• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Change of Plans

Rain, rain, go away. Come again another day. Sad story with the rain. It ruined our plans for the day, and its supposed to rain through tomorrow night so there’s no real hope of it stopping in the immediate future. Our plan was to drive out to the farm where our CSA is coming from this year, take a hayride to the strawberry field, and then pick fresh strawberries! There’s also mini golf on the farm and we bought groceries yesterday for a picnic! I was so looking forward to our field trip, but when we woke up this morning the weather made us change plans.

We ended up going back to sleep and getting to sleep in, and then made a delicious breakfast at home. We’re not sure exactly whats in store for the rest of the day, but it’ll be a fun day none the less and not being at work! šŸ™‚ When we first woke up, we knew we wanted to have the farm fresh eggs that we went searching for yesterday, and we made a similar hash to what we had on Saturday. I love when making breakfast hash you can use anything you have around! I still had 1/2 sweet potato, and 1 white potato left from the Farmer’s market last week, so that’s what we used for potatoes. We also had one ear of corn left, and some leftover grilled veggies from last night. Together, it made a delicious breakfast hash!

For this hash, we didn’t pre-cook the potatoes, just chopped them up and put them in the pan for about 10 minutes before any of the other veggies. Don’t mess with them too much in the pan, only turning every few minutes, so that they can get browned and crispy. After those were getting soft, we added in the corn, and then the leftover veggies from last night. Alongside the hash, I had 2 eggs over easy, and a toasted bagel thin.

I decided today I definitely like poached eggs more than in a pan – – they stay a lot looser when poaching and I just like the texture better. Fried eggs are just a little easier because there’s no water/vinegar involved. I also threw together a fruit salad, with 1 apple, 1 banana, and 6 strawberries, all chopped up.

I had a nice scoop of this after finishing the rest of my breakfast, but there’s leftover fruit salad which will not go to waste.

I’m off to enjoy my day, hope Monday is treating you well!

9 Responses

  1. URGH! yes rain go away!!! we’ve been having such gorgeous weather for the past week and a half.. but the weather network says now were supposed to have 2 straight weeks of rain!!! are they kidding me. hopefully the weather in both our areas looks up! we need that sun girl:) xoxo

  2. Sorry the rain ruined plans… never a surprise in my book… ugh! But sleeping in is still somewhat of a win in my book! šŸ˜‰

  3. Poaching eggs has always intimidated me. I should try it sometime though! Your breakfast looks great!! Sorry to hear the rain spoiled your plans, but at least you made the most of your morning!

  4. I live in the area and am wondering what CSA you belong to. I’d love to pick some strawberries. Enjoying your blog!

    • I signed up for a CSA with Great Country Farms in Bluemont, VA. It’s $8 or $10 to get onto the farm if you’re not a member (or a CSA member) but they may still have share available! I plan to blog pictures of the shares each week so you’ll be able to get the gist of what’s in them, and I cannot wait!!

  5. I feel you on the rain. I’m ready to enjoy some sunshine!

  6. That fruit salad looks delish! That’s one of my favorite parts of spring…fresh fruit salad.

  7. Oh that breakfast looks delicious!

  8. Never can go wrong with fruit salad!

Leave a Reply

