• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Goji Berries

Good morning! Today’s breakfast was something new for me and I always get a little excited when I try new things. At my trip to the Asian Grocery store on Monday, I walked away with a lot of random stuff, but one of the purchases I was especially happy about were Goji Berries, labeled as Wolf Berries. I got a pretty good sized bag for $3.99 which is SO cheap compared to the other prices I’ve seen at Whole Foods, online, and other health food stores.

I had heard Goji Berries were a superfood, but didn’t know too much about their nutritional benefits, so I did a little research and thought I’d share. Some benefits of goji berries are :

  • Rich in antioxidants
  • Protect the liver
  • Boost immune function
  • improve circulation
  • promote longevity
  • help eyesight and prevent macular degeneration
  • strengthen the legs
  • improve fertility and sexual funtion

More detailed information can be found here. Most goji berries come in a dried form, similar to raisins, but a little drier in my opinion. There are many ways to use/consume goji berries, from eating them raw like raisins, to steeping them in water for tea, in trail mix, in energy bars, in smoothies, or pretty much anywhere you could use raisins or other dried fruit.

Today, I soaked 2 tbsp of goji berries in water for 10 minutes to plump them up a bit, and then added them to my breakfast bowl.

This bowl had:

  • 1/2 cup wheat berries
  • 1 container Chobani 0%
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp goji berries

Verdict? So good! This was my first time ever having wheat berries as a breakfast, and I just love their texture. They are chewy and kind of nutty in flavor, and are a nice change from my regular oats. I got some from the bulk bins at Whole Foods and cooked them over the weekend. Now I have a tub of chilled wheat berries to throw in salads, wraps, or for breakfast! I also loved the goji berries. I had only tasted them once before and I didn’t care for them too much. I think I wasn’t really sure what to expect and just ate a few of them plain. Soaking them in water for just a few minutes really plumps them up and gives them a good texture.

Back to work! Don’t forget to check last night’s post for the winner of the KIND Bar Giveaway!

14 Responses

  1. My mom swears by goji! It sounds like you got a rockin deal on yours!

  2. oooo goji…the new superfruit! no clue they were like raisins! also, what is the deal with wheatberries…are they berries or more like a grain?

    • Wheat berries are a whole grain like quinoa or brown rice. I love the texture of them and you can just eat them plain and they are delicious!

  3. Goji berries seem to be all over the place these days – I just might have to try some sometime…although first I need to FIND them somewhere. I’m a total food dummy!

  4. What do they taste similar to?

    • From that about.com site, “Goji berries have a mild tangy taste that is slightly sweet and sour. They have a similar shape and chewy texture as raisins. ” They are kind of hard to describe and I don’t know that I’ve tasted something similar.

  5. yay i still got some goji berries in my frdge.. better use them up soon! 🙂 ❤

  6. Have never tried goji berries. The nearest Whole Foods is 90 minutes away and I don’t get there too often. I love dried fruit though so I’d probably enjoy them.

  7. beth thank you telling us about goji berries! they are normally sooooo expensive-what a find and a steal. tell me this-are they sweet?

    • they’re really lightly sweet. the flavor is pretty mild. They say if you add them in smoothies you won’t even taste ’em.

  8. I knew that Goji berries are super healthy, but eating them straight up never appealed to me. I think I just need to mix them in with more food.

  9. i’ve eyed up goji berries quite a few times, but i’m afraid to spend all that money on them and then find i don’t like them! your post has given me some new hope though, i might just have to buy them next time i’m out

Leave a Reply

