• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Office Breakfast Success

Morning/almost afternoon! πŸ™‚

Today’s office breakfast went great. Last night after work, Kelly and I went shopping to pick up a bunch of things to cook at the office, and then we ordered some food from Corner Bakery that was catered. The catered food came at 9am today, so we set it up in the conference room.

We had a huge fruit tray with pineapple, melon, oranges, grapes, kiwi and strawberries, and then two trays of muffins, bagels, pastries, cinnamon rolls, and various other breakfast treats. We also had two containers of coffee delivered along with the food.

Then, we got to cooking! We have an in office griddle, and then a few other people brought griddles and George Formans. We scrambled up a bunch of eggs

Cooked up a bunch of bacon and sausage:

We ended up leaving a griddle hot for people to cook their own eggs if they wanted them fried or any way other than scrambled, but everyone just went for the scrambled so we cooked up the rest of the eggs half way through breakfast. Everyone really enjoyed themselves and almost every single person in the office came to eat in the conference room! Here’s the buffet in action:

I was the only person to fry their own egg, but I like to stand out from the crowd. πŸ˜‰Β Here was my first plate:

1 fried egg, 2 pieces of veggie sausage, 1/2 whole wheat bagel, and lots of fruit. I definitely went back and had the other half of the bagel and more fruit, and a few bites of the other treats while cleaning up. Overall the breakfast was quite a success! We normally do happy hours for our social committee events so the in-office breakfast was a nice change of pace. I think next time we will not get the catered food and will just go with cook your own because the catered food costs so much and it was actually really fun doing all the cooking! We can easily pick up bagels, muffins, and other treats to supplement the eggs/bacon/sausage, and pay far less than what we did today. πŸ™‚

Work events can make it really hard to stay on track with healthy eating because you generally don’t have too much control over what is there and its just so easy to go back for seconds, thirds, etc. Here are some tips that I try to use when navigating an office event:

1.) Be on the planning committee if possible! This one worked especially well for today because I sort of took the lead on ordering the food/picking out the groceries. This meant that we had plenty of fresh fruit, veggie sausage (!), and other healthy things to choose from.

2.) Do a round before you make your plate – I try to do this anytime I am at a buffet so that I can see everything there is to pick from before I choose what I’m going to have. If I start from the beginning and just grab everything that looks good, I end up with way too much food on my plate. This way you can pick the treats you want to have but focus on getting mostly good stuff loaded up on your plate.

3.) Sit away from the buffet table – It’s too easy to turn around and pile more food on your plate if you’re sitting/standing near the source of food. If you put yourself away from it, you can still go back for seconds, but it takes a little bit more thought/planning to do so.

4.) Sit near people you like! Ha. This one seems like something you’d probably do for other reasons, but I find that I always do a lot more talking and a little less eating when I’m engaged in conversation with people. Plus, if you’re in a deep convo with people you’re less likely to jump up to head back to food.

5.) Plan ahead – Realize that in all likelihood, you are going to eat more at that meal than you normally will. Plan your day accordingly. For example, today I packed a pretty light lunch because I knew I’d be eating a lot at breakfast, and plan to go for a run after work to balance it all out.

6.) Have a treat – If you try to be too good, you’re going to crack. I don’t normally have bagels because even though I love them, they don’t really fill me up and they’re pretty dense calorie wise for not leaving me full. But today, I let myself have a bagel because I knew I’d probably eat a cinnamon bun, a sweet crisp (whatever that was) and various other pastries if I tried too hard to limit myself. Pick out what you want the most, and just have some!

What other tips or rules do you have for office events like this?

21 Responses

  1. Wow, what a breakfast spread! Everything looks yummy. πŸ™‚

    I don’t work in an office, I feel left out! 😦 lol

    Jenn

  2. That is an amazing breakfast at work! I wish my office were that coordinated… but then again, I guess that task would fall into my hands… he he

  3. I’m one of Beth’s fellow co-workers, and I must say kudos to Beth for a job well done! The breakfast was delicious and everyone in the office enjoyed it. Can’t wait for the next one!

  4. This is awesome considering you guys made some of your own stuff in edition to catering.

  5. Next time I’m gonna make you cook an egg for me πŸ™‚ It was a delicious breakfast and the pointers for eating less are helpful – good thing I was already sitting near people I like!

  6. what a great breakfast….i wish you were on my staff!

  7. We need you on our team for real! Our tables are usually loaded with every kind of pastry known to man and they usually even dip the fruit in chocolate sauce. The last time we had a breakfast buffet I was totaly prepared. I brought my own fresh strawberries and a greek yogurt. I put some splenda and cinnamon in the yogurt so it was like having a fun fruit dip. I didn’t even miss the junk!

    • Oh that’s a good idea – just bring your own if you know there’s no hope for being good!

      We were getting pizza once so I brought my own lunch and ate it on a papa john’s plate so I didn’t feel THAT left out…… not quite the same as pizza but hey.

  8. Wow, that looks like a delicious breakfast buffet!

  9. Whenever possible I jump in and get on the committee or volunteer to help shop. It really really really helps! If all else fails, take small amounts of items…half a bagel or half a muffin instead of a full one!

    Nice job organizing!!

    • Yeah being involved in the planning process definitely makes a huge difference in being able to stay on track at these events!

  10. Oh everything looks so so yummy!

  11. girl i was so looknig forward to this post.. im so excited!!

    first i love the plate u made.. u chose such great things, looked so good all together!!

    i love that theres so much to choose from.. croissants, bagels, muffins, FRUIT <3…

    and damn thats a lot of delicious eggs cooking!! yum

    and the sausage looks great.. totally love how quickly it was whipped up in the office. i only wish i was there to grab a plate.. i would have taken a muffin (if it was gf.. we can pretend it was hehe)… eggs.. fruit.. and grabbed some of the sausage too!

  12. If I do a hard workout before and get a protein packed snack right when I finish that, then I usually don’t have much of an appetite for the pastries and such.

  13. that’s awesome that you cooked there! huge success (any party with a fruit tray is a success in my opinion)
    Katherine

  14. Soooo where do you work? Because I’d like to send my resume lol if you’re getting perks like that, I’d gladly move to DC! Great job on the breakfast and smart move with the veggie sausage (:

Leave a Reply

