• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Announcement

Hello! Today is zooming by and I can hardly believe it’s mid afternoon! Those chiacakes held me over for more than 4 hours and were delicious.. bonus.

For lunch today, I reworked the leftovers from Thursday Night, which was basically brown rice with kale, a recipe from 101cookbooks. I found it to be slightly bland, so decided to add a bunch of flavors today and hope for the best – and it worked! I made it into a fried rice of sorts, by heating it up in a pan this morning, tossing in an egg, green onions, and then soy sauce, fish sauce, minced ginger, and rice vinegar for flavors. I kept it over the heat until the egg was heated through, and then packed it in tupperware for transport.

It was delicious! Adding all those flavors added so much to the dish, and the protein from the egg made it filling. Plus there was half of a bunch of rainbow chard in there, so very nutrient dense! The rice kind of turned pink from sitting with the rainbow chard for a few days so that was a little strange but didn’t affect the flavor at all. This was definitely better than the original version in my opinion. It’s funny because I read this book called the Gastronomy of Marriage (great book btw), and part of it talked about how Asians think its funny that white people tend to make fried rice as a meal, whereas they make it out of leftovers and just throw whatever they have in it. I was proud of myself for being pretty authentic and turning leftovers into fried rice rather than making it as its own dish. 🙂

For “dessert” I had a bowl of strawberries.

Perfect way to end the meal!

And now, for the announcement. One of my resolutions for 2010 is to run a half marathon. I honestly can’t even believe that is a reasonable goal for me – – its crazy that I’ve now been running over a year and have participated in 7 races! I never in my life thought I’d be a “runner” or even dream of competing in a half marathon, but today, I actually found one and signed up!! I will be running my first half marathon on September 19th, 2010 in Philly. It’s the Rock N Roll Half Marathon and supposed to be very fun, cool atmosphere. I was getting a little upset because all of the half marathons I was finding were on days that didn’t work for me because of other scheduled commitments. I am going to make myself a pretty thorough training plan, and will post it once I have it together. I can currently comfortably run 6 miles at a time, and have raced in a 10 miler as my longest race to date. I’m so excited!! 🙂

16 Responses

  1. Oh exciting! Congrats on the race. I’m doing it’s sister race in Chicago… 🙂

  2. You’re going to love doing a “halfer”! That is a GREAT distance if you ask me. Don’t get me wrong, I really like 5ks and 10ks…I just like the level of commitment you need to train for a halfer. It’s manageable for those of us that work full time so our whole life outside of work doesn’t have to be spent running! Yay for new challenges!

  3. Hi, I stumbled across your site and wanted to say Congrats on signing up for your first half. I registered for my first half here in Baltimore for this coming October and am crazy excited and scared all in one. Hope everything goes great for you

  4. Wow a half mary. Can’t wait to hear all about your training. I’m doing a 5K on that date and I’ll be thinking of you. 13.1 miles is on my list but I’m not anywhere near there yet. I’m working on it one day at a time.

  5. awesome on the marathons!

  6. Congratulations – that’s so exciting! I can’t wait to read about your training efforts!

  7. Congrats on the upcoming 1/2 marathon! If only I had your ambition!

  8. Half marathons are so exciting! I can’t wait to hear all about your training and such! 🙂

  9. That’s awesome Beth! I’m sure you’ll do great.

    I’m thinking of signing up for one in October, but not so sure yet. For sure before I leave the area though.

  10. Congrats on doing a 1/2 soon! Thats an awesome accomplishment.

  11. How are you training for it? What distance do you run right now?

    • I haven’t figured out my exact training plan but I plan to share it once I map it out. Currently I keep up my regular mileage around 5-6 miles, but I ran in a 10 mile race in April. I have no doubt this will be a challenge, but I’m excited for it!

  12. ive always wanted to do the rock n roll marathon! i know what u mean, it would be so fun! live music and everything to keep you pumped!!!

    loved that meal and all the mixin’s in it.. looks scrumptious! ❤

  13. Oh gosh, congrats on the first big step with signing up for the half! My hubby’s running the Rock n Roll here in Seattle this June, who knows when my day will come. You’re going to do awesome, have fun training! 🙂

  14. Thats absolutely awesome! You are going to dominate! I ran a half marathon in the fall and have a great training plan saved if you need one!

  15. YAY!! I’m so glad you signed up for your first half marathon too! I just decided to do one this year, mine is September 4 so we have to be each other’s support lol are you going to be using a training program? If so, which one? I’d love to know! (:

Leave a Reply

