• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Random and The Giveaway Winner

That is the only word I can think of to describe dinner tonight. I didn’t sleep too well last night, and this afternoon post-lunch, it hit me hard. I was practically falling asleep at my desk, so when I got home, I couldn’t do too much to prevent myself from going directly to my bed and passing out for a good hour and a half. When I woke up around 7, I was ravenous! I wanted something and fast, so I heated up two of these Veggie Buns that I picked up at the Asian Grocery Store yesterday:

These just needed to heat in the microwave for 2 minutes, so the timing was perfect. I had some soy sauce with a little honey in it on the side, and they were delicious! They were stuffed with mostly cabbage, so pretty light, but the soy sauce was perfect with it.

Once I gobbled those down, I decided to make some Kale Chips. I’d never made them before but had heard great things, and they were super easy! I just took a bunch of kale, sprayed it with olive oil and some salt, and spread it out on a cookie sheet:

I put it in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes (mixing it around after 10), and then they were done. Simple!

DELICIOUS. I will definitely be making these again.

After the kale, I wanted a little something else, so I decided to make a smoothie. I had seen Chocolate Cherry Bomb’s on Caitlin’s blog, and I had some frozen cherries, so I decided to go for it, except I forgot the spinach! I have a ton of spinach I have to use up too but I was already mostly through it before realizing I’d left out a key ingredient. It was still delicious, just not as nutrition packed as it could have been.

This Chocolate Cherry Bomb had:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 10 frozen cherries
  • 1 medium banana
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder

So good but will hopefully remember spinach the next time. Anyways, random dinner, right? I have to remember that I usually wake up from a nap post-work ravenous, so to have something easy and healthy to eat (like those veggie buns!) so that I don’t end up mindlessly eating everything in my kitchen.

And now, for the KIND Bar winner! I meant to post this earlier today, but I used Random.Org to generate the winning number…

True Random Number Generator 36 Powered by RANDOM.ORG
So the winner is, littlemisspotato, #36. She said “I have never tried them yet! I’d love to though.
The Fruit and Nut Delight and the Cranberry Almond sound fabulous. :D
Email me your address at bethklein at gmail dot com, and I’ll have the KIND people send you your bars right away. Congrats!!
8 Responses

  1. I have super random dinners all of the time. A cherry shake sounds delicious. I have got to remember to look for frozen cherries because I absolutely love them!

  2. aren’t kale chips great?!?!

  3. Sometimes random dinners are the best!

  4. Congrats to the winner!

  5. I’m addicted to kale chips! Best snack ever.

  6. I made kale chips once and thought they turned out terribly. What did I do wrong? haha I think I burned them!

  7. […] Random and The Giveaway Winner […]

  8. YES KALE CHIPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So glad you made them finally, they’re like totally my fave (besides you)…

Leave a Reply

