• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Don’t Be Scurred

Hello! This morning has been INSANE. A lot of random logistical stuff went wrong with the course so I was running around like a crazy person trying to fix everything. Luckily, it all worked out and everything got taken care of, but only after a good amount of panic and stress. They say all is well that ends well though, and it seems to be ending well, so I think we are OK.

Because of the craziness, I didn’t even have time for breakfast. I was planning on ordering room service or going to grab something once I had registration set up for the course, but because of all the issues I ran out of time. Luckily they had some green apples at the gym yesterday and being a lover of all things free, I grabbed one. I had it in my bag and ate it once I realized it was there.

It was not the best apple I’ve ever had – definitely a bit mealy, but you better believe I ate it completely down to the core. I also had two cups of black coffee, and practically tripped over everyone as I raced out of the room for our 12pm lunch break. I just decided to eat at the restaurant in the hotel for lunch, and they had a nice looking buffet for only 12.95. I surveyed what they had and there was a salad bar, baked potatoes, a veggie medley, some meat dishes, and bread pudding for dessert. I started off with two good sized plates. The first had salad with mixed greens, cucumbers, red onions, and tomatoes, as well as some of the veggie medley.

The second plate had a baked potato with some fixin’s.

At buffets, sometimes it can be hard to be healthy because they don’t have things you would normally ask for if you were ordering from a server. But, today I was my own advocate and asked for three things I didn’t see on the buffet.

1.) Salsa – My favorite topping for baked potatoes! All they had was sour cream, cheese, bacon, butter, and chives (all good but not the healthiest) so I just asked the guy behind the buffet if he had some salsa and he gladly got me that dish of it pictured above.

2.) Balsamic Vinegar – All the dressings at the salad bar were creamy and full-fat, so I asked my server for some oil and vinegar and she brought out extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar which was great because I could control the amount of oil and these two are actually my favorite dressing if I use any.

3.) Artichoke Hearts – They had a salad with artichoke hearts, cucumbers, tomatoes, ham, and some vinaigrette, and i piled it high on my plate before realizing there was ham in it. I loooove artichoke hearts and figured they must have them in the back, so I asked the guy behind the salad bar if I could have some plain artichoke hearts and he got me a dish full of them!

Notice though I asked each person for just one extra thing so I didn’t seem ridic – the server and two separate guys behind the buffet. I’m so glad I did because it helped me to have a delicious and satisfying meal while still staying on track. Don’t be scared to ask!

I did go back for Round 2 at the buffet and got a small bowl with more of the veggie medley and a roll.

I realize I didn’t have any protein with this meal really, so I hope it holds me over. I do feel really full right now!

Question: Do you enjoy buffets? Do you feel weird asking for special things since you’re not really being served in the traditional way? I normally tend to avoid buffets because I have a hard time controlling myself around them, but this one was small and only had a few options, so it felt do-able. I’d never really asked for special things before today but it went so well that I wouldn’t hesitate to ask again.

11 Responses

  1. Buffets overwhelm me and give me anxiety. I feel like I get the “my eyes are bigger than my stomach” syndrome and over eat!

  2. thats awesome you had the guts to ask for extras. I usually don’t have too much trouble with buffets. I just stuff myself with veggies so I’m too full for the rest of the food 🙂

  3. I do often feel awkward asking for certain things- but I’m glad you got the dressing you wanted! I hate having to settle for something I wasn’t really “feeling” at the time. Especially if it’s the creamy ones… I like to indulge, but I dont’ want to feel forced to have them!

  4. that buffet looks great! sorry you had such a hectic morning!

  5. I love nice buffets! Variety is my middle name. I typically just indulge if I am at one… while in Rome… 🙂

    Jenn

  6. I’m supposed to go to a champagne brunch on Sunday for a friend’s birthday and I am nervous!

    Now I know that if I don’t see something, I can ask for it!

  7. I’m not really down with the buffet – I feel like I eat way more than I normally would and on top of that, I usually feel less satisfied. I’d rather just order a full meal that I know I would enjoy than pick around at the buffet line.

  8. Woah veggie packed day for ya! I used to go to buffets as a kid a lot, and loved eating millions of slices of pizza, then macaroni, then chicken, mashed potatoes, cake, ice cream, and I never felt sick… then one morning, after a buffet feast, I felt it. Hard. I was then scarred for life from all things buffet. But now, if I go to one, I’m no longer scared! I mean, look how you did it, you can fill as many plates of greens + goods as you like, all for a nice price! I vote yes.

    Happy business trip!

  9. That restaurant must really have great customer service. It’s wonderful they accomodated all of your needs. I don’t eat at too many buffets because we don’t have many options here. We do have a fabulous Indian one that P and I adore!

  10. I love the idea of buffets. They really suit my personality…lots of options, lots of variety, lots of sides – I prefer sides over entrees. My problem with buffets is the people serving themselves…are his/her hands clean, oh look, he placed the tongs directly on top of the rolls, that means whatever was on his hands is now on all the rolls, that kid just touched 4 and decided to take the 5th, now they are all contaminated, thanks for sneezing into your hand and then grabbing the spoon to dish your stuff…I could go on and on but it all adds up to the fact that buffets scare me. I’d love to eat buffets but I just can’t do it.

  11. […] the choices available, I had to remember not to shove everything in my face.  Luckily I had read Beth’s blog a couple of days ago and realized that even at buffets, you still have options.  I had my […]

Leave a Reply

