• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Eggplant Parm Wrap and Wheat Berry Salad

OK so I know I named Tuesday’s lunch post “Best Lunch Ever” but that was before today and there was no way I could know this was coming. I knew I wanted to use the leftover eggplant from last night but do something different than just having it with the cheese and sauce. I have a few of those Light Flatout Wraps left (which by the way are only 1 Weight Watchers Point and just 90 calories) so I decided to make a healthified version of an Eggplant Parm Sub of sorts.

I microwaved some spinach with a little water in the bottom of the container for 30 seconds so it would wilt and toasted the leftover eggplant rounds while that was going. I put the flatoutwrap down, added the spinach, put the toasted eggplant on top, and then added some cheese and threw it in the microwave for another 30 seconds.

I added some of the heated leftover sauce on top.

And wrapped it up to eat.

This was cheesy and warm and melty and just amazing. On the side, I had two large carrots.

And this amazing Wheat Berry Salad. In a tupperware this morning, I mixed:

  • 1/2 cup cooked wheat berries (whole foods bulk bins)
  • chopped green onions (farmer’s market)
  • chopped green squash (farmer’s market)
  • dried sour cherries (nutsonline.com)
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • salt and pepper

It was AWESOME. Since it sat together for a few hours, the sour cherries soaked up the liquid and got soft, and all the flavors in this went together so well. Unfortunately I am out of sour cherries but I have more of everything else so I may or may not make this for lunch again tomorrow… mostly may.

The only bad part of this lunch was that it’s now over.

Question: What’s one of your favorite lunches of all time, either that you cooked for yourself or got out at a restaurant?

11 Responses

  1. Oh I love your wheatberry salad!!! I have had wheatberries in my freezer forever and I never know what to make with them…now I do!

    I bring my lunch to work every day.

    One of the best lunches was shredded chicken in a bowl, then I added black beans, bbq sauce, diced red onions, cheddar cheese and melted it in the microwave. Then I take a low carb wrap and tear off a little piece, add the chicken mixture, fold the wrap up…it’s so good!!

    Question for you…would you like to be part of my WEIGHT LOSS SUPERSTARS series on my blog? I have interviewed 9 people so far, most who have lost over 100 pounds or more. I like to find out what people did in their journeys in case other people can relate. That’s awesome that you’ve lost 80 pounds!

    • Hi Jenn – I’d love to be part of your blog series! I’ll send you an email. That lunch sounds sooooooo good. Black beans are one of my all time favs.

  2. One of my favorite lunches of all time is General Tso Tofu or Thai Red Curry Noodles. Unfortnately I cook neither for myself.

  3. What a cool idea! I love “rethinking” leftovers.

  4. I can only imagine how delicious that eggplant parm wrap was! I actually have an eggplant in my fridge right now…I’m thinking I need to make this recipe!

  5. I love sandwiches for lunch. There are SO many options. Burritos and quesadillas are good too though. Lunch is such a toss-up.

    I’m going to make some eggplant tonight, mostly because it’s going to go bad if I don’t. I was planning to make some eggplant parm too! Will be similar to yours 🙂 I love panko as well.

  6. I have to say… the first time I did a spinach mushroom wrap with feta, I thought I had died and gone to heaven. So simple… but soooo good!

  7. That wheatberry salad looks fantastic, reminds me of those that you pay a ton for at a deli.

  8. My fave lunch is one I wrote about last week – chicken taco salad! Not very WW friendly, so definitely a treat 🙂

    That wheatberry salad looks amaaaazing.

  9. One of my favorite lunches is a morning star chik patty, with a sandwich thin toasted with shredded mozz chese, light mayo & ketchup, spring mix and tomatoes!

  10. What a great way to use up the leftover eggplant!
    There is a restuarant nearby that has the most perfect roasted vegetable salad with balsamic / mustard dressing – and despite my best efforts – I cannot recreate the flavour at home.

Leave a Reply

