• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Super Saturday

Today has been such a fun day, minus the one little bump in the road (quite literally).

My friend Lianne met me at my apartment, and then we biked into DC along the Mount Vernon Trail to meet up with our other friends. There were 6 of us in total, and we ended up biking all around the monuments and feeling like tourists, in a good way. It was fun snapping pictures of ourselves around the monuments, but the crowds everywhere did leave something to be desired.

We had a picnic down near the monuments on the grass and everyone contributed different things to the picnic.

We had:

  • Egg Salad
  • Regular salad w cheese, grapes, and chickpeas
  • Celery
  • Crackers
  • Bread
  • Hummus
  • Strawberries
  • Goat Cheese
  • Brie Cheese
  • Wine

I had a bit of everything while we chilled out in the sun. It was such a gorgeous day and the weather held up the whole time. After our picnic, we biked over to the Jefferson Memorial to explore a bit. Here we all are during a break from biking:

Katie, Kat, Me, Lianne, Amy, and Martyna

And here’s Lianne and I, a little sweaty but happy 🙂 We stopped for frozen yogurt at one point in the Old Post Office building, and I got a medium half vanilla half strawberry nonfat.

It was good, but not as good as my regular fro yo place. This was sweetened and didn’t sit that great in my stomach on the rest of the ride, but definitely tasted good and refreshing during the day of being outdoors.

We also went by the White House and saw a few other memorials, and then I ended up biking home. My Garmin said we had gone around 17 miles when I was within 2 miles of my apartment, and all of a sudden I heard a “pop” and my tire blew out! I had never had this happen before, didn’t have a repair kit with me (not that I would have had any clue what to do with it) but kept surprisngly cool and just decided to walk my bike the last 2 miles home. One guy stopped and asked me if I needed some help but said he had a tube but it wouldn’t fit my tire and apologized. I was surprised how nice he was to stop and offer to help considering he didn’t know me at all.

Then, another girl, Christy, stopped and insisted on helping me. She pulled out all these tools, an extra tube, an air pump, and several other gadgets that I needed to get. She said she was happy to help and it gave her a break from riding. She took out the tube and replaced it with an extra one she had, and walked me through the whole process so I think I can do it on my own next time! She was so nice, and I was seriously taken aback by how out of her way she went for me. Something I will definitely pay forward as soon as I figure out what I’m doinge. I was able to ride the last 1.5 miles home no problem on the tire, and I’m so relieved it was a simple fix! I must go to the bike store soon though to get all these gadgets I need, and now vaguely know how to use.

In the end, the Garmin said I traveled around 19 miles and the total time was a bit over 2 hours. I was biking pretty fast to DC and home from there, but the whole time around DC and the monuments we were all going very slow because there were so many people out and it was impossible to go fast.

All in all, today was a fabulous day! I can’t believe how nice people are in DC, and it was so amazing spending the whole day outside picnicking and biking. What a day!

9 Responses

  1. Sounds like a great time! That was so wonderful that someone helped you with your tire! You might check with some local bike shops, as they often have classes on how to change tires and do maintenance for free.

  2. The weather was perfect for a long bike ride! I would have no idea what to do with a flat tire either…I hope you do a post if you end up buying the gadgets 🙂

  3. Fro Yo!!!! You have my heart!!!! 🙂 the perfect summer dessert!!!!

  4. Sounds like a fun day! I was also surprised at how friendly & helpful the cycling community is. Even stopped just for a little breather you’ll hear “you ok?” “everything ok over there?”. Everyone is willing to lend a helping hand!

  5. i love how amazing some people are, and how friendly they can be. its so reassuring that the world has good people who are willing to help when ur in need huh!

    that froyo looked good but yea sucky that it was really sweet which wasent fun for the tummy on the way home.

    im so in love with the picnic. ur friends are amazing! all you ladies are SO BEAUTIFUL! ❤

  6. this makes me want to plan a picnic like today lol

  7. Wow, there are nice people in this world! Sometimes I get so discouraged by how untrustworthy people can be but this story is very refreshing. Oh and congrats on 19 miles!! That is SO impressive!

  8. 19 miles? That’s awesome! What a fun picnic!

  9. You had such a gorgeous day for it, too! Are you doing BikeDC this weekend? I signed up for it, but haven’t biked that far in YEARS… so it’ll be interesting! I hope the weather is as nice as last weekend.

Leave a Reply

