• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Goal Update

Good morning! I am still catching up on getting back into the swing of things after this business trip like woah. I did unpack and go grocery shopping, but I have been soooo exhausted that today I just turned my alarm off and went back to sleep. I never do that! Snooze, yes, but off? No. So I think I need to go to bed extra early tonight so I can get an extra hour of sleep and hopefully wake up easier tomorrow.

Even though I’m not doing that great with my goals (largely from traveling to OKC for 6 days/5 nights), I wanted to do a check in now we are over a week into June. Here is a list of the goals and my progress on each of them.

1.) Drink more water. Half Check. I was drinking a lot of water during the first few days of June and into my trip, but then during the weekend my water consumption was slacking. I started back up again yesterday and have been getting in my 8+ glasses a day yesterday and today, and plan to stick with it.

2.) Be consistent with exercise. Half Check. I worked out twice during my trip, and then went back to Bikram yesterday. My goal is to get in 5 days of exercise a week if possible, but last week I got in only 2-3 because of traveling. I plan to make up for that starting this week and going forward.

3.) Get back to strength training. Check. I did free weights while in OKC for the first time in a while. My goal is strength training once a week, and I plan to do some more tonight since it’s rainy outside and not ideal for a run/bike ride outdoors.

4.) Go back to Weight Watchers Meetings. I’m giving myself until the end of June to get back to meetings so I still have more time on this one.

5.) Limit alcohol consumptionFail. I drank too much during my trip to OKC and have a reception and bachelorette coming up this week. To make up on this goal, my plan is to not drink any alcohol after Saturday night (the bachelorette) until July 4th/my birthday weekend. This should be totally doable. 🙂

6.) Count WW PointsHalf Check. I was counting points before I left for OKC but not during my trip. I’m back to counting today, even though it’s my least favorite thing to do.

Did you set June goals? How are you doing on them so far? It’s not too late!

Breakfast today was nothing exciting but it was delicious.

Vegan Overnight Oats that had:

  • 1/3 cup oats (1.5 pts)
  • 1/2 cup light soy milk (.5 pts)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds (1 pt)
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1 Raisin Bran Vitatop (1 pt)

I also had an asian pear on the side.

I haven’t had one of these in forever so I was excited when I spotted them at the grocery store yesterday. They are soo good and 0 points! They are kind of a cross between an apple and a pear – sweet but crunchy. I love them!

Have you had any foods lately that you’d forgotten about/haven’t had in a long time?

10 Responses

  1. My only goal this June is to finish that Sprint Triathlon. Second goal, to kill the urge to eat sugar! LOL.

  2. Those are good goals and don’t be too hard on yourself. June isn’t over yet!

  3. thank you for doing this update beth! it makes me think of my goals and it makes me realize other people are not perfect either. what a great support system we are to eachother-no?
    have a great day and keep working away on your goals-you are doing great!

  4. Your oats look so good! Of course, it doesn’t hurt that the vita looks like a cookie on top…

  5. I keep wanting to try an Asian pear, but the expense scares me!

    I am doing okay with goals so far. I still have to complete some, but making progress.

  6. Great list of goals, you can do it!! 🙂

    I love overnight oats, I keep meaning to make them and always forget the night before, lol.

    Jenn

  7. I saw you post on Healthy Tipping Point. I like what I’ve seen on your blog. I am starting my WW journey today (today was my first meeting). I know it’s all about baby steps….and I hope that one day I can say that I have an 80 pound weight loss.

    • Thanks for stopping by! WW is the best program, in my opinion. Good luck and let me know if you have any questions! I hope you find some ideas on here for recipes. If I can do it, ANYONE can. I know that’s so cliche, but its so true.

Leave a Reply

