• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

The Low Down on Protein Powders

Good morning and happy Thursday! It seems like you guys liked last night’s Healthy Eggplant Parm! And with good reason, it was DELICIOUS! I’m reworking the leftovers for lunch today and can’t wait for it. There were several questions asked in the comments section, so I thought I’d address them here because I doubt many people look back to the comments section. A lot of people who don’t care for eggplant don’t like it for two main reasons. First, it can get slimy/soft when cooked, and second, it can taste bitter. These two reasons are where the salt on the eggplant come in. This process, called degorging removes the liquid from the eggplant, causing it to become more firm and less melty when cooked. Degorging also removes the bitter taste of eggplant, because it draws on the bitter tasting liquid that is in the seeds. So, if you have an eggplant hater that you’re trying to convert, just use the salting method to draw out the liquid, and they will love it.

Moving along, before the last few months, powders of any sort kind of scared me. I never thought of myself as someone who would use powders on a regular basis or even try them. But, when I saw the Breakfast Cookie on Gina’s blog, I needed to have it, and one of the key ingredients in it is protein powder. I went to Whole Foods and just bought the 365 brand of vanilla whey (which has 80 calories v. 110 in the chocolate) and went on my way. Since then, I’ve added it to pancakes, to oatmeal, to breakfast cookies, and to smoothies, and I have to say, it really does make a huge difference in how long it keeps me full. I usually only use 1/2 scoop, which has 40 calories and 8 grams of protein. You can barely notice a taste difference, but I feel a huge difference in staying power with my meals.

There are some benefits other than staying fuller longer with protein powders. Here are some:

  • Having it daily can boost your immune system
  • Help with healing wounds  after getting injured or surgery
  • Promote healthy skin
  • Foster muscle strength/development

Some other interesting protein facts:

  • The body needs protein second only to water.
  • The body has no where to store extra protein, which is why we have to eat it on a daily basis.
  • There are four basic sources of protein powder: whey (milk), egg, soy, and rice.

I thought that was pretty interesting, so thought I’d share. I’m not saying you should go out and buy protein powder, but don’t rule it out because there are lots of benefits. Especially getting to eat a cookie for breakfast.

This Breakfast Cookie has:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 2 tbsp light soy milk
  • 1 tbsp dark chocolate chunks
  • 1/2 mashed banana

This morning I topped it with the other half of the banana.

I’ve officially decided that I do not like mashed banana IN my breakfast cookies. I tried it once before and added a whole banana, and it didn’t get very cookie-like, it stayed pretty soft. So today, I added just 1/2 a banana, but the same thing happened. I think using drier mix-ins is a better idea than using banana. It does taste good on top, though. You live, you learn.

6 Responses

  1. i find i like using protein powders in baking or oats for sure! i have a harder time drinking it plain with water.. i mean i will have it in a smoothie but its so much fun to use in everyday meals too 🙂

  2. I have yet to make a breakfast cookie–I need to get on that!
    I think I might start adding protein powder into my oat!

  3. Beth you are always introducing us to new ways to eat exciting food! I have never been a huge fan of eggplant but I’m going to try out the degorging method soon!

  4. you know i tend to avoid protein powders but maybe i should not!

  5. I loves me some protein powder! I cannot get in the amount I want just through whole foods alone. I like the powders because of the maximum amount of protein per calories.

    I am not a fan of the breakfast cookie. They really aren’t cookies LOL. I want to pick up a cookie and munch it out of hand, not eat it with a spoon.

  6. Thanks so much on the eggplant tips. My hubby + I love it in eggplant lasagna, but I once tried to cook it into “chips” in the oven and was left with slimy, not-so-tasty eggplant circles on my plate. Scarred for life. Hopefully this degorging method will help us (both) love eggplant in the future!

    & all the info on protein powder. I’ve been so hooked on the fact that “oats are supposed to fill you up” that I just got used to feeling really, really, hungry a few hours later. Protein powder, let’s be friends!

Leave a Reply

