• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Maoz

Today I am so happy that I didn’t have food at home to make lunch because I had an AWESOME meal at a new-to-me place. My friend/former coworker Helene actually emailed me while I was in OKC to tell me about this place she went to, and I knew I had to try it.

Maoz is a vegetarian restaurant that has international locations, and then one in Philly, NYC, and now DC. It opened about 6 months ago, but I’d never heard of it until Helene emailed me about it. It’s on M Street between 18th and 19th, so a bit of a trek from my office, but TOTALLY worth it. The whole concept behind it is that they use fresh ingredients and try to do as much farm to table as possible. From the website,

“Maoz Vegetarian is an international, quick service vegetarian restaurant chain, which brought to the world the delicious Maoz sandwich: FALAFEL. Our menu is strictly vegetarian and is based on simplicity, freshness and care. Our famous Maoz sandwich is home baked pita bread filled with crispy, handmade Falafel balls which are made from chickpeas, a vitamin rich legume, packed with plenty of proteins, minerals and vitamin B. The chickpeas are blended daily with fresh spices and vegetables and then fried in zero trans-fat Canola oil. All of our salads and sauces are freshly prepared every day using handpicked ingredients to assure superior quality and freshness.”

So they have falafel sandwiches, or falafel salads, and then a whole salad bar of fresh salads that are made daily and refreshed every few minutes so you know its as fresh as could be. The wraps come with the falafel in a pita and regular or sweet potato fries, and the salad comes with two mix-ins and a drink. For my salad, I added eggplant and hummus as my two mix ins and here it was before I got to the salad bar:

And then the salad bar was AWESOME. Everything was vegetarian and looked and tasted so fresh.

And from the other side:

The first part of the salad bar had: Olives, Pickles, Hot Peppers, Chickpea Salad, Beet Salad, and Carrot Salad:

The next part had Veggie Salad, Tabouli Salad, Broccoli + Cauliflower, Coleslaw, and Cabbage Salad:

And then the end had a bunch of sauces to choose from:

Salsa, Cilantro Sauce, Hot Sauce, and something else I didn’t catch the name of. I loaded up my bowl with practically everything on the salad bar, and you pay for it PRE-toppings, not by weight, which is awesome in my book. Here’s the finished product:

It was AWESOME. The falafel was really crispy and warm, and a perfect contrast to the chilled veggie salads. In my bowl was:

  • Falafel
  • Eggplant
  • Hummus
  • Chickpea Salad
  • Pickled Hot Peppers
  • Beet Salad
  • Veggie Salad
  • Red Cabbage Salad
  • Tabouli Salad
  • Broccoli + Cauliflower
  • Carrot Salad
  • Cilantro Sauce
  • Salsa

The bowl was HUGE. I should have saved some of it because I ate it all in one go and I was stuffed, but it was delicious, healthy, and loaded with lots of fresh veggies. Maoz is definitely a close second to Juice Joint for my favorite places to get lunch in DC when I don’t bring it. I highly recommend you check it out if you live here or visit DC, NYC, or Philly. So, so good.

I’m actually using a little bit of my comp time to leave early today so that I can unpack, go grocery shopping, and hopefully get to Bikram too. My body is missing it since it’s been over a week since I’ve gone – I really can’t wait to go. I find that when I go after taking some time off I have an awesome class, which is a bit different than I’d expect. I still feel a little unsettled since I got home so late last night and haven’t really had any downtime at all since I’ve been back. I’ll be back!

Question: What is your favorite place to go for lunch if you don’t bring it to work/school? What type of food is it?

21 Responses

  1. Mmmmmm that place looks soooo good! I’m totally going to try it for my next work/lunch date. My fav lunch spots are 1) Amsterdam Falafel on 18th St and 2) Makoto Sushi on MacArthur Blvd. Amsterdam falafel has super reasonable prices and a fixin’ bar that looks similar to the photos of Maoz. And Makoto Sushi is my fav sushi bar in DC – and I’ve tried a lot!

  2. Is that a pay-by-weight salad bar? Looks amazing! I’ve been meaning to try it.

    • fortunately not! you pay for it before you load on the toppings, so you can pile them on. I hiiiighly recommend it. Maybe we should do a get together there with some DCers!

  3. Yum, I’m in Philly and I’ll have to find out where this is and check it out. Hopefully it’s near my work.

    I love, love, love Qdboa but it’s not very WW friendly.

  4. There’s one in DC?! I ate at one in NYC and loved it. I could eat the entire tub of broccoli and cauliflower. You and I must work near each other–I too love Juice Joint, and a hike to 19th and M wouldn’t be out of the question. I also love the burrito stand on 17th and K (NOT 15th and K) and Naan and Beyond. Oh, Naan and Beyond…I order their veggie platter almost once a week. Sometimes twice.

    • I’ve actually never been to the burrito stand before but would love to try it. And yes there’s one in dc!! Its on the rude side if you’re coming from 17th. Definitely check it out.

  5. what a great restaurant!

  6. Sooo thrilled you went so quickly. I can’t lie. I went twice last week. I think my new office judged me for my repetitive eating habits, but at the same time they love Maoz too! Everything is so fresh and delicious. I definitely plan to make this a weekly tradition b/c I’m horrible about bringing my lunch. We must make a date out of this!

  7. That place looks amazing. If I knew of a place like that in Phoenix, I would be there in a heartbeat.

    I have a mediterranean place within walking distance to my place that is delicious, but I don’t go there very often.

    I heart falafel though. I think I have to have it for dinner now. My stomach told me so.

  8. first a great line up of froyo toppings and now a great line up of salad toppings! my gosh girl- this is fantastic! ❤

  9. That looks delicious! We almost never eat lunch out during the week (since we work at home), although if we do, it is a local bistro most times.

  10. 1) If you don’t take me to Maoz soon I will be angry.
    2) The Maoz website is funny.
    3) I am glad you are back. I missed you.

  11. I love Maoz! It’s a block and a half from my office on M Street! I think I just might go there for lunch today!

  12. Ok I’ve seen this place but never knew it was healthy! I have to try it, I think we have one downtown.

  13. Hi Beth,

    Thanks for posting about Maoz. I work in NYC, and low and behold there is a Maoz a mere 5 blocks from my work place. I tend to recently bring lunch in from home daily, but I’ve decided that a once a week treat is good! Lately it’s been Thai food or General Tso Tofu, not necessarily healthy, but still a treat! This place looks exactly what a good treat should be. Healthy, if I make the right choices, and options. I like very much. I plan on checking it out tomorrow or Friday. I will let you know how it compares to your experience. Thanks so much for enlightening me!

  14. Oh man, I looove falafel. I probably ate my body weight in it last time I was in NYC – it’s everywhere!! I think some people make it with flour, so it disagrees with my tummy a bit, but one of those times where it’s totally worth it!!
    Weird about the back-to-bikram class… my first class after a hiatus is always BRUTAL. Like “holy crap I gotta sit down before I puke/pass out/have a panic attack/all 3 at the same time.”
    Question for you: do you notice any changes in your body since starting bikram??

    • I’ve noticed myself getting a lot better with the postures over time and being able to balance on one leg by locking it. Last night I went for a run and was noticing how strong and muscular my legs were looking, and I think a lot of that is because of the balancing series of postures. I also feel like I leave there a lot more peaceful than when i come, and mental health is definitely a HUGE part of healthy living.

      • I can totally relate about the peaceful feeling. I feel soo much better coming out than going in 100% of the time. As they say in class “the hardest part is just showing up!”
        I love that doing the same 26 postures every single time really allows you to see how you’re progressing!

  15. […] if you’re looking for somewhere to get an awesome and reasonable meal! You can read about my first time here which has a lot more pictures and shows the whole salad bar with the steps along the way. I loved […]

Leave a Reply

