• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Asian Groceries Revealed

Good morning! It’s another gloomy day here in DC and so rainy and gross outside. I feel like the rain is good only because it makes being inside all day more bearable, but it stinks not to be able to go outside to run or bike! Plus, today I’m going to have to venture out to buy lunch because I ran out of time to pack one this morning. That’s the reason I normally pack my lunch at night, but after 3+ glasses of wine, that wasn’t the first thing on my mind.

So I did end up taking a photo of a lot of the goods I got yesterday at the Asian grocery store.

  • Tea
  • Sriracha
  • Honey Crystals
  • Strawberries
  • Watermelon
  • Veggie Buns
  • Tapioca Flour
  • Lemongrass
  • Eggplant
  • Yam
  • White Sweet Potatoes
  • Cucumbers
  • Goji Berries
  • Unpictured silken tofu (for 88 cents!)

I’d never seen or even heard of Honey Crystals before, but when I saw the cute bear (and was in need of honey!) I decided to give them a try.

They are basically little balls of dried honey that can be used 1:1 with sugar in recipes, sprinkled in tea or coffee, on top of ice cream or oatmeal, or eaten plain! I tasted a few and they tasted just like regular honey, but obviously dry and not sticky. Apparently it has the same health benefits as regular honey (which you can find here).

Moving along, breakfast today was simple and quick, but delicious nonetheless. I forgot to pack my breakfast last night, but was craving oats, so I mixed together:

  • 1/3 cup of oats
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • 1/3 cup of almond milk
  • 1/3 cup of nonfat Chobani

I brought that to work along with a banana, and made a parfait with layers of banana and layers of the oats.

It was delicious! A much quicker version of Banana Softserve Overnight Oats and it was nice having the banana spread throughout the oats because I normally plow through the toppings on my oats a little too fast.

Now, back to work! Hope Tuesday is being good to you!

6 Responses

  1. Looks like a great treasure trove! Oddly enough, I stopped by the Asian market, and picked up a number of the same things just a couple days ago. Kinda funny considering how long some of those things last!

  2. Honey crystals sound like an awesome idea! Every time I use honey, I just make a mess… I don’t get along very well with honey or syrups for that reason. I’m like a child…

  3. Asian grocery stores are my favorite! I love all of the spices, sauces and unusual fruits/veggies you can get there. The honey crystals look interesting!

  4. I love asian markets, sadly I have to travel 60minutes to get to one! Seeing the sriracha reminded me that I need to get some.

  5. oh i would totally buy that just for the bear jar! hehe. im so into asian vegetables right now.. as well as seaweeds. so many great asian markets around town which is a blast! its so crazy how many things ive never heard of but am so happy i tried; like job’s tears (pearled barley) !!! so fantastic 🙂

  6. woah Honey Crystals! That actually seems like a fabulous little bear, to beat the stickiness and simply put a tsp crystals in them oats = grand! We could treat it like flaxseed, chia seeds, anything! and that banana/oat parfait looks so delicious, I love how awesome oats and fruit taste together, especially with a little yogurt. Have a great night!!

Leave a Reply

