• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers

Lunch today was a new creation that you must try. 3 ingredients total – so simple, healthy, and delicious.

What you need (for one serving):

  • 1/2 cooked sweet potato (1.5 pts)
  • 1/4 cup black beans (.5 pts)
  • 1/4 cup panko breadcrumbs (1 pt)

Directions:

1.) Wash and poke holes in a sweet potato and microwave it for 5 minutes. OR use 1/2 leftover baked potato

2.) Put 1/4 cup canned beans and the sweet potato in a food processor and pulse until combined

3.) Put mixture into a bowl and add the panko crumbs.

4.) Mix until combined and form into patties.

If I was eating at home, I would have cooked them in a pan, but since I brought them with me to work, I microwaved them for 45 seconds and then threw them into the toaster. I served them open faced on a toasted arnold thin

And then added a spoonful of salsa onto each patty.

I served these with a side salad of romaine and radicchio with chopped garlic sprouts

And then leftover broccoli from the chinese restaurant

Oh my gosh, these burgers are amazing. And they take no time to prepare, especially if you have leftover sweet potato to throw in there. You probably know by now that sweet potato and black beans is one of my all time favorite combos, and I’ve just started making my own veggie burgers, so I thought why not a black bean sweet potato burger? I’m so happy I thought of this and tried it!

Total points for lunch today was 3 (burgers) + 1 (arnold thin) + 0 (salad) + 1 (broccoli – just a guess bc of the sauce which I mostly washed off) = 5

So much food for the points. You’ll definitely be seeing these burgers again, if not in your own kitchen, on here!

Happy Wednesday!

20 Responses

  1. SO CREATIVE! what a fun new twist on your fav combination (sweet potato, black beans!)

  2. That looks amazing…I must try! Thanks for the comment earlier, it’s always nice to know that someone’s in the same boat 🙂

  3. Those burgers look amazing! I’m making some black beans in the slow cooker today for tacos… looks like I know what to do with the leftovers now!

  4. Wow, those burgers look divine!! Thanks!

  5. I’m totally going to use this recipe! Looks delicious!

  6. great idea Beth! so simple yet so good …….happy hump day!

  7. I’m on some kind of veggie burger high lately! I need to make these as well – you are just always creating some awesome things!

  8. Ooh, put this in your recipes tab, I want to come back and find it later…..I can’t wait to try it!

  9. Great recipe, I love how simple yet delicious it is!

  10. Ooohhh, these sound great. I think I will make them for dinner tonight:) Can’t wait! Thanks Beth!!
    I love recipes that have just a few ingredients in them:)

  11. Look at you! That sounds fabulous!!! 🙂

  12. That looks pretty good! I want to try that.

  13. I put salsa IN the mix for mine (and use oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs). Sooo gooood.

  14. cuz whats better than sweet potatoes, black beans, or broccoli- uh DUH! all of the above together!!! ding ding ding lol ❤

  15. Love how simple those ingredients are! Fantastic idea, thank you! And I’m super jealous how perfectly round your patties always turn out. My last veggie burger patty was a complete fail, and became a veggie crumble over salad. Tasted fantastic, but I wanted a round burger-like patty.

    I will now steal your skills.

  16. Beth, I just made these burgers for lunch….they were incredible!!! I definitely feel a new lunchtime favorite coming on! Thanks =D

  17. […] up and these turned out incredible. You can see my recipes for Easy Homemade Veggie Burgers and Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers, but these may be the best ones […]

  18. […] I have quite often when I don’t have leftovers. I also made sweet potato black bean chili and sweet potato black bean burgers, both of which were […]

Leave a Reply

