• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Present

Tonight has been super fun but everything good always goes by so fast, doesn’t it? After work, I ran to a new-to-me Farmer’s Market that opened up right by my apartment in Crystal City. It had a lot of the same vendors as the ones I go to in DC but there were a few new vendors and I found some good deals. I honestly didn’t need much, but I picked up a few things that I’m looking forward to trying.

Leeks, green onions, a tomato (in the 99 cents bin but perfect!), strawberries, and white potatoes. Everything for $10! After the quick stop at the farmer’s market, I came home and my boyfriend was already here! Very rare occurrence. He still had to do some work but I was really going back and forth about working out and starting to feel lazy and more like laying on the couch than going outside, but then I remembered the pizza for lunch and going out for dinner and forced myself to go. Once I got out there, it felt great. It was my first bike ride since last weekend (1.5 weeks ago) when my tire popped! I just did a quick 30 minute ride since we were going out to dinner.

Today’s Stats:

  • Duration: 35 minutes
  • Distance: 7.3 miles
  • Avg. Pace: 13.5mph
  • Calories: 525

I was so glad I convinced myself to go because it felt so good and I was so happy after. Sometimes I get really caught up in doing big, long workouts, and feel like if I do something small it doesn’t really count, but I really need to break that mentality. 30 minutes is a normal workout and I should just do 30 minutes when that’s all I have time for and feel happy about it, not guilty for not doing more. Blah.

After a quick shower, we went to dinner at a Vietnamese Restaurant called Present, in Falls Church, VA. I’d been there one other time, the night before my 10 mile race back in April with my parents. The food there is amazing and really pretty to look at. I was ravenous by the time we got there, so we ordered two appetizers to split. A special shrimp dish that I couldn’t really understand other than it was jumbo shrimp so I said yes please.

It was green tempura fried I think? Whatever it was, it was delicious. It came with sweet and sour sauce to dip and I had two of these. The other appetizer was the summer rolls, which came with pork and shrimp but we got them shrimp only.

These came with peanut sauce and were awesome. Summer rolls are one of my all time favorite appetizers because they’re so fresh and delicious. yum.

My main course was called Mosaic Pathway.

Described on the menu as, “The Chef’s special jumbo lump crab meat and cellophane noodle sautéed with fresh ingredients (bamboo shoots, mushroom, onion, chives, bean sprouts, carrot, and celery).” It was so, sooooo good. It was pretty light but the sauce was so delicious and there was a ton of lump crab meat with the cellophane noodles. Our waiter recommended the dish and I’m so glad he did because I loved it.

And then we split some green tea ice cream for dessert (my fav!)

Such a great way to end the meal.

After dinner, we somehow had enough time to run to Home Depot and pick up some plants for the balcony! It makes me feel old to get so excited about plants, but I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t so. Having plants and flowers out there just makes it so pretty and nice. 🙂

Catching up on Parenthood now (anyone!?). This show is INCREDIBLE.

Be back tomorrow!!

15 Responses

  1. most of the time when i dont wanna do something yet somehow convince myself to go, i usually have a great time. totally can relate! mm and sharing a green tea ice cream treat ❤ YUM

  2. Oh my gosh! That meal at the Present restaurant looks so fabulous and green! I want everything. Really. I can’t even go into detail about it. Beautiful!

  3. I’ve never had green tea ice cream – that looks great, except I think I’d always have to go for the chocolate if it’s an option 🙂

    • I hear you I’m a chocolate lover too, but green tea ice cream is my fav! They only have it at Asian restaurants usually, so anytime I see it on a menu I get it.

  4. Hey Beth–

    I thought about you this morning because I made an interesting oatmeal breakfast that reminded me of my favorite Thai dessert, Sticky Rice with Mango.

    Basically, I brought a package of instant oatmeal to work and then sliced up a ripe mango and added it to the oatmeal. I didn’t add much water to the oatmeal, so the texture was thick, kind of like sticky rice. The mango was so sweet and ripe. It was an awesome breakfast 🙂

    • Ohhh Katie that sounds awesome!! I love that dessert at Thai restaurants. Great idea to not add that much water so it stays sticky. Yum!

  5. that shrimp looks awesome! we went to Yamazato in Alexandria for sushi last night – so delish!

    • ALSO – 525 cals in biking for 35 mins?! I need to use my garmin on my next ride, I always feel like i don’t burn very many cals on rides. Go you 🙂

    • Hmmm I’ve never heard of it or been there but I LOVE sushi. I’ll check it out!

    • My husband just emailed me the link to Yamazato after I told him I wanted to go for sushi this weekend! I’ve never heard of it, but good to hear a firsthand positive review!

  6. Ooh, I’ve heard good things about that place. Definitely will have to try it out now.

  7. I’m weeks behind on Parenthood! I do like the show though.

  8. Ooommmgggg those shrimp summer rolls… I don’t even have the words for how amazing they look…!!

    Amanda (WannaBe Chef)
    http://amsterwill83.wordpress.com

  9. Vietnamese summer rolls are my favorite food in the entire world – seriously. And now I’m craving them. Yum.

  10. Yummyyyy! That food looks awesome, there’s a vietnamese place around here I’ve been thinking about trying and thanks to this post – I think I will definitely have to check it out. I just love new foods lol

Leave a Reply

