• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Oaty

Morning and happy hump day! It is only Wednesday but I am sooooo ready for the weekend. I am feeling so beat since I’ve just been going, going, going basically since Memorial Day weekend. I was away in Oklahoma City for the first weekend in June, so worked 13 hour days both days, and then this past weekend went to a bachelorette on Saturday and came back Sunday, not getting much sleep either night…

With that, I’m struggling a bit with my healthy lifestyle. I woke up yesterday with the best of intentions and had a healthy breakfast and lunch, and then was planning on working out and cooking dinner. I even got in my workout clothes and was going to go out for a run, but I just couldn’t make myself go. I laid down on the bed but didn’t go to sleep and just lost all motivation to get out and didn’t end up going. I did end up doing some Bikram postures on my own so stretched a bit and got my heart rate up a little, but it was by no means the workout my body was craving.

It’s so easy to let two days turn off into three and then into four, but today it has to stop. I brought my running clothes with me to work and plan to run home from work, which should be about 5 miles.

Breakfast today was hot oats, for the first time in ages! When I was browsing around my kitchen this morning I spotted the Bob’s Red Mill Scottish Oats in my pantry and thought about eating them hot and got excited because I seriously cannot even remember the last time I’ve eaten hot oats since I discovered overnight oats, so today was the day.

I used:

  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup scottish oats (2 pts)
  • 2 tbsp egg whites (0 pts)

I’d never used egg whites in oats before, but wanted to add a little natural protein (not protein powder) so decided to give it a go. I boiled the water, then added the oats, then stirred in the egg whites a few minutes later. The oats had to cook for 10 minutes in total, and they turned out really fluffy.

I wanted to dress them up a bit, so I used 1 tbsp unsweetened carob chips (.5 pts) and 1 tbsp unsweetened coconut flakes (.5 pts). I put the oats into the microwave with the carob chips to get them a bit melty, and I put it in for way too long so the oats sort of boiled over the chips and almost exploded. I ended up just mixing the carob into the oats and then putting the coconut on top.

These were really good! I find that when I use protein powder I can taste it in the oats, so I wanted to use something that would add protein but not much flavor. I couldn’t taste the egg whites at all in the oats, so we’ll see how long this bowl of oats keeps me full. I think it definitely made the texture a bit fluffier than normal, so this bowl was pretty awesome.

Questions about oats! Do you like your oats hot, cold, or both? Favorite toppings? Favorite kinds of oats? I like my oats every which way and am sad I went so long without them hot. It’s just so easy making overnight oats (or same day cold oats) that require zero cooking, so its pretty tempting to make them regularly. I love doing nut butter as a topping but have tried to limit the nut butter while I’m trying to lose more weight because it’s pretty pointy, though 1 tsp only has 1 point so maybe I’ll give it a go. I use rolled oats regularly but just got into scottish oats which have a nice creamy texture.

9 Responses

  1. Hey Beth,

    I can totally relate to not working out, even though you have the best intentions! Yesterday, I meant to go to the gym, but I just couldn’t get myself to go (and it was the second break day in a row!). But today I packed my gym clothes in the car and I am ABSOLUTELY going to my Zumba class at 6:30pm.

    I have to keep reminding myself that I am not perfect, and it’s okay as long as you keep trying.

    You are doing so awesome with your WLJ and healthy lifestyle, so be proud of your accomplishments and I’m looking forward to reading about your work out later on today or tomorrow 🙂

  2. Oh girl… oatmeal is totally my thing! 🙂 But I usually like it hot (not much of a fan of overnight oats). I always add some kind of cereal for crunch- and coconut and pb is probably one of my favorite toppings… heaven!

    And getting back into a routine is tough- I’m totally with you on that one. All my traveling that I have planned in August and September is going to be a serious challenge!

  3. I like my oatmeal hot, I really don’t care for over night oats at all.

    Good luck getting back into the swing of things. I’m sure you will. We all have moments like that.

  4. I generally like my oatmeal hot, but I LOVE overnight oats for the speedy morning factor!

  5. I love oatmeal and always like to add a little texture and sweetness to mine with some sunflower seeds, granola, dried fruit or even chocolate chips. Good luck getting back into your workout routine… I know you’ll do it! 🙂

  6. I had my quick oats this morning, actually just ate the last bite. I am still trying to figure out what combo I like, but this morning it was Raisins, Cinnamon, and Brown Sugar. It was good and sweet. I like my oats warm, but by the time I am half way through, they are cold. I eat them slowly, so they fill me up.

  7. Definitely hot! I add brown sugar and milk. I need to try raisins or chocolate chips now!

  8. Oats – hmmmm. I can’t even begin to write about all the ways I cook them. Gingerbread, carrot cake, banana with PB and J, pumpkin, even savory on occasion.

    Have you looked into PB2? That will help out with the nut butter desire.

  9. Oh man – totally know what you mean about one day turning into 2, 3, 4 with the workou thing (or lack thereof). How can we be SO GOOD sometimes and then just let it slip away from us so quickly?? I swear sometimes it just takes a single event – like a party, for instance – to throw me off my routine. Grrrr! Good luck on getting back into the swing of things tonight!!

    My favorite type of oats by far are Irish steel cut oats. I love the texture and the way they seem to pop in your mouth. Definitely worth the longer cook time. I just make a big batch and keep them in the fridge. Although I will say I have some trouble digesting oats (I usually get heart burn after I eat them) due to the gluten residue from processing, so I have to buy gluten-free oats which are def. harder to find.

Leave a Reply

