• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Blog to the Rescue

Let me preface this post by saying I failed miserably after this morning’s post with making more of an effort to cook at home. That said, we did have a really fun day. We got a bunch more plants for out on our balcony and did a little more thrifin’. I don’t think that’s actually a verb but in my world, it should be. I realized they have books at Goodwill for $1.59 and they had a lot of new looking best sellers. I am going to start stocking up there when I go because I love having books lined up to read.

We stopped at a cute little Mexican hole-in-the-wall after a few hours of errands, and had a nice meal sitting outside. Though the day was overcast, it was still pretty nice out and sitting outdoors to eat was ideal. We got the standard chips and salsa to start, with a side of guac.

The chips were still warm and delicious. The salsa was a little thinner than I like it, but the flavor was awesome. And the guac was just perfect.Β I perused the menu and was happy to see they had vegetable tortilla soup. I’ve only ever seen chicken tortilla soup on a menu so when it said veggie soup, I got excited and decided to order it along with a salad.


It did not disappoint! The flavor of the broth was sooo good, and there were peppers, onions, and other veggies in the soup. Also, a little bit of cheese and fresh cilantro on top. yum. The salad I got with it was pretty good too.

It had grilled shrimp, hearts of palm, baby corn, red cabbage, lettuce, and tomato. I got the dressing on the side, but actually ended up pouring the rest of the salsa over the salad which was perfect. The pieces of tomato in the salad were huge, and two of them were a little on the soft side. I ended up just putting them on the rim of the plate and not eating them, but the rest of the salad was awesome. The grilled shrimp were super flavorful and delicious, and I definitely would not have complained if there were more of them!

After running around doing errands all day, we decided to cave and order Indian food for dinner. I looked everywhere for the menu but could not find it anywhere. I didn’t know the name of the restaurant so I couldn’t even look it up online. Then I realized I could search my blog for Indian food to find out the last time we ordered it, and look up the number in my phone from that date. And it worked! Indian food is now on the way thanks to blogging. πŸ™‚

I’ll be back tomorrow – hope your weekends are going fabulously!

PS: I’ve finally sort of gotten my head around Twitter and have started tweeting when I put up a new post. If you’re on there, follow me @bethsjourneytt!

4 Responses

  1. That’s awesome!! I’ve done that– I can never remember dates so I look at my blog to figure things out. πŸ˜‰

  2. mexican and indian.. so wann amix those cultures in my belly sometime. btw uno its good when the chips come out warm and crispy! yea the salsa kind of looks watery but im sure it tasted delish.. they were prolly on a tomato shortage hehe. oh awesome that ur on twitter.. i dont hav eit but i still love reading them even if i dont officially ‘follow’ xoxo ❀

  3. That’s funny that you found the number for Indian on your blog! How handy! And your chips & guac look yummy, I may have to make that later in the day πŸ™‚

  4. yum, looks good! where is that from?

Leave a Reply

