• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 115 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Blueberries!

Morning! Man, I was dreading coming to work today just because the weekend was so fun and definitely not long enough. The best way to ease myself into a Monday is to start the day off right with pancakes, which is exactly what I did this morning. When I was in NJ over the weekend, my dad took me to a blueberry farm where they grow, pick, and package the blueberries for distribution. You can go to the farm and buy the already picked blueberries for really cheap. We split a flat, which is 12 pints of blueberries, and it was $15 total. So, I got 6 packages of blueberries for $7.50, or $1.25 each! Fresh, delicious, plump blueberries for cheap!? Yes, please! You’ll be seeing a lot of them over the next week or so.

I made the basic chiacake recipe with:

  • 2 tbsp flax seed pancake and waffle mix (1 pt)
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (1 pt)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds (.5 pts)
  • 2 tbsp egg whites (0 pts)
  • 3 tbsp light soy milk (.5 pts)
  • 1 cup blueberries (1 pt)

I added the blueberries to the pancakes as soon as I poured the batter into the pan.

This recipe made 3 good sized blueberry pancakes.

I took the rest of the cup of blueberries and microwaved them for 1 minute total which made them get all melty and pop into a delicious blueberry syrup.

This made the perfect topping for the blueberry pancakes!

Soooo good.

These pancakes had just 4 points, syrup and all! I think I’ll be making more of this 1 ingredient syrup, which could be great chilled in a yogurt parfait or as an oatmeal topper.

What is your favorite way to use blueberries? I need some ideas so I can make it through these before they go bad!

Happy first day of summer!

16 Responses

  1. Those pancakes look amazing Beth! I just spent 7 points on my breakfast (bagel thin with peanut butter and honey+ coffee with cream) and it does not sound as good as your 4 point breakfast. I may have to try this breakfast out 🙂

  2. You make me want to get up early enough to cook breakfast at home before work! I usually just have yogurt/berries/granola for breakfast every day – but MAN I could go for a breakfast like that to start the week!

  3. I love blueberries and that is such a great price! I love making fresh fruit buckles. They are the perfect summer dessert to make with any type of fresh fruit, blueberries included. Check out my recipe at http://happywhennothungry.wordpress.com/2010/03/27/fruit-buckle/

  4. I love blueberry pancakes, so do the Midgets. Blueberry muffins are awesome also although I never make them haha.

  5. I love blueberries in pancakes, on oatmeal, and in smoothies. They’re also great on salads!

  6. Yum! We got some blueberries this weekend too, although not as many as you. 🙂 I put a handful in my salad for lunch today and we ate the rest of them with dark chocolate over the weekend.

  7. Blueberry muffins, blueberry with cottage cheese or yogurt, blueberry scones!

  8. i love how u whipped up some blueberry syrup to go with it! i always appreciate when bloggers take the time to add those little extras to make a meal extra special 😉

    loving blueberries frozen in yogurt currently.. oh but they always go well in muffins too 🙂

  9. Love blueberries! I would make some freezer jam out of it…keeps for weeks in the fridge, or you can freeze for up to a year.

    • Ohh freezer jam is a great idea. My mom made strawberry freezer jam and used some yesterday that was from a year ago and still delicious!

  10. Wowzers great price on the blueberries! I’ve been tossing them into salads and they’re such a nice change.

  11. Yum, these pancakes look fantastic! I love blueberries in pancakes, on top of vanilla ice cream and in smoothies 🙂

  12. i love blueberries 🙂 and that’s such a clever idea to create a syrup!!

  13. Yum those look so good! I just made a peach blueberry crisp last week that was super easy and quick – fresh fruit on the bottom, a simple agave/cornstarch sauce and then toasted oats and flour on top! So good and not too terrible for you! 🙂

  14. Yum!! I so love your chiacakes! My favorite way to eat blueberries is actually in a bowl with whipped cream and strawberries – mmm delishhh

Leave a Reply

