• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Chiacake Tacos

Good morning! It’s Fridayyyyy! Woohoo! I looked at Women’s Health Mag’s Day 5 Tips for National Women’s Health Week and loved the tips because they are all about healthy weight loss, something I can totally relate to. The tips are very simple and straightforward, but I think its good to see them put out so simply to get back to the basics.

  1. Eat when you’re hungry! This one is a lot easier said than done, but obviously makes a lot of sense. You don’t want to limit yourself and not eat when you’re physically hungry, but you also don’t want to give into emotional eating out of boredom, sadness, happiness, etc etc. For me, this is a constant struggle. When food is in front of me, my impulse is to eat it whether I’m hungry or not. Recently I’ve been working on listening to my hunger cues, but also controlling my environment. If there are chips and salsa (or guac!) out, I will eat them, hands down. So, I try to either move away from the snacks (after having a few, of course) or just put them away if I’m at my own house. I’d love to have the self control to have them out there and just resist, but I’m not there yet.
  2. Be realistic. This is why I love Weight Watchers so much. I tried Atkins and was quite successful on the program, but gained back nearly all of the weight I lost once I started eating carbs again. Cutting out any food group is just not realistic longterm (for me – especially carbs!), and you need to be able to make lifestyle changes, not just quick fixes. Weight Watchers is great because it helps you learn how to navigate certain social situations, gives you a supportive group of people who struggle with the same things you do so you don’t feel alone, and doesn’t have you cut out any one food group, even cake and sweets. I think being realistic is also super important in terms of time frame. The longer it takes you take off the weight, the longer it’ll stay off. I think having milestones or mini goals can be a good motivator to help you stay on track, but not if you’re going to set unrealistic goals and beat yourself up if you don’t reach them. My weight loss journey started in 2005 and I’ve been working hard and focusing on weight loss for over a year and am not even there yet (but am getting very close).
  3. Get moving. This one goes without saying. You don’t NEED to exercise to lose weight, but you do need to exercise to maintain weight loss, and to be healthy overall! It doesn’t mean you have to compete in triathlons or run for hours on end (see point #2 – be realistic!) but you do need to do something. Walking can be a good starting point for a long of people, but its good to change up your activity, and find something you love! And don’t be afraid to try new things – you might surprise yourself. I never in a million years thought I’d love running – I literally used to do anything in my power to avoid doing the mandatory laps at soccer practice when I was a kid and would call out sick during the day of the mile run in gym class. But for me, I love the challenge of running and even though I’ve had a brief hiatus from it recently, I’m happy to be back to it!

What do you think about these tips? Any other big ones you think are important to be mindful of?

Now, today’s breakfast! This one was pretty amazing. I made Chia Cake Batter with:

I couldn’t decide what I wanted for toppings on the pancakes, so I did something a little different on each one!

One with almond butter & banana, one with greek yogurt & strawberries, and one with coconut flakes & hershey’s syrup. I picked these up and ate them like tacos, as seen on Kath’s blog (except she actually cooked them in taco shapes, I made mine normal and just rolled ’em up!). I’ll use any excuse I can to eat with my hands.

Do you see how thick and fluffy these pancakes are? The chia seeds soak up all the liquid (which is why I used more than normal today) and make for the fluffiest, most delicious pancakes.

Nom, nom, nom.

12 Responses

  1. So clever! love how you turned the cakes into tacos. Sort of like a dinnner for breakfast – but not!

  2. Those look so good, love the varied toppings.

  3. Pancake tacos are the best! I would have fought you for the strawberry one. 🙂

    Happy Friday Beth!

  4. Beth–

    Thanks for responding! Wow, you had quite a successful cooking day yesterday–what with the pancakes (they looked awesome, by the way), the nocchi (sp?) and the non-ice cream sundae.

    I haven’t ridden on bike since I was about ten years old, and honestly, the hills in northern va are a bit daunting. Also, I would have to buy a bike, which is also a bit of a concern. But I’m thinking that I really need to switch up my exercise routine and find some outdoor activities that I like. I started WW at 240 pounds (height is 5’5”) and now I’m at 219. Since I started in March, I’ve been using the eliptical at the gym but I think my body is starting to adjust to the exercise because it is feeling a lot easier.

    Anyway, I love your posts. And I’m thinking of trying your sweet potato with black beans for dinner tonight.

  5. omg the peanut butter and banana one would be the best!!!! btw im all for ur tips i think those are awesome 🙂 eating when ur hungry is so important. i know so many girls that will supress the feeling and then they get into the cycle of emotional eating. i was just hanging out with my friend yesterday and i tried to tell her this but she’s really closed minded to listening to her body and what it wants.. then she just binges. its sad.. but all too common!

  6. Oh yum! I love how you topped each differently, get in all the fixings hehe.

  7. I love the “get moving”. Even if it’s not legit exercise, for me I’m happy on my rest days/when i was injured to just be doing something. Even if it’s just cleaning, walking, etc. So important!

  8. That breakfast looks delicious! I am hungry now!

  9. Good tips! And eating smaller more frequent meals is a good tip too. Especially if those smaller “meals” are veggies.

  10. those look AWESOME! totally stealing this recipe some time soon! thankkkkk youuuuuu

  11. Loved your tips, they’re spot on! Oh, and a simple, easy, delicious one for me has been: Eat the rainbow! Anyway possible. Not no Trix cereal rainbow, but foods come out of the ground looking colorful! 🙂 & those pancake tacos look so delicious, I got to find me some chia seeds!

  12. These chia cakes look SOOO good. I will definitely have to make them. I have fallen in love with my chia seeds. I’m putting them in anything and everything I can think of…LOL:)

Leave a Reply

