• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Diet v. Exercise

Good morning and Happy Friday! I had the hardest time falling asleep last night even though I was tired – I think that 2 hour nap really threw me off. Though not feeling very well rested, I did wake up feeling good health-wise. My throat doesn’t hut at all and I’m really proud of myself for taking care of myself and fighting this sickness off before it got bad. I was in the mood for pancakes when I woke up, but I was dragging and running behind and didn’t have time to cook them without being ridiculously late for work, so I went another route.

This morning, I mixed together:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • 2/3 cup almond milk

And then I made a Breakfast Parfait by layering a sliced banana, a few strawberries, and the oats together.

It was delicious and so simple. Making parfaits out of “overnight oats” (can I really call them that when they don’t sit overnight?) makes them a lot more fun and spreads the toppings throughout. Yum!

I got the new issue of Women’s Health Magazine yesterday and I am loving it so far. This is definitely one of my favorite mags, and there was an interesting article in there asking whether diet or exercise is the primary factor affecting certain things. I was surprised by some of the answers, but take a stab at these and I’ll report the correct answers at lunch.

1.) Lose Weight

2.) Boost Energy

3.) Reduce Risk of Heart Disease

4.) Prevent Diabetes

5.) Prevent Cancer

6.) Improve Mood

Do you think diet or exercise works best for each of these 6 factors?

Also, I never heard from the winner of the KIND Bar Giveaway, so I’ll post a new winner at lunch today as well.

12 Responses

  1. I’d say diet affects most of those. Probably exercise for heart disease and mood. I actually just read an article not too long ago saying the diet actually was the best way to lose weight and exercise is what keeps it off.

    And yum, the parfait looks good. I need to try the Overnight Oats sometime!

  2. i had a really hard time sleeping last night too!

    oh naps always throw me off. im okay if i have a nap before 3pm.. but anytime after i cant sleep.

    and for being rushed for work, you def. whipped up a great breakfast! oh well.. pancakes another time šŸ™‚

    so glad ur feeling better!

  3. I like to think that a balance of both diet and exercise would help in all the situations, but I’m sure that diet has more to do with it than anything else…

  4. legit had the same breakfast this am. voo with banana and strawberry layered in a goblet haha. voo in a gobbie (that sounds like a diff. language!)

    I would think diet and exercise affects all of the above! diabetes might have more diet than exercise…I really do not know…awaiting the answers šŸ™‚

  5. Honestly, I think diet is the big one, at least for weight loss. When I lost weight, the first 30 lbs melted off in 3 months with diet changes alone. The last 15 lbs took 4 more months, with diet AND daily workouts. For #6 though, improved mood, I’d definitely say exercise. No food (indulging in or abstaining from) could ever make me feel the way a run does.

    I still need to get on the chia seed bandwagon…!

  6. That is the most gorgeous-lookin’ parfait I think I’ve ever seen! šŸ™‚

  7. I think it’s both obviously- but for me personally When I eat healthier I feel better in all of those categories!

    ‘You are what you eat!’

  8. I really do think that both help in ALL of those areas. Diet & Exercise effect so much of how our body and mind function!!

  9. I firmly believe that diet and exercise can effect mood in tremendous ways. I feel it every time I take a rest day: I get cranky, tired, grumpy, moody. Exercise changes that.

  10. I think you gotta have both good nutrition and exercise. I hate to call it “diet” because so many people associate this with weight loss.

  11. I think it cannot be done without both diet and exercise together. one v the other will not work.

    I love your parfait! I haven’t seen layered chia seeds like that before. (I so wish I could afford those seeds)
    I was late to work today; whoops! Happy Friday!

  12. I’ll take a stab:
    1.) Lose Weight – Diet
    2.) Boost Energy – Exercise
    3.) Reduce Risk of Heart Disease – Exercise
    4.) Prevent Diabetes – Diet
    5.) Prevent Cancer – Diet
    6.) Improve Mood – Exercise

    I would like to say BOTH for all of them, but the ones I picked weight slightly more than the other.

    And if you don’t have a winner for those bars, I’ll take them. šŸ™‚
    I was looking at them when I was at Whole Foods the other day.

    Have a wonderful Friday, glad you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

