• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Fun Friday

Hey! Sorry for not coming back last night… twas a late night with a few too many cocktails, but lots of fun. 🙂

I went to Maddy’s after work for some drinks with two of my best girlfriends in DC. We were actually looking for somewhere to sit outside, and shortly after we parked my friend’s car, it started to DOWNPOUR. So even though the rain sucked, timing worked out well because we weren’t sitting outside yet when it started. The place we chose is somewhere I hadn’t been in a long time, and I forgot just how cute it is! We got a few things to share. First, housemade tortilla chips with white queso and salsa.

And then we got a flatbread, which was basically a pizza, that was out of this world.

It had an eggplant spread, figs, carmelized onions, and gorgonzola crumbles. It was supposed to come with proscuitto too but we asked for it without. It was sooo good. I had 2-3 small pieces of that and a bunch of chips. We ended up ordering fries to split between the three of us a little later, but after a few of these:

Snapping a photo wasn’t the first thing on my mind. 🙂 I had 3 vodka soda’s and then a dirty martini… and then we went back to Lianne’s house and had another glass of wine. Eek! It was over the course of several hours so luckily I wasn’t too tipsy, but definitely drank a bit more than I planned too. It was a splurge night, what can I say. And, it was really fun, so no regrets. 🙂

Moving along, this morning I woke up feeling surprisingly good and the first thing on my mind was… shocker… breakfast. I ended up throwing together a delicious wrap with a breakfast potato hash on the side.

For the potato hash (serves 2):

  • 1/2 medium sweet potato
  • 1 small white potato
  • ~ 1/2 cup sweet corn, frozen
  • 2 large green onions, chopped
  • 2 tsp canola oil

I peeled and chopped the potatoes, and then put them in a pot with cold water and brought it to a boil. Always remember to start the water cold with potatoes, not throw them into boiling water, because it always for more even cooking.  Once it was boiling, I took them off the heat since they’d be cooking more in the pan, and they were slightly al dente. I then threw them into a pan with the oil and corn, and let it sit for a few minutes to brown the one side, before mixing them up and letting them sit again. I threw in the green onions during the last two minutes of cooking, and the hash turned out awesome! The potatoes and the corn got crispy from browning and the flavor was just great.

The breakfast wrap had 2 scrambled eggs, some Morningstar Farms sausage style crumbles, and some shredded mozzarella cheese. I wrapped it up in a Flatout Wrap that I found in the depths of my freezer.

This breakfast was awesome, but definitely a little heavier than normal. I wanted to get some good food in my stomach because I’m going on a nice long bikeride today with some girlfriends. I’m biking into the city to meet them, which is about 7.5 miles. Then we’re going to bike down to the mall and have a light picnic, and then I’ll be biking back home, so I expect to do 15-20 miles today. I’ll wear my Garmin so I can figure out just how far it is, but I am really looking forward to it! It’s a gorgeous day here in DC – mid 70s, sunny, and not humid at all. Perfect day for biking!

Hope your Saturday is great and I’ll be back later!

7 Responses

  1. id love to have cocktails with u, u would be a blast!! hehe 🙂 what a perfect breakfast too.. very satisfying and awesome after a night of girlie fun 🙂 xo

  2. Some of the best nights are when you wake up the next day and go “wow, I didn’t plan for that to happen.” 😉

    The flatbread looks just awesome.

  3. umm hello hash, i look forward to seeing you tomorrow at breakfast! seriously that looks delicious – thanks for the awesome recipe (:

  4. WOW that pizza just blew my mind.Figs? Caramelized onions? YUM! Sounds like an amazing “splurge” night, I love those 🙂

  5. Okay, that’s so random… I was at Maddy’s last night too! I met some friends there after work for happy hour, which then turned into happy five hours. 🙂 I had a salad there, which was good, but definitely NOT enough food for how many glasses of wine I had.

  6. I think I have to make that hash! Looks so delicious + I have all them ingredients, fabulous!

  7. It looks like you had a packed and fun weekend! Some good eats too!

Leave a Reply

