• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

CSA!

Good morning and happy almost-Friday! Today is off to a great start because I went to pick up my CSA this morning and it looks great this week. In case you didn’t know, CSA stands for Community Supported Agriculture and translates to getting a box of fresh, local produce every week. Farms have a certain number of shares (farm shares) that can be purchased by the public, and this allows them to get their cash flow started early and allows them to get to know the people eating their food. As a consumer, there are tons of benefits because you get seasonal fresh produce, packed with nutrients and you know where you food is coming from. Also, you don’t get to pick what you get (like you do at a Farmer’s Market) so it forces you to try new things that you might not otherwise, which always excites me.

I signed up for the CSA a few months ago and have been looking forward to it starting ever since. I was pretty disappointed when the first week was during my time in OKC, and then last week my friend picked it up for me and it didn’t look THAT good. In fact, we haven’t even used most of the produce we got last week, but today was a new day and a new box of veggies! I set out to pick it up at 9am because its right by my house and I wanted to get first pick of the veggies and also not have them sitting in an unairconditioned room all day (which I suspect was part of the problem from last week) so I set out before work to go find the veggies.

There were tons of boxes stacked up in the room, and so I just picked out the two I was getting (one for me, and one for my friend Amber because we’re splitting a full share). One box is a half-share, and two are a full-share, so Amber and I are splitting a full share. Here’s what the box looked like:

And spread out on my counter…

This week my share had:

  • 3 heads of broccoli
  • collard greens (lots)
  • yellow squash
  • red leaf lettuce
  • a baby cilantro plant
  • beets with tops

I am really happy with this week’s share and am excited to start eating it.. tonight! I’ve never had farm fresh broccoli and I love broccoli, so that’s one of the things I’m looking forward to the most.

Breakfast today was true Overnight Oats (as in I actually made them last night for once!) and added craisins overnight. I got the ideal from Nicole because she put raisins in her overnight oats, so I decided to give it a go with craisins, and it tasted SO good! The craisins/raisins soak up a lot of the liquid so they plump up and add a nice flavor/texture to the mix. The bowl was interesting enough on its own that I didn’t even add any toppings and I’m feeling really satisfied.

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats (1.5 pts)
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (.5 pts)
  • 2 tbsp cherry craisins (1 pt)
  • 2/3 cup light soy milk (1 pt)

If you like overnight oats and haven’t ever tried adding raisins or craisins to it, DO IT! It’s so good.

Question: Have you ever done a CSA or is that something you’d be interested in? What was your experience like if you did it, and if not, what would you look forward to the most about it?

20 Responses

  1. We got our first CSA (half) share last night! We got an insane amount of greens, 3 summer squash, and 3 zuchini. I’m nervous we won’t be able to eat it all…

    • Let me know what you end up doing with it! If you cook the greens (depending on what type they are) they cook down SO much that you will be able to eat way more than you think. If you got kale.. make kale chips!!

      • We got kale, chard, red leaf lettuce (which I’m eating some of in a salad right now), collard, and cabbage. We also got garlic scapes, which I forgot to mention, and I’ve never used them or eaten them before!

        • Ok, so I’m totally cluttering your comments, but I made a really good dinner with a whole bunch of veggies last night from my CSA share! I sauteed a small onion and one chopped garlic scape in olive oil; then I added in a whole bunch of freshly torn kale and maybe 3/4 cup of broth, stirred it up and put a lid on it for 15-20mins to steam. Then I added a can of diced tomatoes, a can of rinsed/drained cannelini beans and warmed let it simmer together for a few mins to warm through those. I served it all over whole grain rotini and sprinkled the top of each bowl with sunflower seeds and grated parmesan. It was SO good. 🙂

  2. I’ve never done a CSA…too worried about not being able to use up all the food. I would love to be forced to experiment with veggies I’m not used to though. Can’t wait to see how it works out for you!

    • There really aren’t THAT many veggies if you do a half share. I did Great Country Farms in Bluemont, VA for my CSA and I’ll keep posting weekly pictures. If you like what you see you should sign up next year!

  3. This is my first year doing a CSA and the first two weeks have been a little disappointing. Mostly greens (lots of bok choy, enough lettuce for a few salads) and herbs. We had a small head of broccoli last week, but not this week. I can’t wait until we get more vegetables!

    • Yah they say early in the season isn’t as good, so I was happy to see things pick up a bit this week. Hopefully it’ll just keep getting better!

  4. I know this maybe a silly question, but what does CSA stand for? I am very interested in seeing if the town I live in offers CSA or something similar but want to know what I am asking for. Does that Make sense?

    • CSA = Community Supported Agriculture. If you check out localharvest.org, you can search for CSAs and/or Farmer’s Markets around you.

      • Thank you for the info! I could have waited until the Farmers market to ask but I will not be in town for the next 2 weekends and didn’t want to wait that long.

  5. I have yet to try a CSA, but maybe next year? It is just now becoming the rage here in IA, and I do know of some around where I live. I would be really exciting about the broccoli too!

  6. beth,
    i am so excited for you! csa’s are great. BUT the one here is so expensive. do you mind telling me how much it is for you?
    hope you have a great day and enjoy your bounty 🙂

    • Thanks, I’m excited about it too! 🙂 I pay about 25$/week… It’s a little pricey but I love supporting the local farmers and knowing I’m getting the veggies every week so it forces me to use them!

  7. Beth,

    That produce looks amazing. And I know I might be late to the game, but how do you go about making overnight oats? I really like oatmeal, but I’ve mostly been sticking to the instant packages.

    Zumba is awesome, although I’m not sure if you would find it to be that much of a workout compared to your crazy-long runs (4-5 miles is a major feat). I really like Zumba because I like to dance, especially to songs with good beats. I never thought I would find a workout that isn’t completely “work,” so I’m glad to have tried it. If you ever feel like e-mailing, my e-mail is kmphot@gmail.com.

    By the way, I really appreciate your posts on my blog 🙂

    • Hi Katie,

      Overnight oats are simple! You just mix it together the night before (or the morning of if you forget). you have to play around with the ratios to get it to the consistency you like, and then you eat it cold. You can use oats with milk and yogurt, or just milk which is what I’ve been doing lately. They are really good and super easy, but some people don’t like eating them cold.

  8. That is such a great idea. I wonder if it’s available in my area!

  9. Aww thanks for the link girl! Glad you liked ’em, and that you totally saw how they crazily plump up into sugary balls of joy.

    And CSA looks so fantastic, maybe I should look into that? Farm Fresh veggies? Yes please! Love how you can’t pick your own veggies, so you.. like you said… are pretty much forced to step out of your comfort zone (at least the zone for your taste buds) and try new types of produce. I’m sold on that!

  10. […] as much time as possible outside to soak in this amazing weather! After breakfast, I picked up my CSA for the week, which had a lot of fruit this […]

  11. I’ve been doing a CSA this year for the first time and it’s great so far! I’ve been keeping track of everything I get each week. It’s really intriguing seeing what things people across the country get in their CSA boxes.

Leave a Reply

