• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Not Alone After All

Can you believe it’s already Wednesday afternoon?? Crazy. I usually feel like the week drags by after a conference since I work all weekend, but not today! I almost forgot how long my oats hold me over when I add a little protein powder. I was full until after 1pm, so over 4 hours, without a snack! Love it.

Lunch was sometime you’ve seen before, and so, so good.

This monstroncity of a salad had:

  • 2 cups greens (romaine + radicchio)  (0 pts)
  • Grape tomatoes (0 pts)
  • 1/2 cup corn (1 pt)
  • 1/2 cup black beans (1 pt)
  • 1 oz RF Cheddar (1 pt)
  • 1/4 very small avocado (1 pt)
  • 1 serving baked tostitos (2 pts)
  • 2 lime wedges (0 pts)

It was AWESOME. Loaded with tons of veggies and protein, this salad had only 6 pts and was really fun to eat and delicious. I tasted it at first and it was a little bland, and then I remembered the lime wedges. Once I squeezed those over the salad, it really popped and made a huge difference in flavor!

What low cal additions do you like to make to food that add a ton of flavor? I love lemon and lime, vinegar (rice wine, balsamic, white, apple cider), garlic, and fresh herbs!

So time for another highlight from my trip to OKC. On Thursday night (the night my computer died), I had dinner by myself at this cute little restaurant called Nonna’s. It was probably the best meal of my whole trip, and I got to sit outside on the roof top. The weather outside was perfect and I brought along a book and really enjoyed my whole meal. Sometimes its nice to be by yourself and just relax and enjoy being alone! I ended up getting a Strawberry Salad which had candied pecans, sliced radishes, FRIED goat cheese, strawberries, and spinach.

It was divine. It came with a black pepper balsamic which I got on the side and used sparingly. For my main course, I got an appetizer that was a mango, avocado, and crab stack.

It was awesome! The crab was actually crab remoulade, and I would have preferred if it was just lump crab, but this is definitely something I want to recreate at home. It was really tasty and pretty to look at. Plus, the flavors went together sooo well.

My waitress gave me a basket of bread with the salad, and I had one piece and then pushed the bread bowl to the side of my table so I wouldn’t eat anymore. After I finished my salad, I started reading while I waited for my main course, and the guy at the table next to me started saying something. I looked up to see this

Birds! I was so glad to have my camera handy and the jumped into my bread bowl and started eating the rolls.

How funny is that!? I didn’t end up having dinner alone after all!

20 Responses

  1. Your Taco Salad looks so good!
    My favorite low calorie item to add to food is Hot Sauce. We have 4-5 different kinds of hot sauces in our house and I put it on almost everything!

  2. That’s cute!

    I love adding croutons to salad. It adds about 30-50 calories but it’s worth it for the salty crunch!

  3. I saw this and laughed- because you weren’t kidding with the southwestern theme!

    And I had a simplified version of your salad today for lunch as well (minute the tortilla chips and lime). Great minds think alike. 😉

  4. That bird invasion is hilarious!

  5. that taco salad looks soooooo good! love the lime juice idea. i’ll definitely give that a try. i can’t believe i’m salivating after being COMPLETELY full from my huge salad at lunch.

    • i am the same way lol. ill see something on someone elses blog and get hungry all over again. thank god for snacks. 🙂

  6. I can’t believe those birds!!

  7. The birds are so cute!

    I love southwestern style salads.

    I looove a good balsamic vinegar on salads.

  8. I love Southwest salads! Especially the avacado addition. Yummmm.

  9. Your salad looks very yummy! I love southwest salads. Now I want some guacamole!! I like using limes and hot sauce for extra flavor.

  10. I’m glad you had a good trip! That salad looks epic – I’m gonna have something like that for dinner mmmm (:

    And those birds are too cute!! lol

  11. those birds hit the jackpot!!!! ❤

    omg i would marry your salads if i could.. not creepy at all right… lol

  12. I am now inspired to go make a monstrous salad like yours! Yummm! Cute little birdie 🙂

  13. Wow, that bean fiesta salad looks AMAZING! So does the salad with the goat cheese and that stack of crab! Excellent, excellent eats. 🙂

    Jenn

  14. yea soy yogurt isnt too bad. honestly tho each company makes them taste SO different. ive had both good and great… and then bad and disgusting. usually sticking to well known brands that make soy yogurt is the best option.. i think its the smaller companies that seem to have the strangest tastes lol

  15. I used to live for homemade whole wheat croutons on my salad – but now all I need is a few raisins and some sliced raw almonds and I’m good to go! Also, adding a crunch with some super crispy celery so makes up for days where croutons are no where to be found!

    I’m so inspired to make more huge salads for lunches, tomorrow will be my 2nd one evah! Have a good day girl!

Leave a Reply

