• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Party Time

Today has been such a fun day but I am so sad this day and the weekend in general are wrapping up! Yesterday was a bunch of running around doing errands to get ready for the party, and all day today was cooking, cleaning, picking up some last minute things, and then having people over! We had about 15 people total (including us) and Wil cooked up a storm. I had a stabilizing and light breakfast because I knew there’d be heavy eating later in the day, but didn’t want to NOT eat so that I overate when the party started.

This was 2 egg whites microwaved into a puff on an arnold thin with some melted cheddar, a little sriracha, and half a banana sliced on the side. I just poured the egg whites into a bowl that I had sprayed with nonstick spray and then microwaved them for 1 minute and it puffed up into the perfect size for a sandwich.

Then, we got geared up for the party, which started around 1pm. Here’s a peek at the buffet:

Grilled Veggies + Fried Chicken. Wil made the fried chicken by marinating it overnight and then frying it in a wok of oil and then finishing it in the oven. I didn’t have any, but heard it was incredible!

And that is the grilled veggie plater up close. It had eggplant, yellow squash, zucchini, and roasted red peppers, plus some olives. We grilled the veggies last night in balsamic vinaigrette and then shaved some romano cheese over them today.

Cucumber Salad, Potato Salad, and Homemade Biscuits.

The cucumber salad just had cucumbers and red onions, and was marinated in white vinegar, a little sugar, and some salt. It was very tasty and light and so easy to throw together, too. The potato salad was incredible, but not so light. It had olive oil mayo, olive oil, apple cider vinegar, salt, pepper, dill, and mustard. It was sooo good, but I tried to go easy on that and heavier on the cucumber salad.

After I took pics of the buffet, blackened shrimp was added for those of who don’t eat chicken. I bought blackening spice and just coated the shrimp in it and then seared it on a flat grill pan with a little butter. Here’s a picture of my plate:

Some blackened shrimp, cucumber salad, grilled veggies, potato salad, and a biscuit. I definitely had some more shrimp, veggies, and cucumber salad, and maybe another biscuit or two. All of the food was soooo good, and the company even better. We spent some time at the pool and the weather was PERFECT. Clear, sunny, and not at all humid.

I’m so sad this weekend is over because I have such a busy day ahead. Tomorrow is my only day in the office, and then Wednesday I am flying to Oklahoma City for a conference. I always struggle with being healthy on conferences, but I really want to do well because I feel like I’ve been slacking a bit on healthy eating/exercise. During this whole weekend, I only worked out one time (Bikram on Sunday) and usually weekends are when I get the most working out in.

I’m going to try to get a workout in tomorrow while also getting ready for my business trip, and then hopefully get a few workouts in while I’m in OKC. Once I get back from OKC, I’m in full fledged get-to-goal weight mode because I really need to lose these last few pounds and get to goal so I can become lifetime and stop paying for Weight Watchers. I’ll probably be eating a lot stricter and posting points for a lot of my recipes, which I don’t usually do. I’ve been more in maintenance mode for the last few months, but the truth is I still have a few pounds left to go and I really need to start crackin’!

What was the highlight of your Memorial Day weekend? For me, definitely today’s party! It was so fun and nice to spend time with friends eating good food and in the sun.

11 Responses

  1. The highlight of my Memorial Day was the FOOD!! I really enjoy the turkey burgers, corn on the cob, pineapple bread pudding, and potatoe bake my mom made for me. BUT I cant wait to get back to my NORMAL eating after a day of indulgence!! I WILL also NOT let this day effect my RECOVERY!!

  2. Oh that party looked so fun! And nice work on the amazing buffet! I wish my friends and I were more organized when it comes to stuff like that. But that’s what I get for hanging out primarily with twenty-something boys. All that cooking would get in the way of all the video games…

  3. What a fun party! Those biscuits have me drooling!

  4. Highlight of my weekend? Having Moroccan food (oh my weekend started on Thursday) and then going scuba diving on Friday morning then going to a BBQ on Saturday and seeing one of my BFFs Sunday night. Glorious.

    Sounds like you had a great time too! By the way, I love Sriracha 🙂 I wish DC had some legit yummy pho.

    • I love Minh in Arlington on Wilson Blvd. Their pho is AWESOME. have you been there? I’ve also had Pho 75 in arlington which was really good, too.

  5. Everything looks wonderful!

    Good luck with your weight loss goal, you’ve already done an amazing job and I know you’ll do great with the rest.

  6. Don’t beat yourself up about not working out so much. You look amazing and it’s not like you didn’t do anything! Plus it looks like you enjoyed the holiday weekend which is key before a business trip 🙂

  7. Hey Beth- I have never commented but I have been reading for awhile. I live in OKC!! If you need any resturant recs or anything let me know!

  8. My favorite part is definitely getting to hang out with friends and family. Your spread looks delicious! Next time, I’m hitching to your house. Good luck with your goal weight babe! I’m sure you can do it (:

  9. your place is fabulous beth!! what a nice array of food and great weather! best part of mem. day weekend was venturing to the beach post 5k race. nothing feels better than the ocean after a hot and steamy race.

    ps. you will def. get to that goal weight. do not stress about the weekend. life happens! always remember that! the treadmill, bike, yoga will be there tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

