• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Back to Bikram

Happy Weekend to you! Disappearing on Friday nights seems to be a trend for me lately, sorry about that! I ended up spontaneously going to a Bikram class at 6 after work yesterday and it was awesome. I tend to get really into things when I get into them, and I think I burned myself out a little bit from going to Bikram for almost a week straight when I first started. I loved it, but getting the week unlimited of Bikram at the new studio made me overdo it a bit because I wanted to get my money’s worth (even though it was only $20).

I haven’t gone since that week, so it’s been almost 3 weeks, and when I went last night, it felt GREAT. I was a little concerned because I hadn’t planned to go, so I hadn’t been drinking that much water throughout the day and I wasn’t sure if I’d be mentally ready since its so intense, but when I got there, it just felt right. In the previous times I’d gone I was sort of counting down until the class was over (“Only 20 minutes left”) because I was so hot, but this time I could barely believe when the class was wrapping up and I just felt good the whole time. Lesson to me is that Bikram is good for me, but I should only go a few times a week max so I don’t get burned out on it.

After Bikram, I went into DC and hung out with my friend Lianne for a while. On the way there, I ate a Luna Bar that I had packed.

Source

I really liked this flavor and to be honest I kind of thought I wasn’t going to like it. It was pretty refreshing and perfect for after Bikram. Lianne and I drank some wine and had some snacks (Garden Sunchips and toasted bread with hummus) but no pics. I had about 3 glasses of wine over the course of 3 hours so I didn’t overdo it too much. And our friends Amber and Mike came over for a bit to hang out too, which was fun. I didn’t end up getting home until almost 1am so just went to sleep pretty quickly after getting home.

And I slept hard – I don’t think I moved all night. I love that about Bikram. When I woke up this morning around 10:30am, I was starving since I didn’t have anything too significant after Bikram last night. I had some veggies in the fridge I wanted to use up, so I decided to do a farm fresh egg scramble.

I caramelized some onions, added in Mediterranean squash (which looks a lot like avocado to me!), and then added 4 eggs (for me and my boyfriend). Towards the end I added some crumbled goat cheese which was the perfect finish.

Doesn’t that squash look like avocado?? I served the scramble alongside a toasted english muffin (the only bread we have left in the house!) and 1/2 a mango. For the mango, I just sliced it along both sides of the big seed in the middle to separate the two halves. Then, for each half, I just sliced it (but not through the skin) and you can eat it like that with a spoon, a fork, or use a knife to cut those off the skin for perfect mango chunks.

Today I am going to a bootcamp style workout party with some other bloggers and friends in the DC area. It’s sponsored by Dove and apparently we’re getting free shirts and dove samples! I love me some free stuff, plus I’m sure this workout with kick my butt. Assuming I make it through alive, I’ll be back afterwards.

Have a good day!

5 Responses

  1. congrats on the Dove sponsorship, dove is such an amazing company!!!! you’re gonna love all those great samples ❤

    omg and yes i totally cant believe thats not avocado.. im having to take double-takes just to wonder how that can be squash. amazing!

    • I’m not getting sponsored by Dove! 🙂 The workout part is – – I’m just attending. But yes double-take required, I promise it is actually squash.

  2. That Dove event sounds like a blast. Is Bikram similar to spinning?

  3. It does look like avocado, what does it taste like?
    Have fun at the bootcamp…..free swag is always fun!

  4. totally thought it was avocado lol have fun at the bootcamp! can’t wait to see pictures!

Leave a Reply

