• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Fro Yo Kind of Day

What a gorgeous day outside! It feels like such a sin to be inside today, but you gotta do what you gotta do to get paid…

Today’s lunch was simple but delicious.

  • 1 flatout wrap (1 pt)
  • 2 cups romaine (0 pt)
  • 1/2 cup chickpeas (1 pt)
  • 2.5 tbsp cherry craisins (1 pt)

I then doused the whole wrap in Organic German Mustard (0 pts).

It was so huge that I couldn’t even make it into a wrap, it was more like a giant taco. I don’t think I looked that cute while eating it because of the size factor, but it was goood. The cherry flavored craisins are something new I picked up at the store the other day and added a really nice flavor to the wrap. 1/3 of a cup of them is 2 pts, but that is a LOT of craisins for this purpose, so 1/2 of that was just fine. On the side, I had 1 serving of RF white cheddar cheese (1pt), a cup of grape tomatoes (0 pts), and some baby carrots (0 pts).

I was originally planning on putting the cheese inside of the wrap, but decided the wrap had enough going on without it, ate ate the cheese with the tomatoes instead. Good decision. This lunch was really satisfying and packed with a good mix of veggies, carbs, and protein, and clocked in at just 4 points.

For an afternoon snack, my department went to Yogen Fruz for a frozen yogurt outing to celebrate my boss’s birthday. It is the perfect day for frozen yogurt, so I was happy we decided to do that instead of the regular ice cream cake/cheesy poof birthday celebrations that usually go on around here. I got a small nonfat green tea frozen yogurt with mochi.

It was sooo good. I’m telling you, if you like green tea ice cream, check Yogen Fruz’s website to see if there’s one near you. It tastes exactly the same and is nonfat! Soooo good.ย What are your favorite toppings for fro yo? I love mochi even though it doesn’t have much flavor, the texture does it for me. I also love dark chocolate shavings, raspberries, kiwis, and just about any fruit.

Tonight I have a reception for work that I’m kind of nervous for. There’s an open bar (beer/wine) and passed horsย d’oeuvres. After the reception, I may or may not stay for dinner, but I always have a really hard time being good at these types of functions. I usually have a glass of wine (or 3) and all my good intentions go out the window sip by sip. Do you have any tips for staying on track at work receptions where there is alcohol involved?

11 Responses

  1. That wrap look so good. And now I want some frozen yogurt. Too bad I work 9-5, drive through rush hour, and then have class 6-10. Kill me!!

  2. Hey Beth,

    Sorry long time no comment. Frozen yogurt sounds so delicious right now. Actually, I started a blog myself (I even mention you). If you want to check it out, it’s called Katie’s Way to Healthy Living and the website is:
    http://katieswaytohealthy.blogspot.com/

    I’m not sure how to create a blog roll yet…

  3. I am very proud of myself for craving that cheese/tomato/carrot plate, especially since I just got done gazing into a block with a big hunk of cake on it.

    • It was soooo good! I wrapped the cheese around the tomatoes. yum yum yum. cake is pretty good too though… ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I think knowing that you typically have problems at social functions like these is half the battle! You are aware, so prepare yourself ahead of time and make the effort to make smart decisions. I don’t drink but I like to treat myself to a diet coke or something. That way my hands are occupied and I am not overly tempted to nosh aimlessy and then I don’t feel pressure to drink alcohol. Make sense? Just go feel it out and if you don’t want to stay for dinner then don’t! You can do it! Keep us posted!

  5. I don’t think drinking at work functions is ever a good idea. You never know what might happen! I suggest drinking tonic water that looks like a vodka tonic. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Ahh this is probably my #1 downfall. I absolutely, positively LOVE wine and it’s hard for me to turn it down when it’s being offered. Unfortunately for me, one glass easily turns into two….turns into three….and like you said, good intentions slowly but surely float out the window.

    You would think after studying the metabolism of alcohol I would stop drinking it, but alas, I simply love Cabernet too much!

    Would love to hear others’ advice on staying on track with booze present (especially with all the summer BBQs)!! Good idea for a blog post….

  7. I think a fro yo day is a good day. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I never have drank alcohol so that is my excuse, sorry I am not of any help.

  8. Haha – I SO know what you mean about how lame it feels to be inside on such nice days, I admit I’ve had days where I longed to be a construction worker – just for a day…

    I have yet to try froyo! Can you believe it? Well, I had it once in Mexico, but didn’t add anything to it ’cause I used to think that plain yogurt shouldn’t have toppings ’cause toppings = fat + sugar. But nowadays we attack our homemade froyo with muesli, raw oats, almonds, raisins, and the hubby likes to put a few pieces of bite sized dark chocolate in his.

    Happy Friday!!!

  9. Cranberries and chickpeas? I might have to try that!

Leave a Reply

