• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Leisurely Morning

Good morning and happy Monday! 🙂 I actually have had quite a long morning (for me). I left my phone in my car yesterday after returning from errands, and didn’t realize until we were ready for bed that I didn’t have it. It was much too late to go to the car to get it, so I asked Wil (about 5 times) if he would set his alarm for me and make sure I woke up. I get really worried I’ll sleep in without an alarm (duh) and really only trust myself (barely, at that) to set the alarm right.

So, my eyes opened at 6am and I was worried it was really late so I jumped out of bed and ran into the kitchen to check the time. I’m the type of person where, once I’m up and moving around, going back to sleep is nearly impossible, though I did get back in bed for another 30 minutes or so. I got out of bed (for good) at 6:30, went and got my phone, and decided to have a leisurely morning. I am feeling really, really sore today (probably worse than yesterday) but they always say day 2 after an intense workout can be the best. I wanted to stretch out and loosen up a bit,  so I turned on ExerciseTV on Demand to see what was there. AM Yoga was missing so I looked around for something else that looked light, easy, and stretchy, and settled on Yoga for Beginners with Shiva Rea. It was a 25 minutes yoga flow series with lots of downward dogs, warrior 2s, cobras, and some other postures that I don’t know the names of. It was a little bit harder than I was expecting (I definitely broke a sweat!) but felt so good to stretch out my sore muscles and move around a bit.

After taking my time getting ready, I decided to make chiacakes! I had been craving them since Friday and finally got around to making them today. Into the mix went:

  • 3 tbsp pancake & waffle mix
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 3 tbsp egg whites
  • 3 tbsp almond milk

I let that sit while I through together lunch, and then used the skillet with nonstick spray to make 4 little chiacakes.

I topped them with a sliced banana, and 1 tbsp real maple syrup. SO good.

I haven’t had real maple syrup since… I can’t even remember when, and have had it on my list to buy for so long, but its just so expensive! I finally found some at Whole Foods (weird that I found it cheapest there!) for $4.99 (most places it was 7.99 – 13.99+ for a small bottle) so I took the plunge. 1 tbsp has 50 calories and sooo much flavor, so it was totally worth it. Definitely made these chiacakes a bit special.

Though I don’t think I’ll make shooting out of bed at 6am a habit, it was really nice to get to take my time this morning and do some yoga before work! I even got to watch the Today Show while chowing down on breakfast, which is something I miss, so maybe I’ll get up a bit earlier on weekday mornings so I can take my time. Maybe.

Also, Liz, who hosted the workout party on Saturday, posted a cute picture of the group, check it out here.

7 Responses

  1. I love real maple syrup, it is incredibly expensive. I think I paid $14 for the bottle I have now, it is on the large side but still.

  2. Mmm pancakes make all mornings better! I definitely think maple syrup with worth the price (usually) over any artificial stuff….so frustrating that the real stuff is pricier!

  3. When I lived in Seattle it was easy to get authentic maple syrup from Canada. Not as easy in Oregon.

  4. I love real maple syrup too! It is pricey, but since a little goes a long ways it lasts a while. Now organic almond butter is expensive and I eat up super fast haha.

  5. good to take it easy and yum on the delish pancakes……i really need to make some some time soon 🙂

  6. I watch the Today Show while I get ready and eat breakfast every day. There’s something zen about being able to take your time and relax a little in the morning. The chia-cakes look great!

  7. This reminds me that I really need to try your chia pancakes! Operation: Sunday Breakfast in full effect.

Leave a Reply

