• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

How Do You Take ‘Em?

I think my body really enjoyed yesterday’s leisurely morning because today I woke up before my alarm went off (around 7:20 which I know is considered late to some) and I was wide awake! I got out of bed and had time to make a nice breakfast, watch the Today show, drink a cup of coffee, fold a load of laundry, get ready, and pack my lunch before work! My normal morning routine is more like get out of bed, get ready as quickly as possible, grab my breakfast/lunch out of the fridge, and hurry to the metro. I am really enjoying getting up a little earlier and having a lot more time for me in the mornings.

I’m also glad to report that I am feeling a lot better this morning. Soreness wise (from Saturday’s shenanigans) I am feeling 95% better, and sick-wise, 75%. Those numbers are a bit arbitrary, but point is I am feeling a lot better today. I am so glad I took it easy yesterday.

Breakfast today was simple, but delicious. Ever seen one of these before?

It kind of looks like a pear, but it’s actually a Champagne Mango. It’s similar to a regular mango, but is smaller in size and the flesh is less fibrous (doesn’t get stuck in your teeth as much!) I’d never seen these before, but I found them on the grocery store (on sale!) so I picked one up to try and had it today with breakfast. It was delicious! I love mango and this was pretty sweet and juicy, and not stringy like larger mangos can sometimes be. The seed is the same as a larger mango, thin down the middle of the fruit.

I made two eggs over easy, and had each one on top of a toasted piece of Martin’s Whole Wheat Potato Bread (my new fav). I also scored the mango and had that on the side.

This was an awesome breakfast, albeit simple. As you probably know by now, I love love love eggs, and sometimes simple is best when it comes to breakfast!

What’s your favorite way to eat eggs? Or, if you’re not an egg lover, what’s your favorite breakfast? My absolute favorite way to have eggs is poached, but over easy is a close second. As long as the yolk is super runny, I am good.

13 Responses

  1. I love an omelette that has been loaded up with the goods! But since I suck at making them, I often opt for scrambles…

  2. Over-easy is my favorite way. Your eggs on the toast look perfect!

    Jenn

  3. I only like eggs scrambled! That champagne mango looks good. I’ll have to get one, I love mangoes!

  4. I love eggs! A cheese omelet is one of my favorites. Not to mention souffles, or eggs benedict.

  5. i love my eggs sunny side up if I have something to soak it up with! 🙂 Other than that i usually just scramble them!

  6. I love ’em scrambled with spinach and feta, then topped with fresh salsa! Over easy with toast is a very close second 🙂

    Amanda

  7. i really love champagne mangoes but am an even bigger fan of atalfo (not sure the spelling is right).

    only about 6 months ago did i realize how great and simple eggs on toast was! it was never something i saw people do for some reason, so when i discovered it and tried it i instantly loved it!

    so happy to hear ur feeling almost back to ur regular lovely self<3 and yes its always nice to have a little extra time in the mornings, especially just to relax before the start of a possibly hectic week 🙂

  8. I’m an egg white & spinach omelet fiend, but if I’m splurging it’s eggs benedict…so good. Glad you are feeling better!

  9. We eat scrambled eggs almost every day. I like fried eggs too. I’ve never been a fan of poached eggs.

  10. I love my eggs RUNNY, either poached or over easy. I usually cook mine in a poached/fried manner.

    A bit of cooking spray, Egg, when the bottom white begins to set, add about 1/4 cup of water and cover, let the steam set the top and the egg is done. I usually swirl the egg in the water (with the lid on) so it doesn’t cook the bottom too much and gets the egg loose.

    Hmm, I might need to make an egg right now.

  11. mmm I do love eggs, but I actually eat them for all kinds of meals besides breakfast!

  12. In my belly!

Leave a Reply

