• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Fittest City

Good morning and happy hump day! I had the worst time falling asleep last night. We were out and about until around 10:30 and then had to make a few trips up from the car so didn’t really settle down until almost 11:30. I always need some time to decompress, so by the time I got in bed it was 12:30 or so and I don’t think I fell asleep until 1! The past few days I’ve woken up before my alarm, but today my alarm brought me out of such a deep place in my sleep. For a second my eyes opened and I had no idea what was going on, and then I realized it was time to get up. Sad story.

Putting my lunch together today was really strange. Usually I have an idea of what I feel like and go with it, but today I couldn’t figure out what I wanted for breakfast OR for lunch, probably just because I was sleepy/cranky. A coffee is in order for sure! The biggest redeeming quality about today is that its supposed to get close to 90º and sunny and clear alll day. 90 is a little hot for my taste but I’ll take sunny over the rainy and chilly its been since the weekend any day.

Another thing that perked me up was reading Shape magazine on the metro into work. It had an article about the top 10 fittest cities in the US, and guess which was number one!?

  1. Washington, DC (YAY!!!)
  2. Boston
  3. Minneapolis/St. Paul
  4. Seattle
  5. Portland, Oregon
  6. Denver
  7. Sacramento, California
  8. San Fransisco
  9. Hartford, Connecticut
  10. Austin, Texas

GO DC!! Woohoo. 🙂 This list was put together by Shape magazine in conjunction with the American College of Sports Medicine. They looked at the 50 largest cities in the country and assessed them in 30 areas, including personal health indicators (such as how often residents exercise, smoke, and eat their fruits & veggies) and the rates of chronic health issues. It also looked at community/environmental factors like the number of parks, trails, farmer’s markets, pools, rec centers, etc. You can check out the whole listing at americanfitnessindex.org if you don’t see your city on there.

Now, onto breakfast! I always see on Kath’s blog how she puts muffins on top of oatmeal and it always looks so good, but I never really have muffins laying around. Today though, as I was browsing around my kitchen trying to figure out what to make, I saw that I have some Vitatops left in my freezer – perfect compromise!

This bowl of Vegan Overnight Oats had:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 banana nut vitatop
  • 1 tbsp almond butter

Soooo good. I microwaved the vitatop which dried it out a little bit, so next time I would toast it and be more patient while it got warm. 🙂 It was still delicious though and made a great, new-to-me topping for the oats.

Question: What’s your favorite oatmeal and/or yogurt topping?

Have an awesome day!!

17 Responses

  1. I’ve been feeling the coconut and peanut butter for oatmeal as of late…

    And congrats to DC! lol. Of course Chicago isn’t on there. I blame the deep dish pizza.

  2. Wow! That’s awesome, go us! I like that I’m finally contributing to that statistic, too. 🙂 Even if I’m not technically IN the city…

  3. Woo hoo to DC 🙂 I still haven’t got my Shape, and I am secretly in love with KK so I hope it arrives soon!

    • it’s not a secret anymore! 😉 I just got it yesterday. it’s my last issue of my subscription so i have to decide whether to renew!

  4. Hi Beth!
    I LOVE your blog!
    So impressed with your weight loss story and your commitment to living FIT and gaining knowledge on heathy ways to eat!
    You are an inspiration!
    I so want to lose 20 lbs and KEEP IT OFF!!!
    Do you think counting the WW points, while eating WHOLE foods is a good way to lose it?
    I just want to get on a plan and COMMIT to it!!!!
    AND LIVE IT…like you do!
    I have got to ween myself from this wishy-washy lifestyle of eating!
    Yeah for D.C. being so FIT!
    And Yeah for Seattle!
    I live on Bainbridge Island…a 35 min ferry ride from Seattle!
    Now…about the Vita-Tops!
    I’ve just GOT to order me some…do you order yours?
    And let me ask…why do you make your oatmeal the night before?
    I really wanna try your recipe.
    I just make good ole fashion oats…with Vanilla low-fat Silk milk!
    Then…I top it with a swirl of sugar free maple syrup.
    So good…and so filling!
    BUT YOURS…looks so much more filling!
    Like how many WW points would that breakfast have?
    I know…too many questions!
    Anyways…I just love following/studying (ha!) your blog!
    Thanks for being such a fab resource and inspiration! xoxoxo

    • Hi Teresa – Thank you so much for stopping by and for your comments! To be honest, I think counting WW points is the way to go while losing weight. I’ve sort of stopped losing since focusing on eating whole foods/not counting, but I am maintaining. I still have a few more pounds to lose so I want to get into lose mode again, and once I’m ready to do that I will start counting because for me, that’s what really works. that said, when I start counting, I will still eat mostly whole foods because this is how my body feels best. I’ll just eat a bit less of them so I lose instead of maintain, and then move back into how I eat now.

      Regarding oatmeal, I make mine the night before mostly because I’m too lazy in the mornings. Also, I always used to eat my oatmeal hot, but now I mostly eat it cold. The breakfast today would have 1 for the Vitatop, 2 for the almond butter, 2 for the oats, 1 for the milk, 1 for the chia seeds, and 1 for the protein powder, so 8 all together. That’s kind of heavy for breakfast but it keeps me full for hours and includes my morning snack. Feel free to ask me any more questions you can think of!!

  5. I was surprised that Portland wasn’t higher on the list. We’re very hippie/crunchy/organic/etc here! 🙂

  6. Beth!
    You are so sweet to take the TIME to give me such a detailed answer!
    Thank you!
    There is just so much to learn about this WHOLE FOODS way to eat!
    And I totally GET why it is so much better to eat this way than eating all of the processed stuff!
    But one has to EDUCATE themselves on what it all is!
    I mean I keep reading about chia seeds…but don’t have a clue what they are.
    And almond pb…I read about this all the time.
    And I love pbutter…but it has so much fat and calories that I deprive myself of it!
    So I need to know if this is something I should put into my diet!
    Who knows WHY I hesitate on pbutter…and yet the other day when we were in Seattle waiting on the ferry we popped out of the car…
    popped into McDonalds…{hold your ears!}
    and got a McFlurry! OUCH!
    I even ate one when I could CLEARLY see the CALORIES posted!
    This is what I mean by wishy-washy eating and it is WHY I don’t make the progress I need to and so desire to make!
    So…I won’t bom-bard you with all my questions!
    But I will ask this…{since you so graciously offered to answer my questions}
    how did you learn all that you know about eating WHOLE foods?
    Is there a book that you suggest?
    This is what I would love to know!
    And the COLD oatmeal!
    Well I love things COLD…so I am going to try this!
    You must have ALL kinds of PROTEIN in your oatmeal with the chia seeds…and pbutter and protein powder!
    See…all of this is what I need to figure out.
    I am just so amazed at this way of eating!
    You have to understand…having been raised in the South…we just don’t chat about chia seeds and almond organic pbutter! ;o)
    Thank you for being such a HUGE resource!
    I am looking forward to growing and learning from YOU!
    xxooxo
    Enjoy your day!

  7. how great about your city! how fun and you help make that true i am sure……i have been loving the fig newtons mixed in! YUM!

  8. Muffin oats are the best! I like chocolate chips and muffin on my oats the best. 🙂

    Jenn

  9. Woot-woot for Seattle being #4! And your breakfast looks scrumptious!

  10. DC and Boston in the top two! woot woot!

    I love topping or layering my oatmeal with fruit: blueberries, strawberries, banana, blackberries! Usually I add just a small amount of pb too! Muffin oats are new and exciting! I bet they soak up all the liquid..mmmm. yum!

  11. YUM! I love when breakfast tastes like dessert!!

  12. Where do you get your vitatops. I saw them at Whole Foods, but they were really expensive. Any cheaper place?

    • Hungry girl does specials on them sometimes so I usually only get them when they’re on sale. They are super expensive in stores!

Leave a Reply

