• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Crabby

Hiya! Sorry for not coming back yesterday, but blogging from my phone is kind of difficult because it takes so long to type! I had a pretty good day yesterday because some of my coworkers arrived in OKC so I had some friends instead of being on my own. It was a looong day, but a good one. The course wrapped up and went really well, and then I helped with a few other things and took a tour of the hotel where the rest of our conference is going to be held.

For dinner, we decided to go out to a seafood restaurant and it ended up being so fun! They had tons of different kinds of fresh fish, and we ended up getting this feast where we each got steamed snow crab legs, shrimp, corn on the cob, potatoes, and andouille sausage (I gave mine away). They put brown paper down on the table and then dumped the buckets down in the middle. It was so fun!! I love eating with my hands and getting messy (on occasion). Here’s a pick of the feast in the middle of our table

image

The food was delicious! I loooove crab legs and hadn’t had them in so long. Plus the shrimp, corn and potatoes were delicious, too. They boiled everything together so there was also onions and different spices, so everything was super flavorful.

After dinner, we ended up walking around Bricktown a bit more and then stopping for frozen yogurt again. I forgot to take a picture, but I got cookies and cream fro yo and topped it with snickers and cookie dough. Definitely delicious, but not the healthiest. I left feeling really full from dinner and the fro yo, and a little bit sick to my stomach even though everything was good, I just ate too much of it!

This morning started EARLY and my alarm went off at 5:30am (ouch!). There’s a huge exam going on so it’s pretty low key since i”m not actually taking the exam, just have to stand by and make sure everything goes well. I went to the breakfast buffet again and got the same thing I had yesterday – a veggie eggwhite omelet with fresh fruit and skim milk. Having the stabilizing breakfast also helped my stomach feel a bit better even though I woke up at the crack of dawn. Coffee has been flowing as well, as I’m sure you can imagine.

So yesterday felt a bit indulgent with the big dinner + candy covered frozen yogurt, so I’m counting that as my splurge day for the week. I had a healthy breakfast and plan to try to be mindful for the rest of my trip. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to squeeze in another workout, but I’m going to try to get one in either later today or tomorrow. The days are just so busy that its going to be tough.

Hope you all got to sleep later than me and are enjoying your Saturday!! šŸ˜‰

8 Responses

  1. love messy eats! i bet napkins and table cloths came in handy for this gorgeous feast!

    wow and candy covered froyo… i dont blame you for getting that-great choice!

    kudos for a healthy breakfast for balancing it out. mm and coffee too šŸ™‚ the pot over here is always brewing hehe

  2. I wish I could have seen that glorious fro yo lol saturdays are the best!! Hope you’re having fun (:

  3. gosh all of that seafood looks fabulous. i usually have a splurge day a week though lately it has been more often and i have to rein it in!

  4. I secretly have wanted to go to one of those seafood places for a while, I bet it’s so much fun! Hope you continue to kinda/sorta enjoy your trip, and that you get to sleep in soon! Over here we got up at 6:20am for my hubby’s 10K, it was a blast but me eyes seem to be sleepier than usual.. Enjoy them omeletes, egg whites and fruit never fail!

  5. Oh boy, crab legs!! My hubby and I would be in heaven. šŸ˜€

    Jenn

  6. Hope you get in a workout. That fro-yo sounds like a well worth it splurge!

  7. Love messy crableg crackin. I have some fabulous memories eating in places like that!

  8. I feel you about blogging from the phone. I’ll probably be doing that this week since we’re going to be moving (and lord knows how long it’ll be before Comcast gets out internet hooked up)!

Leave a Reply

