• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Frozen Berry Oatmeal

Morning! Today is hoootttttt outside, even before 9am. They are saying its going to get up into the 80s so a walk outdoors at lunch time is going to be completely necessary. Breakfast today wasn’t terribly exciting, but it was delicious. I had cold oats, but this time topped them with frozen Very Cherry Blend from Trader Joe’s. It has cherries, blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries, and a cup has 90 calories, no fat, and 5 grams of fiber, so 1 pt.

A few people have sent me emails or left comments saying they’d love to try these oats, but never remember to put it together the night before. I actually almost NEVER make these the night before, just the morning of. I used to pack my lunches at night but recently out of pure laziness have started doing it in the mornings. I just add all the ingredients, mix it up, and in the end it sits for about an hour before I eat it from transporting it to work. I use slightly less liquid (the amount below) than if I were to make true overnight oats because there’s less time for the oats to soak up the liquid, but it turns out almost exactly the same if you do it the same day. So, bottom line, you don’t have to plan too far ahead to have these!

I know it doesn’t look that pretty, but it was awesome. The frozen berries were out of the freezer for about an hour so they softened up a bit and added a ton of flavor throughout the bowl.

Into the mix went:

  • 2 tbsp scottish oats (1 pt)
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats (1 pt)
  • 1/2 cup light soy milk (.5 pts)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds (1 pt)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1 cup frozen Very Cherry Blend (1pt)

One of the highlights of this breakfast for me was I got to eat it with a new spoon!

This picture doesn’t do justice to how cute and tiny this spoon is, but I had been on the hunt for little spoons for months! I first saw them on Kath’s blog, and I love the idea of eating with a tiny utensil because you get more bites. I found a set of 4 of these for 6.99 at HomeGoods.

One of the main struggles that I have with healthy eating is that I tend to inhale my food. I try to be mindful of it and slow myself down when I think about it, but my food is always gone relatively quickly. This spoon actually did help me slow down a bit, but the bowl was still gone pretty quickly.  I think if I ate slower I would eat less and be more successful at getting to my goal weight.

Some tricks I’ve heard about slowing yourself down are:

  1. Put your fork/spoon down between bites
  2. Drink water between bites
  3. Use chopsticks to eat

Do you have any other tips for slowing down? What is the thing you struggle with the most in terms of healthy eating?

11 Responses

  1. My biggest struggle is portion sizes. I always take too much, and then eat all of it, and then regret it later. To combat this I’ve started using slightly smaller plates, and most of the time let my hubby dish everything out. He is aware of my “problem” and will give me a normal serving amount rather than the massive amount I would take.
    I also inhale my food at times – especially if it’s one of my favorite things! No cure for that yet though – I just try to focus on savoring each bite & that seems to slow me down a little bit.

    • Portion control was a big struggle for me, and continues to be if I don’t measure stuff. But, since I pack my own breakfast/lunch, I always measure stuff out so I can just use all of what I have and not have to worry about eating too much!

  2. Eating slower would help me greatly… because then I don’t go back for more and screw up my portion sizes!

    I try to be more mindful by sitting at my actual table to eat. And it always helps to eat around others- you become much more aware of HOW MUCH you’re eating.

  3. what a cute and fancy spoon!

    yea i really want to make ur overnight oats.. god to hear that its really not necessary to remember to put them out the night before!! ❤

  4. Aww I love little spoons. It just ups the cuteness factor :).

  5. i love that spoon!

    I actually eat really slow. I’m usually the last person to finish, which is weird because I used to be a fast eater. For me what slowed me down was focusing on and enjoying my food. Being mindful really slows ya down. Also I drink a lot when I eat so I usually drink between every couple of bites. 🙂

  6. i eat very fast too…..love your spoon 🙂 happy thursday!

  7. My biggest struggle is eating in the same fashion as the people with whom I’m eating. My parents often go back for seconds on bread, etc., and they always have desserts, so when I’m with them, I eat like them. I have to be mindful of my own needs when eating with different people!

  8. I eat way too fast too. I need to try your tips.

  9. The best way I slow down is eating with someone. I try my best not to eat alone, that way I talk and so that helps me go slower and feel my fullness cues! Hoep this helps!

  10. I have those spoons too! Got them on Amazon.com. I love using them for yogurt messes and oats 🙂 They’re just so darn cute.

    Amanda (WannaBe Chef)
    http://amsterwill83.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

