• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Maoz x2

Hello! Dreary afternoon here in DC but its good weather for getting a lot of work done. I ended up going back to Maoz for lunch today and had Emily and Kara from work come with me. This place is pretty lifechanging for lunch if you’re looking for somewhere to get an awesome and reasonable meal! You can read about my first time here which has a lot more pictures and shows the whole salad bar with the steps along the way. I loved my lunch there last time so much that I got pretty much the same thing again – the falafel salad bowl with eggplant and hummus as add ins, and then topped it with tons of the fresh salads from the salad bar.

The salad bowl had:

  • Falafel
  • Hummus
  • Eggplant
  • Greens
  • Carrot Salad
  • Beet Salad
  • Chickpea Salad
  • Veggie Salad
  • Cauliflower + Broccoli
  • Red Cabbage Salad
  • Tabouli Salad

I also got a carrot juice on the side, which was just OK. I liked it, but it was literally just carrots (which is what I ordered) so it was a little blah. Next time I’ll probably get a mix of carrot, orange, and apple instead of just carrot.

This place was just as good as the first time. It is so fresh and so many options, and I love that you can load up your bowl or sandwich with tons and tons of different fresh salads and they don’t weight it afterwards to charge you more. It is definitely a little filling and both times I was planning on saving some for later, but it was just so good I could not stop. I am feeling pretty full now so don’t think an afternoon snack is in my future.

So I have one more thing to share about my trip to Oklahoma City at the beginning of June. On Sunday night, we had a reception at the Oklahoma City Museum of Art. This museum has the largest comprehensive collection of Dale Chihuly Glass anywhere in the world. I am not much of an art person, but this was AWESOME. He basically blows glass into different sculptures and shapes and it’s pretty incredible to look at. Here’s a few photos from inside the gallery.

And then my absolute favorite part, which was a glass ceiling that had tons of different blown glass sculptures on top of it. This was the view from below looking up at the ceiling.

How cool is that!?

Are you into art? What’s your favorite way to enjoy it – a museum, an art class, photography, etc?

12 Responses

  1. What great photos – such bright colours in them all – love them!

    I love carrot & orange juice, really refreshing when it’s ice cold 🙂

    Going to have a potter through your journal, if you don’t mind!

  2. theyve got such fresh and vibrant food!!! omg but speaking of vibrant, that artwork is totally cool!! wow!! its like jelly fish in an ocean but all rainbow colored lol

    I LOVE ART! painting, drawing, etc. even tho im not good at it, its still great to practice and refine.

    photography was always a passion of mine.. but ive let it slip. i dont like digital photography tho.. thats prolly why i detest my blog food photo skills haha

  3. I love art! Looks like you found an awesome museum. A few months ago, we went to an Art Car Museum in Houston – it was so cool to see art ON the cars!

  4. Sooo great that you got to see some Chihuly – I had no idea that he had such an extensive collection in Oklahoma. When I was visiting Seattle, there were Chihuly installations everrrywheereee (he’s from Washington). I’m not much of an art buff, but my boyfriend is a glass blower so I know a little something about glass. Love the photos!

  5. So happy you’re back to the blogging world! And that salad looks fantastic filling wonderfully tasty.

    I am in love with art, a fellow blogger actually motivated me to start posting some of my stuff! I love painting muchp! and those glass sculptures are gorgeous! There’s a hotel in Las Vegas with a beauuutiful cieling covered in glass sculptures just like the photo you have! I couldnt stop looking at it, seriously takes your breath away when you’re right under it 🙂

  6. what a delicious looking salad! and carrot juice. i love it, just without ginger. once i had a fresh carrot juice with far too much in it, and it made my throat burn. :s
    i love art, especially through photography and portraiture! i’ve shot some couples/engagements, pregnancy, newborn, children, family, sport, high school senior, and equestrian photography and i also love food photography. oh who am i kidding.. i love any photography! 😀

  7. That absolutely looks like my kind of salad! I have some friends moving to the D.C. area in the fall so perhaps I will have to visit and go there!

  8. I’d love to have those kinds of options. The cabbage really caught my eye. I always forget how much I love the crunch it adds to dishes.

  9. wow that is just beautiful. i find blown glass so mesmorizing, i mean HOW do they do it!? ha.

    i do like art…because like most things it’s all personal. what i like is different from what you like and so on and so forth. a few weekends ago my bf and i were sitting in a coffee shop looking at the local art work they used to decorate. we thought to ourselves, “we could totallllly do that.” so we did. we went to michaels bought canvas and acrylic paint and created “masterpeices”. seriously SO fun and now i have artwork in my hallway!

  10. I love art museums. Sadly I myself am not creative and have no artistic talent. At least I can enjoy and appreciate the talent of others! 🙂

    That salad place looks amazing. I must try it next time I’m in DC. I’m overdue for a visit!

  11. I’ve seen some of his work in a museum in Florida. It is insanely gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

