• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

So Far So Good

Thank you so much for all your encouragement and ideas from this morning’s post on my goals for the month of June! I think I will do a weekly check in rather than monthly so I keep closer track of how I’m doing with the goals, and so that I will be able to adjust them a bit if necessary. The first week may be a little tricky for me since I’m traveling, but I plan to go back to WW next week, still count points as much as possible, not drink too much (except water!) and try to get 2-3 workouts in while out of town. There is supposed to be a pretty nice gym in the hotel so I will try to go there as much as I can when my schedule permits (not likely on Saturday + Sunday since I will be working 12+ hour days and busy from early morning to late evening).

Lunch today was awesome, and very point-friendly! I’m trying to use up as much as I can of what’s in the house since I’ll be leaving tomorrow, plus eating as many fruits and veggies as I can to cleanse out my system and start the month off right.

Doesn’t that look so good and colorful!? Plus, the whole enormous salad had only 4 WW points.

Onto my plate went:

  • 2 cups baby spinach (0 pts)
  • microgreens (0 pts)
  • garlic sprouts (0 pts)
  • Corn (raw cut off the cob) (1 pt)
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas (1 pt)
  • 1 roasted pepper (0 pts)
  • 1 serving Doctor Kracker Hummus Maximum (2pts) broken up

Check out all those toppings!

They made the salad fun to eat and delicious since there was so much going on. I’d never broken up crackers on my salad before, though the idea doesn’t seem too revolutionary, but it made for a nice crunch on the salad! Plus the fresh corn added a little soft crunch and sweetness, and the garlic sprouts a spicy garlicky flavor. On the side I had some grapes (1 pt):

So a total of 5 points for a really delicious and colorful lunch. I’ve also already had my 8 cups of water today and plan to keep on drinking, so so far so good for the first day of the month!

Question: What is your favorite low-ish point/calorie lunch? I’ve mentioned this many times before, but I LOVE baked sweet potatoes (3 pts for a large one) with 1/2 cup black beans (1 pt) with a big salad on the side loaded with veggies (0) – total of 4. This lunch was pretty awesome, too, so comes in as a close second.

17 Responses

  1. Way to go, Beth! Your salad looks delicious, by the way. I had your sweet potato invention again for lunch today and it was very yummy and filling–much more so than a regular sandwich. And it’s cheap, which is good too.

    Good luck transitioning from maintenance to losing weight, although you are already doing many things right already, so it will hopefully not be too hard a transition. Plus, it’s awesome that you were able to maintain without gaining weight. Have a nice rest of the day.

    • Hi Katie, So glad you love that combo! I do find it so filling, plus its full of super foods so it’s good for you, too. Best combo in my book! Hope you’re having a great day, too.

  2. Yum, that looks so good!! I love baked sweet potatoe also. I still have to try it with the black beans.

  3. I love Vegan Boca burgers! 1pt and if you put it on a bagel thin with a bunch of veggies it’s so yummy and 2pts! I get the big bag of frozen shrimp from Costco and putting that on the grill with a sweet potato is only about a 4pt meal too.

    Since joining W.W. I’ve made a habit out of making fruit my sides, so really, as long as you make your main food low point and pair it with fruit, you’re good to go!

    • I haven’t tried the Vegan Boca Burgers, but since I figured out how to make my own burgers, I don’t know if I’ll go back to the frozen kind! Mine are also 1 pt and the texture is just to die for, in my opinion.

  4. I often break up crackers (or um…chips) on my salad for a little extra crunch too. 🙂

  5. oh i love this salad! i am gonna check out your goals from this mornings post……..

  6. I think I’m going to have to try those crackers (ps that salad looks yummy). I love having huge salads for lunch especially in the summer when my body is craving fresh food. Have you tried any of the Hungry Girl recipes? When I was losing weight (and doing WW) I loved her recipes because she included the WW points. Her website (http://hungry-girl.com/) has a ton of recipes plus great trips for eating out (what to order).

    Have a wonderful rest of your day 🙂

    • Hi Sarah! I have tried a lot of the Hungry Girl recipes, but I find they use a lot of fake ingredients (like fat free and sugar free stuff) and I don’t like to use those too much, so I don’t tend to follow her recipes. I do use some of her ideas though and would love if she used more whole foods in her recipes! my favorite one of hers that I tried is the Jalapeno Poppers… SO good.

  7. I had a sweet potato for lunch today! 🙂

    Thanks for including the points values of your meals. I totally slacked off in keeping track of my WW points in May because I had so much going on, but June and July are not looking any calmer so I can’t use that as an excuse anymore. I was able to mostly maintain throughout May (I went up about 3 pounds this past weekend, but definitely ate more than usual), but I do have about 10-15 more I’d like to lose by the end of the summer. I like seeing what you put together to get the most out of your points. I find the WW site so frustrating because most people just seem to use their points towards low-cal junk food, not real food.

    • I completely agree about WW – but i don’t hate because I used to eat a lot of that fat free stuff and 100 calorie packs of everything. I mostly started moving into whole foods once my points were dwindling because I needed more bang for my buck! It’s going to be interesting seeing how my points count out since I haven’t counted in AGES.

  8. you know im always impressed by ur salads!! and the grapes are extra colorful it seems!! u eat so good! ur tummy must always love u so much, u balance really well too with the dif food groups. XOXO

  9. I’m on a summer salad kick. I love topping spinach with grilled veggies, 1/2 cup of chickpeas, a tbsp of goat cheese and 2 tsps of pine nuts. I think with dressing it comes out to 4.5. I usually pair it with a piece of toast or something for carbs.
    Sweet potato is also one of my favorites. Plus soups when its not 1000 degrees out.

  10. I also love that you are posting point values with your foods. I am doing WW also and have quite a bit to lose so your food ideas are very helpful. I am new to following health blogs and am trying to transition to whole foods. I feel so much better.

  11. That salad looks amazing!! Ahh chickpeas, so delicious. Hey remember when you told me you have tempeh in sandwiches + salads? Well, as I packed my lunch for tomorrow, I sliced a thin slice of tempeh instead of turkey. Then I thought “wait… can I eat it raw like this? or do I have to grill it or fancy- it?” and I typed in “raw tempeh on sandwiches” in google and GUESS WHAT?!

    http://www.google.com/search?q=raw+tempeh+on+sandwiches&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

    A link to YOUR blog was first on the search engine! hahah, you’re fantastic. And you’re going to do great on losing the weight, I know it, good luck!!

  12. That salad looks delicious! I love veggies 🙂

    My fave low point meal is whole wheat cous cous with pepper and broccoli (or whatever veg you like) and some fun seasonings for 4 points. Sometimes I also add oil for another point depending on how I feel.

  13. […] I found this awesome blog that I am currently loving.  Her name is BETH and she makes amazing salads and takes pics of all her food.  Awesome.  The link I am giving you […]

Leave a Reply

