• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Overdone

Hey guys! After I posted yesterday I was out all day zooming from place to place and didn’t have time to come back! My first stop was The Washington Sports Club in Columbia Heights, DC for a workout party sponsored by Dove. Liz, another DC blogger, was the host of the party and there were about 10 people, mostly bloggers, who came to the event. It was intense! It was a one hour long workout, 30 minutes were cardio kickboxing and 30 minutes were spent in “bootcamp.”

During the first half, there was lots of punching and kicking and complex moves combining several steps. I am a little lacking in the coordination department so I just had a smile on my face most of the time laughing at how hard it was to figure out what was going on. The moves changed frequently so by the time I nailed down one, it was already time to move onto the next. Then the next part was the actual bootcamp, and that was intense. We were doing minute intervals of different moves and then randomly the instructor would point to 2 people and have them do something different, like knee kicks with a medicine ball, or weighted squats with a bar bell against the wall with a stability ball. Whew! It was super fun and I actually really enjoyed it. I don’t usually do classes since I’m not a member of a gym, but it was so fun and it took so long to figure out what I was supposed to be doing that I almost forgot I was working out.

Then came the overdone part. I did not take my own advice, and decided to accompany my friend Amber to a Bikram class after the bootcamp. Now, in my defense, the reason I felt compelled to go is because yesterday was the last day of Yoga Week in DC and I hadn’t attended any of the events or tried any free/reduced classes. Yesterday’s 4pm Bikram class was free, my friend was going, and it was at a new-to-me Bikram studio. I made it through the whole class, but I felt pretty famished afterwards. I didn’t eat anything since having the eggs in the morning because I was rushing from one class the the next, and it just kind of shot my day. My back was really sore afterwards and I felt a little too sore.

After the Bikram class, my friend Amber and I went to grab some food at Booeymonger. It was rainy and chilly out, so I wanted to go with something warm and ordered the Veggie Special. It was a sandwich with grilled mushrooms, spinach, tomato, salad veggies, alfalfa sprouts, onions and melted provolone cheese with mayonnaise on a French baguette, but I ordered it without the mayo.

And it was just OK. It was a little bland because there was no sauce on it and the cheese and bread were pretty mild in flavor. I did inhale the whole thing because I was sooo hungry, but I’ll probably try something different next time I go.

After that, it was already somehow almost 7pm and the rest of my day was kind of shot. I stopped by my friend Jess’s to say hello to her and Rachel, but then I came home and took it easy because my back was so shot. I snacked a bunch on random things (think pretzels, baked tortilla chips, dark chocolate chips) and just laid low.

Today I woke up, and this probably won’t be a shocker, but I am sore. My arms, my calves, my whole body… wow. That’s what two back to back intense classes will do to you, I guess. 🙂 I woke up really hungry, and though we’re stocked with a lot of veggies, we are out of the essentials like milk, eggs, fruit, bread, etc, so a grocery trip is definitely in order later today. I found some frozen mini waffles so I threw them in the toaster, and then took some frozen fruit (mix of cherries, blueberries, blackberries, and raspberries) and microwaved it for 1 minute to melt it and make it saucy. I added some agave nectar to sweeten it, and then chopped half a banana and used those for the sauce on the waffles.

I may have ended up adding 1 tbsp of almond butter half way through. These waffles were fine and worked in a pinch, but I much prefer fresh waffles or pancakes – – though I don’t think that makes me stick out from the crowd. 🙂

Hope your weekends are going well! I will be back later, promise. 🙂

11 Responses

  1. I would have died if I had done yoga after that bootcamp! It was nice meeting you yesterday 🙂 Have a fabulous sunday!!

  2. Back to back classes?! You’re a warrior!

  3. Bootcamp workouts are INTENSE – there’s no way I’d have made it thru anything after that!

  4. So jealous! I would have loved to go to that bootcamp as well – why don’t we ever have anything cool in Ohio?! I’m glad you had a good time (:

  5. Woah double workout! I can imagine you’re whole body is feeling it, now. It a good, but sore-type of way. I’d say that gives you a good old excuse to chow down today after all the hard work you did yesterday! Have a fabulous Sunday, and… berries with bfast: yes yes yes.

  6. Yoga and bootcamp, way to go girl! Those mini waffles are sooo cute!

  7. Man, those mini waffles are awesome!

  8. I am sore too! I was supposed to swim today but I think a recovery day is in order instead. Post with video will be up soon..

  9. oh ive been guilty of overdoing it before.. im so sorry tho cuz i know how awful it feels being achy and a sore back as well. lesson well learned 😦

    and i always need sauce or really big amounts of spice on bland meals. yea cheese and bread woudlnt have much flavor.. but at least u were hungry so u were still able to enjoy it 😛 .. and it looked good too!

Leave a Reply

