I’m going to play it by ear because this is my first time ever doing a CSA so I’m not even sure how much I’ll get exactly/how long it’ll last. All I know is I’m excited for it to start!

My post from earlier really did pump me up a bit and reading all your comments about loving biking made me smile. I went for a nice ride after work and was speedier than usual! I think I’m getting the hang of biking more, and I came back and was a bit sweaty so I feel like I got a good workout. Here are today’s stats:

Distance: 8.01 miles

Duration: 34:25

Avg. Pace: 4:17 min/mile (!!)

Avg. Speed: 14.0 mph

Calories Burned: 449

I felt so good during the ride, and I kept glancing down at my Garmin and was going over 15.0mph during a lot of the ride. On the past few rides I was struggling to get up to 15, and this time I wasn’t even focusing on speed too much and was going that fast or faster! Exciting stuff. 🙂

For some reason I woke up today and my first thought was Sweet Potato Gnocchi. Now I have never in my life made gnocchi, or even attempted it, and the thought of making homemade gnocchi makes a lot of people cringe. I decided to give it a go and looked up some recipes today to get an idea of the process and then sort of made my own. While I was biking, I baked 2 sweet potatoes for 1 hour at 400 degrees (not advisable but no fire here) which sped up the whole process greatly.

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium sweet potatoes
  • ~2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

I started by putting the cooked sweet potatoes in a large bowl after removing the skin (which came off easily). I mashed the potatoes up with a potato masher, but a ricer is supposed to work better (but I don’t own one).

I let that cool for about 15 minutes (so the egg doesn’t scramble!) and then added the egg, salt, and pumpkin pie spice.

I mixed that together, and then started adding the whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup at a time.

I used 2 full cups of flour, but you’re supposed to go by texture, not measurements, because it depends on the size of the egg, potatoes, and the humidity in the air. You want the dough to not be sticky, but want to be careful not to add too much flour so it stays fluffy. Once you’ve gotten it to your desired texture, put flour down on your counter and place the ball of dough on top of the flour.

Cut the ball into 4 segments.

And keep the flour close while you roll each of the four sections into logs. You’ll need extra to keep it from sticking to your hands/the counter. Not gonna lie, this part was a bit tedious.

Then you want to cut the log into gnocchi sized pieces, about 1/2 – 3/4 inch thick.

Repeat until all of the dough is cut.

Salt and boil a pot of water, and gently place gnocchi in the water. Once they start to float, leave for another 1-2 minutes. Remove them with a slotted spoon into a colander, and then top them with your sauce of choice.

I made an Almond Butter Sauce:

  • 2 tbsp soy milk
  • 2 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce

Microwave for 30 seconds and stir together. I tossed 1/2 of this sauce with a batch of the gnocchi.

Tada! It turned out pretty good! Not the best gnocchi I’ve ever had, but I enjoyed it and the sauce went really well with the sweet potato. This would be a great sauce to make with the Sweet Potato Ravioli. The gnocchi were a little heavier than ideal because of the whole wheat flour. Most recipes called for white flour but I really wanted to use whole wheat. Next time I might do half whole wheat, half white, and I’ve also heard its good to mix some white/russet potato in with the sweet potato to get the right consistency. Either way, I’m pretty impressed with my first attempt ever at gnocchi and it was a lot less scary than I was expecting!

For dessert, I had an ice cream-less sundae that was out of this world!

I didn’t even miss the ice cream! In the bowl:

  • 1 chocolate walnut vitabrownie
  • 1 sliced banana
  • sprinkle of coconut flakes
  • drizzle of light Hershey’s syrup
  • drizzle of almond butter
  • 1 tbsp dark chocolate chunks

Amazing way to end that meal. This post is getting long so I’m going to go relax. Have a good night!!

11 Responses

  1. oooo I have all of the ingredients to make sweet potato gnocchi AND the sauce! booyah! thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  2. how fantastic does that dessert look!!!! and ive never heard of sweet potato gnocci! awesome ❤

  3. That sweet potato gnocchi is so impressive!

  4. Oh, Beth. You are so creative! Your recipes make me feel so pathetic about my cooking skills. I’m considering giving you my mailing address and having you ship me your leftovers from each meal. Yum! Also, that dessert looks incredible!

  5. I didn’t know about CSA until Erica filled me in yesterday! Such an exciting program.

  6. great stuff from the farmers market and great gnocchi-holy i would want to eat all of them!
    i have got to check out your other post about reasons to bike. i love biking and your bike ride sounds good Beth!
    happy friday girl!

  7. Those gnocchi look really good! Great idea!

  8. i loveeeee gnocchi!! my grandmother and i make it often together, it helps to put notches in them with a fork or a gnocchi board so they hold the sauce better – yours look fab by the way! but i’d have to say the ice cream-less sundae looks way more fun to eat (:

  9. Gnocchi is my new favorite thing! I want to try your version now.

  10. […] the gnocchi, I used Beth’s recipe as my outline of sorts.  After reading her post for tips and ideas, I decided to use two medium […]

Leave a Reply

