• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Picnic!

Today ended up being such an awesome day! I didn’t come back for lunch because I didn’t really eat lunch today. Breakfast was so late and then I grazed over some of the leftover pastries until they were gone… so much for my tips on being good at potlucks/office meals!! πŸ˜‰ It was soooo hot outside today and sunny, so we decided to take an afternoon trip to Starbucks and I got a Grande Caramel Light Frappucino… first one of the season!

I never get these, but saw it on the menu and it just spoke to me. So good and really good against the hot weather!

After I got out of work, I came home and changed into my bike clothes to go meet my friends Amber and Meredith for a picnic in DC! I really wanted to get a workout in, so I decided to bike into DC rather than metro or drive, and ended up getting in 11 miles there and back! I had a banana before my ride because I was getting pretty hungry, and the ride itself went really well. Today’s round trip stats:

Distance: 11.00 miles

Duration: 54:25

Avg. Speed: 12.1 mph

Avg. Pace: 4:56 min/mile

Calories: 554

I was happy with these stats because about 2 miles was biking through DC so there was a lot of stopping at lights, dodging cars, going slow, etc. The parts on the trail were quicker, and then in the city slower, so I was pleased with the average pace and total distance I did.

The picnic itself was so fun! We walked over to a grassy area near the Potomac and set out a sheet to sit on and set out all the food.

I brought the Flat-Out Wraps, pretzels, tomato, and arugula, and Amber and Meredith picked up all the rest of the veggies (avocado, red bell pepper, sugar snap peas, sprouts, and carrots), crumbled goat cheese, hummus, and some wine! We all made wraps with the veggies, cheese, and hummus. Here was mine:

It had arugula on the bottom, tomato, avocado, hummus, and goat cheese. I rolled it up and then had some pretzels, sugar snap peas, and red bell peppers on the side.

Delicious! It felt so nice to have a healthy picnic with lots of veggies and snacks. The wine spritzers didn’t hurt, either! We had such a nice time with the three of us.

That’s Amber, Yours Truly, and Meredith. The three of us were college orientation roommates (so long ago!!) and now we all still hang out 8 years later.

Are most of your current friends from high school, college, post college, or another source (work etc)? I have a handful of friends I’m still in touch with from high school, but most of my closest friends are from college. I do have a few close friends I’ve met through work too but the majority are from GW! πŸ™‚

16 Responses

  1. Yay! So jealous of your biking πŸ™‚ I keep forgetting that you’re in DC! I’m moving back there in a few weeks for at least the summer (hopefully more if I get a job).

  2. good choice on the frapp. the light caramel one is REALLY good, and it taste just as good as the full fat one on the menu… well at least pretty similar.

    hmm most of my friends i met either online or through community groups like yoga and such.. its kind of strange but totally works.

  3. That looks delicious!! Yum!! I haven’t taken the plunge and had a frapp yet, but I feel one coming after these near 90 degree days.

    I’m one of those crazy people who has known some of my friends since age 3. My DC friends are all GW or study abroad. But when I go home, I’m back with all my high school friends and have these strange bonds with people I went to school with on day one that are still going strong.

    • I’m sure I’d still be close with a lot of my high school friends if my parents hadn’t moved away from where I grew up! I guess I should have added childhood as an option in my original question! Crazy to think you’ve know people for 20+ years isn’t it!?

  4. Sounds like a great ride! Your picnic looks delish. I love picnics. πŸ˜€

    Jenn

  5. Yay for healthy picnics! All those veggies look so great, I can imagine them tasting even better outside on a nice sunny day. If only Seattle got a little sunny loving…. we’re kinda stuck on mucho mucho rain in May. June, be good? I hope.

    Have a great weekend (shooot it’s almost here! How great is that?!)

  6. Picnic looks so fun! It’s great you have friends that like to eat healthy with you.

  7. Makes me want to plan a ride/picnic this weekend! (I alsy find it hysterical-slash-awesome that one of you rode with a giant knife in your bag! Good for picnics AND self defense!

  8. What a glorious evening! So happy you captured all the moments. I’m still convinced our Eagle poses would have been a LOT better had we taken the photos before the white wine and copious amounts of food πŸ˜‰ Let’s do it again soooon!

  9. What a nice recount of our lovely evening! My takeaways: 1) buy a bike at Court House, 2) try bikram, and 3) hang out with Amber and Beth more often.

    Happy Friday =D

  10. What an awesome picnic! I have wanted to go on one for a whileeee! I’m glad you had a good time (:

Leave a Reply

