• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Chocolate Banana Frosting

Good morning and TGIF! I am soooo ready for the weekend, just have to get through today! Last night was really fun at the reception, but I didn’t end up doing THAT well with not drinking/healthy eating, though I didn’t bomb it either. It really helps not eating meat because they passed around a bunch of hors d’oeuvre that had meat on them, so I easily passed those up. I had two jumbo cocktail shrimp and two mini crab cakes from the passed appetizers. To drink, I had two glasses of Malbec and two vodka sodas, a bit more than I was intending. After the reception was over, a few of us finished our last drink at the bar and the waitress brought over some cheese and bread. I didn’t snap a picture, but there was some blue cheese, brie cheese, and a semi soft white cheese that I’m not sure what it was. It was all delicious and a nice treat!

This morning I woke up and was craving one thing… pancakes! Chiacakes to be exact. I altered the recipe slightly to make it a little less pointy, and had 3 perfect pancakes with chocolate banana frosting!

Into the batter went:

  • 2 tbsp flax pancake mix (1 pt)
  • 2 tbsp rolled oats (.5 pts)
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (.5 pts)
  • 2 tbsp egg whites (0 pts)
  • 1/4 cup light soy milk (.5 pts)

So 3.5 points for 3 pancakes!

Then, to make the frosting, I heated up 1/2 small banana (1 pt) with 2 tbsp soy milk for 30 seconds in the microwave.

The bananas got soft, so I mashed them with a knife and added 1/2 tsp cocoa powder (0 pts). It turned into a thick chocolatey banana frosting. If you wanted it to be thinner, you can add a bit more milk, but I liked it thick! I spread some on each on the chia cakes, and got ready to feast on a delicious breakfast.

Soooooo good. I haven’t had pancakes in a while, so these really hit the spot! This frosting can be used for a lot of things, and it’s just 1 pt for all of it! Yum. So the total breakfast was 4.5 points, and super filling. I want more only because they were so good, not because I’m still hungry.

What are you looking forward to most this weekend? I have a bachelorette tomorrow night in Atlantic City. One of my best friends is getting married in less than two months, so we’re going all out to celebrate!

13 Responses

  1. Yum – that looks so good. Must try…

  2. id love to try this with carob too!! very clever !!

    omg bachelorette night! cant wait til someone i know gets married. id love to help throw one 🙂

  3. I would love to give carob a try too!! this chocolate frosting looks so yummy!

  4. Oh yum…those look great! Have fun this weekend…bachelorette parties are always a good time! hehe!

  5. Vodka sodas are my favorite! The sweetness in Sprite was really starting to get to me before I switched it up…

  6. oh my goodness that banana chocolate frosting looks fantastic! I’m planning on my first pancake morning tomorrow, and I’m definitely going to give that frosting a try 😀 Have a great weekend, girl!

    I’m looking forward to picking up my hubby from the airport in the morning on Sat – haven’t seen him since last Sunday and I’m ’bout to cry me a river of sadness… So happy he’s coming home!

  7. I need to get me some chia seeds. And what a great idea with the frosting.

    I’m getting my hair cut and colored this weekend for the first time in almost a year, eep! I’m excited and nervous.

    Have fun in AC!

  8. have a great time with you friends! i am gonna relax and ride my bike! can’t wait 🙂

  9. Bachelorette parties are always fun!

    and that chocolate frosting topping, oh yum! Must try that.

  10. Wow, that breakfast looks excellent. I am making it tomorrow morning. Great idea for the frosting!!!

  11. mmm your pancakes look more delish each time you make them! have fun at the bachelorette 🙂

  12. I am soooo going to get my boyfriend to make these this weekend for me! Thanks!

  13. […] looks like it leaves something to be desired, but it was delicious, I promise. I had made these once before, but this time I put banana in the pancakes as well as in the […]

Leave a Reply

