• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

College Again?

Today has been a little bit of a slow start after last night’s festivities. It was a fun night and celebrating was in order because one of my best friends graduated from law school yesterday!! Let’s rewind a bit, shall we?

After work, I came home and made a quick snack to tide me over.

Almond Butter + Crofters Europe on Whole Wheat Potato Bread with a glass of Almond Milk. Then I went and got a pedicure since the pool opens this weekend, plus my eyebrows done. It was fun and while getting my toes done, I finished reading Harvesting the Heart by Jodi Picoult. This book was pretty slow to start and took me a while to get into, but then it got really good and I couldn’t put it down about half way through. She’s one of my favorite authors and I’d never even heard of this book, but I found it in my Community Book Room.

After that, the boyfriend and I went and got a bite to eat at Hamlet, a bar/restaurant close to our apartment. I had a few glasses of wine, and got a fire roasted artichoke to start.

I shared, but probably ate about 2/3 of this. It was pretty good but I would have liked it to be cooked a bit more so the edible parts were a little softer. I also ordered a half salad:

Which was pretty big for a half size! It had greens, candied pecans, cashews, dried cranberries, tomatoes, avocado, and goat cheese. I ordered the dressing on the side but didn’t use it because there was a lot going on in the salad as it was. It was delish! The only problem was it had chicken in it and I didn’t realize it until it came out the first time, so I had to send it back.

After that, I went and met the new JD in DC for some drinks at Madhatter. It was a lot of fun and I felt like I was in college again – not getting home until after 2am! I can’t even tell you the last time I was out that late. It felt like being back in college! Here’s a pic of us girls at the bar:

Jess (the law school grad!!), Lianne, Me, and Katie (Jess’s little sis).

And that’s one of Lianne, me, and my vodka soda. 😉

Since I got home so late, I slept later than I have in years – until almost 12!! I woke up earlier than that but wasn’t feeling so hot so made myself go back to sleep and when I woke up for the final time I was feeling pretty good. I decided to have a stabilizing breakfast (slash lunch) which was actually delicious.

I pan fried an egg and melted some cheese on top, and then placed it on a bed of microgreens for an egg sandwich.

It was on Whole Wheat Potato Bread and reallly hit the spot.

I also had a sliced up apple to go with the egg sandwich.

Yum. I have been slacking a lot on cooking lately but I’m hoping to get back into it this weekend. I am so excited to have 3 days off and my boyfriend actually has the whole weekend off too! Not sure exactly what today will bring, but we might go thriftin’, shop for a few more plants, and get geared up for a little Memorial Day Party that we’re having on Monday with some friends by the pool. Today is kind of gloomy and overcast, but tomorrow and Monday are supposed to be really hot and sunny, so hopefully I’ll log some hours by the pool. 🙂

Happy Saturday!

4 Responses

  1. AWE everyone looks so glowing and fantastic!! beautiful pics ❤

    i have such a hard time making a good cooked artichoke at home.. i cant get it really soft.. so i know how u mustve felt about that dish.. really needs a good thorough cook thru to soften up for sure ❤

  2. Oh man, I LOVE a nice, cold, sliced apple with egg breakfasts. Something about the fresh, crisp side of an apple that goes fantastic with cooked egg + veggies. With the artichoke dish, did you eat the insides then go after individual leaves afterward? I seriously need to look up “how to eat an artichoke” on google. I wish we could just steam the whole thing and eat every bit.. I feel weird throwing out the backs of all the leaves. Oh artichokes!

  3. A sunny Memorial day pool party sounds so perfect! Enjoy the 3 day weekend with your boy!

  4. 2 things:

    1) artichokes are my favorite food. to cook them thoroughly i steam them for 30-45 minutes depending on the size, with the leaves facing down in the steamer. you can tell they are done when you are able to stick a fork easily into the stem, maybe someday i can show you!!
    2) you girls look BEAUTIFUL, i’ll never get over katie being old.

    love you!

Leave a Reply

