• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Fight It Off

Heyy! Can you believe it’s already Thursday night?! Having Monday off made this week go extra fast and I am pretty excited that tomorrow is Friday and the start of another weekend. I didn’t mention this on the blog, but yesterday my throat starting getting ever so slightly sore and I thought I was getting a little sick. I woke up today and it felt worse, but I drank tea all day yesterday and today, lots of water, tons of fruits and veggies, and no alcohol (not that thats a big issue but I did contemplate having wine last night and tonight) and I’m happy to report that my throat is feeling better and I think I fought off this sickness before it came on full force.

I think being slightly sick might be the reason that I’ve crashed so hard after work not once but twice this week. Tuesday night I practically fell asleep on the metro, and tonight I came home and was in bed before I knew it. That is so unlike me – – I honestly can’t remember the last time before this week that I’ve taken a nap after work. I slept tonight from 6ish until 8 and woke up feeling pretty good. I think my body needed it.

For an afternoon snack, I had fruit.

An apple and two wedges of watermelon.

And then I made a quick trip to the Farmer’s Market. I didn’t want to get anything major because I’m still working my way through a fridge full of food, but I did want to pick up a few things.

  • Arugula
  • 2 Onions (don’t those look cool!?)
  • 2 Sweet Potatoes
  • Organic Curd Cheese

I spent about $12 on all this stuff, so not too bad.

For dinner tonight, I actually mostly followed a recipe! I rarely if ever follow recipes, but I used this recipe from 101 Cookbooks (best site ever) that my sister Heather sent to me and said has been one of her favorites lately. The recipe is for Poached Eggs over Rice, and its pretty simple. I had some rainbow chard that I wanted to use, and the recipe calls for leafy greens, and you all know how much I love poached eggs by now, so it seemed like the perfect idea.

I followed the recipe to a T, except I halved it, omitted the optional ingredients, and uses the stems of the chard in addition to the leaves since it was rainbow chard. I prepped all my ingredients:

Aren’t those rainbow chard stems pretty!? I couldn’t bare to throw them out, so I put them in the wok in the beginning with the onions and olive oil to get them soft since they take a lot longer to cook than the leaves.

After that I followed the directions exactly, except used my method to poach eggs. I was surprised how much volume the recipe made! Two servings almost filled up the entire wok. I’m not complaining. 😉

The highlight was definitely cracking the yolk of the egg – I love how it oozes all over the dish.

The only problem with this dish is it definitely needs some sort of sauce or dressing on top (in addition to the poached egg) because I found it sort of bland as is. In the description of the dish, she suggests using her Otsu salad dressing if you’re serving it to guests. I googled the recipe, but didn’t have all the ingredients for it and it was supposed to be optional, but I would definitely suggest adding some sort of dressing to make the dish pop. I ended up using the end of the bottle of dressing I had from Puerto Rico, which is sadly gone, but really made a big difference.

Even though I slept for 2 hours just a little while ago, I’m still pretty tired, so I’m going to try to make it an early night. Fingers crossed that I wake up feeling good tomorrow!

8 Responses

  1. fruit would def help with any lingering colds and germs! i totally love that egg too, any time i make poached eggs i have such an urge to find something to set it on just to make it ooze lol,.

  2. Hope the sleep took care of that bug!! 🙂

  3. i am glad you are feeling better. i have been beat this week too…..thought i was getting sick too yesterday but had a bunch of wheat grass and feel better…..it could have been allergies too-but not sure. happy friday!

  4. Your farm market finds always look so amazing. We have 2 or 3 markets around us, but the times are so iffy and we never get there in time to get any good stuff. We finally decided to sign up for a CSA this year from a local organic farm…starts June 17th. I can’t wait!

    • I do tend to have pretty good luck at farmer’s markets but I’m also really picky and do a loop first every time so I can get the best looking product and the best prices on them! I signed up for a CSA this year too and it starts June 3rd!! I am sooooo excited!

  5. I’ve been feeling the exact same way. I’ve been really run down lately, and had a horrible sore throat that kept me up all night. Yuck. Glad you’re feeling better – I ought to load up on fruit too.

    Yay for farmers’ markets! I’ve got to get to ours in the next few weeks.

  6. I’ve been feeling that way too. Zicam helps. Emergen-C. Lots of fruit and water.

  7. […] lunch today, I reworked the leftovers from Thursday Night, which was basically brown rice with kale, a recipe from 101cookbooks. I found it to be slightly […]

Leave a Reply

