• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

I Did It!

Hey! I am happy to report that I followed through and ran home from work today for the first time! Not gonna lie, it was ROUGH. I got outside and could not believe how humid it was out. There were many, many times during the run where I thought about stopping and came so close to walking, but I just slowed down and kept on going. I got slightly lost on the run and had to turn around, but after I figured out where I was going and finally made it to the Mount Vernon Trail (where I do most of my running) I knew that if I walked it would just take me longer to get home.

When the run was over, I ended up doing just over 4.5 miles in about 45-50 minutes. I didn’t have my Garmin with me, but I did use this app called Cardio Trainer on my droid which kept track of my distance/calories burned. I didn’t turn it on until I had been going a little while, but it says I went 4.3 miles in 44 minutes, and burned 567 calories. I know that’s just an estimate based on my age/weight/height, but I can use it for comparison when I do more runs without my Garmin. When I made it home, I was sooo red and so sweaty since it was extremely humid outside, and my face stayed red long after my shower. But, I did it. I’m so happy! 🙂

While today’s run was not ideal, I now know where I’m going and plan to try to run home from work sometimes because it’s great to get home and already be done working out! Also, I think 4.5-5 miles is the perfect distance to do for a run 1x a week or so, but it’ll just depend on how humid it is because I don’t really want to run outside again when the air is as heavy as it was today.

After I got home, I met a friend from high school, Erika, for dinner. We found out while chatting today that she actually works extremely close to where I live in Crystal City! She walks by my elevator daily and didn’t realize that’s where I lived – so hopefully we’ll be getting together more often. We went to a Mexican Restaurant that has a great happy hour, and I didn’t eat as healthy as I would have if I was eating at home, but it wasn’t that bad either. I started off with a “small” frozen margarita:

Which was actually pretty huge. I also had a vodka soda later in the night but limited myself to one margarita. Plus, it was a special occassion because I hadn’t seen Erika in ages even though we live in the same town. We housed some chips + salsa while chatting, so I decided to go light with my meal since I ate too many chips, and ordered the veggie fajitas.

I was actually really impressed with them! I asked for no sour cream and extra pico de gallo instead, and I ate one flour tortilla plus lots of veggies + pico de gallo. I ended up bringing the leftovers home because I overdid it on chips. While not ideal, I feel like at Mexican restaurants I usually overdo it on chips and then overdo it on my meal too, so this time I went for moderate overdoing instead… baby steps, right?

Anyways, I am very happy that I toughed it through my run even though there were lots of excuses that I was coming up with to stop. I think I finally got myself out of the rut I was in and feel like I can move forward being healthy. I don’t have too many other distractions coming up, besides going away for Father’s Day this weekend, but I think I can still be pretty healthy and avoid drinking too much, while fitting in at least one workout over the weekend. I plan to try to go to Bikram tomorrow if I can make it after work, or else go for a bike ride or another run, but definitely some sort of good workout.

I hope you all had a great Hump Day! Be back tomorrow!

14 Responses

  1. Good job on powering through that run!

  2. Great work! I ran after work today in Old Town and it was THICK! I did end up walk/running but it was still great to get out there. Go you! And you did really well at the mexi place I’d say!

  3. YES! way to push through girl!

    and im just as impressed as you are with that meal!!! ❤ wow!

  4. Congrats on getting a great run in the morning! I can’t imagine what everyone (in the blog world, at least) is going through with all the heat. We’re still in rain + mini-sun breaks. And your Mexican meal choice: fantastic. I’ve found it to be slightly easy to make a meal healthy @ any Mexi place: no sour cream, no cheese (or just a little) and muchos veggies, perfect.

    PS: raisins in overnight oats – soo do it! 🙂 Happy almost Thursday almost Friday!

  5. & by run in the morning I mean run after work 😀 haha

  6. those strips of veggies look SO good! Running in the heat is no easy task!

  7. You are badass!! I got too hott simply walking to the gym there is no way I could run in this humidity!!

    And sometimes you need the margarita especially to cool off after that run. I also think Mexican restaurants spike the chips because no one can ever eat one! Kath had a post about how she’d only eat certain shaped chips which helped her from overindulging.

  8. Great job on the run! I think 4 miles is a good overall distance to run. Good workout, but doesn’t take forever, you know?

  9. Congrats on sticking to your workout plan, Beth! I also managed to get back on track yesterday by taking my Zumba class 🙂

    That mexican dinner looks fantastic, by the way, and now I’m totally hankering for a margarita, haha.

  10. That is AWESOME! I am so proud of you for sticking with it and running home! I can only imagine how hot it was!

  11. I love that you ran home from work! I wish I could do something like that! …but I live 18 miles from work…and even if I was up for an 18miler I would have to run thru a pretty scary part of town.

    p.s. I’m totally jealous of that margarita!

  12. Did you leave all your stuff at work? Or carry a backpack when you ran home?

    • I knew I was going to run home so I planned accordingly and just bought a little backpack with a few essentials and my running clothes. I left my work clothes at work yesterday (will bring them home today) but just had my metro card, my debit card, keys, and camera so it was easy fitting it in my backpack for the run home.

  13. You saw Erika?! I’m sooo jealous!! I seriously am going to have to come down there and visit.

Leave a Reply

