• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

On Track

Hiya! I’m going to make this a quick one because it is already almost 11pm! The day slipped away but I was 100% on track for the first time in a while and it feels great to end my day with that sentiment. That salad kept me full for a while and was so tasty, definitely something I will make again. In the afternoon I had fruit for a snack. First, some cherries.

And then a fuji apple right before leaving work.

Fujis are my favorite, so crispy and delicious. And I loooove cherries, but can’t even tell you the last time I had any. They are always so expensive, but I got them on sale for $2.44/pound at the store yesterday, which is cheap for DC!

After work, I struggled with myself but ended up getting in an awesome workout. I wanted to do weights and went upstairs to the gym in my apartment building for what felt like the first time in ages. I did some free weights for my biceps and triceps, and then did the machines for my back, shoulder, and chest. I did 3 sets of 15 reps of everything, and it took about 20 minutes in total. When I first got there, only one person was on the treadmill and there were 2 ellipticals and 2 treadmills available. By the time I finished doing the weights, people had come and gotten on both of the open treadmills AND both of the ellipticals. I decided to come downstairs to my apartment and maybe go for a run or a bikeride, or else do a workout video.

I ended up forcing myself to go outside for a run, and it was HARD. It was my first time running outside in a while, and I just felt it from the first step. I set out to do 3 miles, but I ended up going 4. It took me 39:52 and I did exactly 4.0 miles, so a 9:58 average pace. The first two miles were a lot faster than the second two, and i was really struggling to mak it through the run. I thought I learned my lesson the last time I went too long between runs outside, but apparently not. After I got home, I felt realllly good and was so happy I made myself do 4.0. It’s always a little dangerous for me to come back to my apartment mid workout because my couch usually calls my name, but I’m so glad I made myself go.

After my run, I made myself a quick snack because I was hungry. I bought these veggie dogs at the grocery store:

And had heard good things. They have 45 calories and 0 grams of fat per hotdog (1 pt), so I heated one up in the microwave and rolled it up in a flatout wrap (1 pt) with som melted reduced fat cheese (1 pt).

I smothered it in some reduced sugar ketchup (0 pts, 5 calories per tbsp)

And rolled it up and ate it. It was so good for a quick 3 pt snack! I was meeting my boyfriend for a quick dinner at Chef Geoff Tysons but knew I couldn’t wait until then to eat something. When I got to the restaurant, I decided to keep it really light, and ordered the Shrimp Wonton Soup, with a baby lettuce salad. The salad came with blue cheese (2 pts) and berry vinaigrette, which I ordered on the side and just used a tiny bit of (1 pt).

I also got the Shrimp Wonton Soup, which was delicious. I’m guessing that had 5 points, but that’s just an estimate.

It had 3 shrimp wontons and some greens and mushrooms in the broth. It was chilly in the restaurant and was just what I wanted.

So today was an awesome day in terms of being on track. I had 13 pts at work + 3 snack + 8 dinner which is 24, my exact daily target. I also got a great workout in, so I am feeling great about now.

I hope you had an awesome day too! Be back manana.

7 Responses

  1. Yay for getting such a nice workout today! I love how challenging weights are, and how you can almost always feel the burn the next day – and shoot, running 4 miles? That’s so great! Congrats on meeting your daily point target, that must feel awesome hitting it spot on!

  2. wow 45 calories for that veggie dog… hmm id be tempted to eat them all lol…

    i love wonton soups! the ones ive had, had a nice kind of crunchy filling inside.. not sure if its meat or whatever they put in it but its so delicious!

  3. Awesome job on the workout! I struggle a lot with going when I get home from work, but it feels so amazing once the workout is done! Sometimes the couch totally wins for me too!

  4. Way to go!

  5. Beth the Smart Dog looks yummy!
    Thanks for posting the POINTS for your food!
    Great resource!
    I know how good it feels to have A DAY that you stay on TRACK!
    xo

  6. how do you find the energy to post at 11pm, i just say oh well later gators!

    i’m working on eating even less of the processed foods like smart dogs and just stinking to beans, etc…but some days they really just sound good!

  7. I should try those wraps. Regular buns and hoagie rolls are so high in calories.

Leave a Reply

