• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Alive and Well

Hello! Sorry I’ve disappeared yet again for a few days, but I promise I’m alive and well. This weekend was SO fun and incredible, celebrating my best friend’s bachelorette. What happens in AC stays in AC for the most part, but I thought I’d share a few pictures with you!

We all wore LBD (little black dresses) and some got the memo for neon shoes! 🙂 This was us about to get on the elevator to dinner. We went to Wolfgang Puck’s restaurant in the Borgata, which was incredible. Here we all are at the dinner table:

Here’s me with the Bachelorette:

Me rocking my bachelorette pin:

And then at the end of the night at the club.

Photos stop there.

It was soooo much fun and really great to be reunited with all of my college friends. It had been over a year since we were all together… far too long! As far as trying to be healthy on the trip, I sort of let it go because I think it’s important to let go and have fun for certain special occasions, like a bachelorette party for one of your best friends. I ate healthy during the day on the way to Altantic City, having a Egg White flatbread from Dunkin Donuts and plenty of iced coffee. Lunch was a salad from the food court with spinach, mozzarella, avocado, and chickpeas, and then dinner was lots of bread and pasta to have a good base for a night of drinking and fun.

I got back pretty late on Sunday, and then yesterday was at an offsite event for work all day, so I wasn’t by a computer at all to blog and check in. I am back to normal now though, and recommitting myself to hardcore healthiness until the wedding so that I can look and feel my best in my bridesmaid dress. This morning was boring but much needed frozen berry oats:

These had:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats (1.5 pts)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (.5 pts)
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1/2 cup light soy milk (.5 pts)
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries (1 pt)

It’s funny how it can be so refreshing to go back to your normal routine once you have a crazy weekend of traveling and going out. Even though I have this breakfast quite frequently, I was so happy when I was putting it together this morning and even happier when I was eating it. I didn’t bring a lunch today so I’m going to have to run out and get something, but I plan to be back on track with eating, cooking, and exercise, starting today.

Have you ever been to a bachelorette/bachelor party or did you have one if you’re already married? What did you do?  If you’re not yet married, what do you think you’d want to do for it?

20 Responses

  1. haha the last pic @ the end of the night @ the club is my fav- totally shows what a blast it was!!!

    i love how all you ladies are in sexy black dresses- always wanted to go to an event like that. or a bachelorette party in general!!

    xoxo

  2. It’s looks like you had a great weekend with your college buddies! I’m impressed that you were able to make some healthy food choices too! It’s always difficult trying to eat healthy when you’re traveling or on vacation. And I agree… it is nice to let go and have fun once in a while too 🙂

    • I completely agree. I feel like if you try to be too strict all of the time, you will eventually crack and just fall off the wagon for a lot longer than one night.

  3. All the bachelorette parties I have been to so far have been pretty tame.

    My wedding is coming up in October and I’m a little nervous about what my friends are going to do. But its all about having fun and celebrating, but I am NOT wearing a veil with male genitalia attached. Foot down on that one 🙂

    Looks like you had a blast!

    • Yaya ours was pretty tame in comparison to what it could have been, and it was sooooo fun. I’m sure you’re friends will plan something fabulous for you!

  4. I’ve had a pretty good time at most of the bachelorettes I’ve attended (I think it’s been 4?). It’s always great because it really is an excuse to meet up with old friends! Glad you had fun… 🙂

  5. FUN!! Looks like you guys had a great time and I love the LBD idea too.

    I’m not married yet. The BF and I have chatted previous about having one of those combined Bachelorette/Bachelor parties. I like the idea of that a lot.

    • I’ve never been to one of those before but I think that’s an awesome idea. That way you don’t have to worry about what happens there, either. 🙂

  6. You ladies are beautiful!

  7. GREAT photos-you looks amazing! LOVE all the black dresses!

  8. You seem to have the most fun, looks like a blast!

  9. You look great! Glad you had a nice time.

    I’m not married yet, but for my bachelorette party I’d like to do something relaxing…like a spa day!

  10. For my bachelorette, we went to a winery and my girls brought all kinds of yummy snacks for the wine tasting…then we went out to dinner later on in the evening and had a fun sleepover 🙂

  11. I love how you’re like, photos stop here haha. Yeah they tend to get messy as the night goes on. Love the Borgata!

  12. I have this theory that I refuse to “plan” my wedding until I actually have a wedding to plan. I won’t look at bridal magazines, I won’t daydream about destination weddings… it’s just this superstition that I have! LOL 🙂

  13. HAHAHA Beth!! I seem to remember having an identical photo of you and Jess (the last one) from Miami..love you so much!

  14. love love love the lbd idea!! the ladies really rocked the neon shoes…so fun.

    i like the idea of bach. parties. i do NOT like the idea of jack and jill parties when the bachelor and bachelorette combine them!

Leave a Reply

