• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Substitutes

Hey! How’s your Friday going? Mine is goooood. It is absolutely gorgeous outside, so making it a little tough to want to be in the office, but I got out and took a nice long walk during my lunch break, so at least I got some fresh air. That egg and crab from this morning kept me full for a few hours so I didn’t eat lunch until almost 1! When I was looking in my fridge trying to figure out what to make for lunch, I spotted these:

image

I wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted to do with them, but I’d bought them a few months ago and knew they needed to be used up soon, so I threw them in my bag. I’m not really into processed foods or meat substitutes too much, so I wasn’t sure what these would turn out like, especially given the fact that I’d have to heat them up in the microwave. I tried one of the strips plain and didn’t LOVE it, but the dish I threw together actually turned out really good. Eating them with the veggies and cheese made them totally palatable, and for 80 calories a serving (and just 1 WW point) I think they were worth it!

I grabbed some frozen tricolored peppers and threw them in the microwave, and then mixed them in with the heated Steak Style Strips. I added some RF cheddar (1 pt) and put them in a toasted over an arnold thin (1 pt) to get the cheese melty. I also topped them with salsa after the cheese melted, and had a sliced up cucumber from the farmer’s market on the side.

image

The verdict? These were actually quite good mixed with everything! I don’t think eating them plain is a good idea, but if you add them in with other stuff they’re a great low-cal source of protein. And for only 3 points for this whole plate, they were great.

What’s your opinion on meat substitutes? Like ’em or leave ’em? In general I try to stay away from processed stuff but do indulge from time to time, especially now that I’ve given up meat. I mostly prefer beans, tofu, eggs, and tempeh for sources of protein, but every once in a while I don’t mind having these. I do love the sausage style crumbles and think they taste great plain or mixed in with other things, but I only eat meat substitutes a few times a month.

8 Responses

  1. When I went veggie I tried all kinds of meat substitutes.

    I haven’t found one single on that I like.

    Exception to the rule: Veggie burgers. LOVE EM

  2. Personally, I’d rather just eat real meat. I was a vegetarian for a long time and when I started working out really hard and consistently, I found that I craved MEAT all the time! I slowly made the switch from vegetarian to full-on carnivore. I love it! 😉

  3. Before I lived with H I was practically a vegetarian. I used boca crumbles and boca burgers pretty often – esp because they are so low in points. Back then I’d buy a pound of ground turkey like every two or three months! Now I buy like two pounds a week!

    I’m a total processed food addict 🙂

  4. friday is going good!!

    hmm i do enjoy meat substitutes.. but id rather not prepare them myself. if someone else who knows how to make them prepares a dish, i think it tastes AMAZING! otherwise, if i make it, i end up having to toss it out. tempeh is my fav tho.. cuz that i can make at home and it tastes good 🙂

  5. I was a vegetarian for 8 years and tried pretty much every meat substitute under the sun. I quickly found out that no matter how hard it tries, it won’t be meat so it’s better just to eat something else! I do like Morningstar’s fake bacon and their fake hot dogs though!

  6. I dunno, I love veggie burgers but I don’t think of them as a substitute for meat. If I want to eat meat, then fake meat just will not cut it.

  7. i like meet substitutions…….i am thinking of picking up some smart dogs this weekend….. happy saturday beth!

  8. I used to eat a lot of meat subs. when I was younger but I, like you, don’t eat too much processed food. I think meat subs. are great for someone who is initially transitioning from a meat to plant-based diet, though. I’ve had those smart strips before… I think they are wayyy better stir-fried than nuked in the microwave, but I’m glad you enjoyed them at work! Def. a creative little lunch you got there! Hope you’re enjoying your weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

