• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Chillin’ and Grillin’

What an amazing day I’ve had today! Nothing terribly exciting, I just feel like I did a lot to take advantage of my day off and enjoyed the outdoors. The best part though is that I have tomorrow off, too! πŸ™‚

I went on a nice run today. I wasn’t sure exactly how far I was going to go when I set out, but once I started I decided 5 miles. I always run half the distance then just turn around on the trail because I don’t have any loops mapped out around my house yet. I actually like that because I can adjust my distance by just turning around later or sooner, I’m not tied to the distance I set out with. I was feeling so good that I decided to up my run to 6 miles midway through. I was feeling really good until about the turnaround point (3 miles) and then I realized how thirsty I was! It was mid 70s and a lot of the trail was in the sun, and as I was running I was thinking about the really limited water I had to drink today. I normally drink water all day long so I don’t need it when I’m actually running, but today I’d only had one glass with brunch. I wasn’t sure if I was going to make the whole run because I was so parched, and I told myself I could stop when I wanted to since I was so parched, but then I realized if I stopped it was just going to take me longer to get to water! I ended up running the whole 6 miles, and then literally ran down the hall into the elevator and chugged 3 large glasses of water immediately.

Today’s stats:

Distance: 6.0 miles

Duration: 58:49

Avg. Pace: 9:48 min/mile

Avg. Speed: 6.1 mph

Calories Burned: 702

The miles broke down like this: 9:45, 9:40, 9:41, 9:42, 9:57, 10.01. You could tell I was getting thirsty towards the end and slowing myself down so I could make it all the way home.

After my run and then rehydrating, we got ready to grill! My apartment building has 2 community grills that are open year round for the residents to use. We’ve never used them before and were a little nervous since it was the first time using the grill. We live on the 10th floor so had to make sure we brought everything down with us, could work the grill, etc etc. But it went really well! For supplies, we brought down a platter and a tray for the finished food, a spray bottle of olive oil, salt, pepper and tongs. And of course, the food for grillin’. Here were the veggies:

2 veggie skewers (which we bought prepped from the grocery store because it was actually cheaper than buying the individual veggies and obviously easier!), 4 ears of sweet corn, and 5 green onion bases. And the meat:

Free range steak for Wil and salmon for me. We marinated them both in a bottle of marinade we picked up on vacation in Vieques, Puerto Rico, and it was sweet pepper mango flavor. SO delicious. Here’s the grill:

Another resident was using the grill next to ours, so he sort of showed us the ropes with turning on the gas and helped us get going. Then, Wil took over, and we just used the olive oil spray, salt, and pepper on all the veggies. The food went from how you saw it up there, to this:

It turned out perfectly! Wil also made a salad with the radishes from the farmer’s market today, a cucumber from the farmer’s market last week, and some green onions. He put a touch of olive oil and white vinegar, and it was SO freshing next to all the grilled food.

Here’s my loaded plate:

Overflowing with grilled deliciousness. The salmon was perfect – still pink in the middle and really succulent! I had a whole skewer of the veggies plus two green onions, and an ear of corn. Everything was incredible, but the corn stood out above the rest. Wil even said (and I’ve never heard him say anything even remotely along these lines because hes a carnivore) “I would rather have 4 ears of this corn and no beef!” It was that good. I had another ear of corn plus some of the radish salad once I demolished this plate. So, so good. I’d never had grilled green onions before, and they are so tasty with a char! I highly recommend it because they’re super cheap too – even at the Farmer’s Market.

To go with the dinner, we also split a bottle of wine.

Notice the vineyard on here? Klein wines! My dad makes and bottles wine for a hobby and this was his Sauvignon Blanc. It’s actually really good and went really well with our meal. This past Christmas my family did “Make Your Own” gifts, so we all made things for each other, and my dad gave Wil and I each 3 bottles of wine that he made – 2 sauvignon blanc, 2 Zinfandel, and 2 Malbec. The Malbec will be ready to taste next month, so I’m looking forward to trying that because I love Malbec too. Isn’t that so cute that my dad makes it!? I love seeing my own last name on a bottle! πŸ™‚

I also realize I don’t think I’ve ever showed you a picture of Wil before, so here’s a picture of us on vacation from our trip in March to Puerto Rico.

We have a really fun day trip planned for tomorrow and are going to try to get on the road pretty early, so you might not hear from me until the afternoon when we’re back from the trip because I might not have time to come on and blog breakfast, but I cannot wait for our adventure!! Hope you had a wonderful weekend, too! πŸ™‚

17 Responses

  1. I love grilled food! Your dinner looks so delicious and fresh. What a cute couple you guys are! Have fun on your adventure.

  2. Hi Beth,
    thank you for visiting my blog!! wow that salmon looks totally delicious, we will do some grilling on Saturday, lobster and salmon so you gave me a great idea how to marinate it!! ANd the redish salad, so refreshing and green!!! it will be a very nice addition to the meal!!! and it reminds me of my grandparents garden, I used to pick all the ingredients from their garden and to prepare very fresh, healthy, organic salads, OMG I miss them a lot, but I will visit all my family at New Year!! 😦 so much time to wait!!!

  3. And yes, you are a very beautiful couple!! πŸ™‚ cheers for you guys!

  4. Ahh grilled corn on the cob! Looks so fantastic, and the fact that your man loved it more than meat – shoot! We just bought radishes for the first time, hubby wanted ’em, and I’m thinking of throwing them into a salad much like yours. Thanks for the idea πŸ˜€

  5. I love your grill’in post. We finally got our grill in working order today. My husband grilled turkey burgers today and then, a later that day, while he was toasting waffles, he decided they needed to be grilled instead…LOL:) I think he had an itch to grill:)
    Love all the veggies! Your kabobs looked good. Gave me some ideas…:)

  6. WHAT AN AMAZING RUN! seriously great.. and good job for hydrating. i get so nauseous after runs and im figuring out i keep getting dehydrated which is causing this!. btw doesnt the raw fish in the bowl look like its dancing? hehe omg how cute. dancing fishieee

  7. That looks awesome! I need to start grilling at my house as well. Hey, take some blog advice from an old pro. Use the “More” feature on WordPress. You know, the feature where people have to click or “jump” to see the full post. It will make your blog easier to scroll through on the main page, but more importantly, you will be able to track what people really want to read. I found it helpful.

    • Hey Gabe – – good idea! I’ll check around and try to find that feature, but I’ve seen it on other blogs and like it.

  8. Oooh that grilled food looks delicious!

  9. Food on the grill just exemplifies summer for me!

  10. You guys are so cute! We’re a Weber grill family too. :)(

  11. WOW that plate of grilled food looks amazing!! Yum yum yum. Also I’m sure this is a silly question and I bet you just have a fancy watch or something that does this but how do you know how many calories are burned on your runs?

  12. Wow, that looked amazing!! I love radishes and your salad looks delish.

    You guys are a cute couple!!

  13. Breaking the grill out means summer is here! Have fun with your man on your day trip πŸ™‚

  14. so lucky you are off today 😦 so jeolous! what a great run-great time splits for sure…..and i love your dinner beth-looks perfect to me! enjoy your day off!

  15. Ahh I just love days off when I feel like I’ve been productive and yay for having another day off! All the BBQ looks great!

  16. aww he’s a cutie! and that food looks amazing! good job on 6 miles, i can’t wait till i can run that far (:

Leave a Reply

