• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Unchargeable

image

Ugh. My laptop died last night while I had it plugged in and only then did I realize my charger was not working. It was sad because I had an awesome meal on the roof at a nice restaurant followed by self serve fro yo and took lots of great pics. I loaded them onto my computer and selected delete from device after uploading just befote it died. So this really puts a wrench in my blogging plans for the weekend but ill try to blog from my phone as much as I can because I want to keep you guys posted on how I’m doing with being on track during my business trip.

After the course yesterday I went to the gym again and did arm weights. They only have free weights so I did biceps triceps pushups and some other random things with a weighted ball. I need to learn to do more stuff without instruction or machines. After that I did 40 minutes of intervals on the elliptical, alternating between incline of 4 with 1 resistance and incline of 10 with 8 resistance every 2 minutes. I did 5 minutes cool down for a total of 4.35 miles and 552 calories according to the machine. (I know the calorie count is off but I still like to look at it).

After the workout And shower I went to Nonna’s, a cute restaurant in Bricktown. I got a salad to start which was awesome! It had fried goat cheese on it along with strawberries and sliced radishes but I’m sure you can guess which the star ingredient was for me. For my main course I ordered an appetizer which was out of this world. It had avocado, mango and crab and was stacked Napoleon style in a cylindrical shape. It Wish topped with microgreens for garnish and was served with crostini. Oh my was it good! Avocado plus mango plus crab!? Match made in heaven. I must recreate this at home. I also had a glass of Viogner (white wine) with my meal which was perfect. I actually got to sit upstairs on the outdoor patio and it was a beautiful night so it was a gray experience. I left with a smile on my face.

After dinner I wandered around Bricktown a bit more and went to a frozen yogurt place that just opened over the weekend. It was super cute inside and had 16 flavors from peanut butter to pomegranate to cheesecake to pineapple. There were also toms of toppings and since it was self serve it was fun to put a little bit of everything I wanted on there (and not pay a dollar for each topping!) I ended up being boring and getting original tart flavor, but I topped it with raspberries, kiwi, mochi, and organic granola. It was awesome! I definitely plan to return again before I leave okc.

I just had an early night reading a book (side note – I have not turned on my TV once since I’ve been here!). This morning I went to the breakasr buffet at the hotel and it was really good! They had an omelet to order station, tons of fruit, hot dishes, oatmeal that looked a little funky, bagels and lox, plus cereal and milk. I ended up going with an eggwhite omelet with all the veggies they had – mushrooms, onions, tomatoes and spinach. I asked them to use as little oil as possible and also found out it was a mix of olive and calls oils, so quite healthy. I also loaded my plate up with fruit – pineapple, strawberries and melon, plus had a small cup of skim milk. It was delicious and I feel a lot less cranky than I did yesterday!

Busy day again today but ill be back.

Make me jealous – what are your plans for the weekend? Ill be having a blast working 14+ hour days…

8 Responses

  1. It sounds like you’re doing awesome being away from home! I was up in CT for Memorial Day weekend and had a few too many desserts… 🙂 My weekend plans are cleaning the house and…dundadun… RING SHOPPING!

  2. I hope you get some time off after working so much over the weekend! Way to go getting your exercise in on vacation. I know you were a little nervous but looks like you are kicking ass on the food + exercise front. We should have a froyo date one of these days when you are back in DC!
    My weekend plans are nothing to be jealous of (especially compared to Sydney). I’m driving up to a wedding in NY Saturday morning and driving back that night.

  3. Aw shame about your pics getting lost, but that bfast looks wonderful! & great workout, too!

    My weekend plans are Costco, Hubby’s 10K, Whole Foods, Steak day, and Sunday will include goodbyes since the man is going out of town 😦

    Happy weekend!

  4. that is such a fear of mine everytime i load pics!! thats too bad!! at least the omelet kicks ass tho!! ❤

  5. Yummy looking omlette and fruit!!

  6. A hotel with only free weights would be my dream come true! Once you learn how to use them, you’ll never go back. But way to fit in workouts on 14+ hour days. I’m thinking of having an early night with a book tonight 🙂 It sounds heavenly.

  7. catching up 🙂 i couldn’t help but smile when i read about your new love affair with avocado, mango and crab! i have been on fire w/ avocado and mango combinations and my dinner last night included both stars along with strawberry for a chicken topping. we’ll just say my tastebuds were doing the tango!

Leave a Reply

