• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Surprises! (And a New Winner)

Happy Friday afternoon! Today has been an awesome day for a few reasons.

First, it’s amazing outside. Mid 80’s, sunny, and not at all humid. Awesome.

Second, I had a fabulous lunch but did a really bad job photographing it.

This mega salad had:

  • Tons of farmer’s market spinach
  • 1/2 cup wheat berries
  • 1/2 cup corn kernels
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 1/4 cup shredded cheddar

Look at all those toppings!

The fail part of this was that I had some Baked Tortilla Chips that I forgot to take a picture of (1 serving) and made an awesome dressing to go with the salad. I mixed together salsa + greek yogurt and drizzled it all over. It wasn’t very pretty (the color of the dressing), but it tasted great. This salad was awesome, huge, and so filling. I couldn’t even finish it all and that rarely, if ever, happens to me.

Third, my boyfriend surprised me at work with flowers!

And some veggies from a new Farmer’s Market that just opened in DC!

He know’s me pretty well, eh?

He brought microgreens, red and white radishes, black bok choy, and two bunches of kale!

Good job!! 🙂

And to follow up on the post from this morning, here are the answers to which wins for each, diet or exercise.

1.) Lose Weight – Diet – As research makes clear, trimming calories from your diet is the most direct route to a smaller size. It’s much easier to cut 500 calories from your diet every day than it is to go to the gym and burn 500 calories. Both diet and exercise are essential for keeping weight off, however.

2.) Boost Energy – Exercise – Exercise causes the brain to pour out invigorating neurotransmitters like dopamine and norepinephrine. People who train consistently report surges in energy.

3.) Reduce Risk of Heart Disease – Diet – Omega-3 fatty acids from oily fish lower hear disease risk by up to 64 percent. Working out does strengthen your cardiovascular system, though.

4.) Prevent Diabetes – Exercise – Achieving a healthy weight through diet and exercise is the biggest defense against diabetes, but exercise has a slight edge. Active muscles gobble up glucose from the blood for fuel, which helps keep blood-sugar levels stable.

5.) Prevent Cancer – Both – Eating a mostly plant-based diet and exercising regularly remain the gold standard for warding off cancer. The more consistently you workout, the greater the protection.

6.) Improve Mood – Exercise A 20-minute session can perk up your mood for up to 12 hours! It may also be as effective as mediacation for treating depression in some people. And exercise can lead to changes in the brain that strengthen your resolve against stress.

What do you guys think? To me it seems like each thing has an element of both exercise and diet, but its good to know that making healthy lifestyle choices can make a huge difference in your overall health. I found this information pretty interesting!

And the NEW KIND BAR Giveaway Winner is… #18, April, who said:

“I’m already a subscriber and have never tried KIND before! The Almond and Coconut sounds delish!”

Congrats April!! Please send me your shipping info to bethklein at gmail dot com and I’ll have the KIND Bar people get you out those bars to try.

Whew this post ended up being longer than expected, hope your Friday is going great too!!

13 Responses

  1. oh what a great day so far….and yes your salad would brighten my day too! can’t wait until the end of the day! happy friday girl!

  2. Oh you weren’t kidding! That salad looks awesome! I had something similar again today… oh i love the avocados…

  3. that salad is killer! love the black beans mixed with cheddar and delish avocado!! bet that was seriosuly good, and so perfect on such a hot day! lucky duck!

    awe and flowers from a special guy 😉 ❤ hehe

  4. That salad has everything I love one it! Avocado, corn, and black beans are just the best combo ever. What a great idea to add wheatberries too!

  5. Gorgeous flowers! Salad looks great, I love avocado. Great list as well!

  6. Ok 1. Yay that I won the giveaway! My mailing info has just been sent to you. 2. I love surprise flowers! Those are the best. And 3. What are microgreens?? I haven’t heard of them!

    • Congrats!! I just sent your info over to the KIND people so I’m sure those will go out early next week.

      Microgreens are just miniature greens that are chopped when they are young. They taste just like regular greens but they’re cute and make a great garnish.

  7. What a yummy looking salad! Love avocado.

  8. Oh my what an amazing salad. so much avocado goodness. very informative diet vs exercise list!

  9. but we’re all winners right? at heart?
    you’re the winner with such a great man to send you flowers!

  10. those farmer’s market veggies look fabulous! hey I found a market super close to the lake my hubby and I run at on Saturdays, so it’s going to be perfect! thanks so much for the website you passed onto me to find a farmer’s market, I’m so excited! Happy weekend girl!

  11. Such a sweet boyfriend! I love that he brought you flowers, but the fact that he picked up Farmer’s Market goodies is a major plus in my book!!

  12. That salad looks great! And flowers are one of my favorite surprises 🙂

Leave a Reply

