• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Crabby in a Good Way

So I wrote this title this morning but now I’m feeling SLIGHTLY crabby in a bad way because I left my camera at home with all my pictures from last night and this morning! 😦

Last night turned out to be a lovely evening. The boy got off from work early and brought home crabcakes from the restaurant, so we cooked dinner together and ate out on the balcony. Before he got home, I went on a 2.5 mile walk (in 38 minutes) around my neighborhood just to get out and move a bit. I sometimes forget how nice just walking around and exploring can be sometimes. We had some collard greens from the farm share that I wanted to cook, so as my sister Heather suggested, I grabbed an orange and cooked the collards with the juice from the orange and segments from the orange. We also made some bulgur with onions and carrots for a grain, and I had one huge crabcake (the boyfriend had two). We drank some wine and sat out chatting on the balcony, and then all of a sudden it was 1am! It was so nice to just sit outside because the night was so nice instead of in front of the TV like normal.

Even though I was up so late (I’m usually in bed by 11pm tops!) I forced myself to get out of bed and go for a run this morning! If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you probably know that I am NOT a morning exerciser. I sometimes try but can never get myself out of bed to actually go. But today was a bit different because I am going to my parents house tonight after work and won’t have time to workout, plus did a very light workout yesterday (the walk) so wanted to get in another good one before going away for the weekend. I woke up at 7am, put on my running clothes, and went! My biggest mistake was I didn’t even have a sip of water before leaving – – I’ll make sure not to do that again! The weather was PERFECT – sunny and clear and in the low 70s. Here’s the stats:

Distance: 3.11 miles

Duration: 30m:45sec

Avg. Pace: 6.0 mph

Avg. Speed: 9:59 min/mile

Calories: 361

When I set out I wasn’t sure exactly how far I wanted to go and ended up going a different route than normal. I ended up doing a 5k which is shorter than my normal runs but I was pressed for time.

After the run, I wanted to use my leftover crab cake from last night for breakfast. I made it into two smaller ones because the size of the restaurant crab cakes is huge, and just cooked it up in a pan. I toasted an arnold thin and put the browned crab meat on top, and then pan fried an egg with nonstick spray. I actually bought some eggs at the farmer’s market last night on my way home from work, and so I was looking forward to eating them for breakfast today. All of the eggs are a slightly different size since they’re fresh, so I of course picked the biggest one. When I cracked it into the pan, I noticed there were two yolks! I love how the yolk makes a sauce on whatever you’re eating if you leave it runny, so I did not mind one bit.

So 5k run and delicious Eggs Chesapeake for breakfast. What did you do to kick off Friday?

10 Responses

  1. Great job on the run! I did 2.2 miles today after breakfast as my weekend has already started 😀

    Reading about your crab and we are so making crab cakes tonight. I have a can of it in the fridge just waiting….

  2. I kicked off Friday with The Shred! Crazy, right? yeah…

    I get super crabby and throw little fits when I forget my camera (or the battery dies). I swear I’m more attached to it than my phone!

  3. That sound delicious. I am actually having crab meat for lunch–what a coincidence 😉 The egg sounds like a really good addition. As for me, I’m not feeling particularly creative, so I’m going to have flat bread with crab meat, laughing cow cheese and some lettuce–basically whatever I grabbed on the way to work.

    I’m also trying my first spin class after work, so wish me luck!

  4. Awesome 5K 🙂 I love how, even when super short on time, almost anyone can throw in a fast 3 miles + it feels so good!

    I started Friday with 5 miles on the elliptical (I miss running :() and overnight oats. Best Friday morning ever. Now I have to go to work (insert 2nd sad face here?) but it’s the weekend! So I’m super happy!

  5. i was feeling so beat up yesterday. i mostly slept thursday away but friday i kicked it off with an egg and kale wrap- definitely feeling the good effects from it 🙂 YUM

  6. i so love crab cakes-how delicious! happy friday beth!

  7. Good job on the run 🙂 I hate getting up but I always feel better during the day when I’ve done my workout.

    Happy Friday!!

  8. Wahoo on the sub 10min mile! I’m dying to get there someday!

  9. Way to get out there at 7am for a run!! I bet you felt fantastic for the rest of the day. How was your visit with your parents? I wish I had read this post earlier so I could have told you to say hi! to your mum for me. I wonder if she even remembers me……
    To kick off Friday I headed to the beach with my mom! I spent the day stand-up paddle boarding around the coast of Rye and then our boyfriends (or her fiance, I should say) met us when they got out of work. Perfect day with the exception of a brutal wipe-out that left me with the biggest (and most colorful) bruise of my life. Good grief.

Leave a Reply

