• Welcome to Beth’s Journey!


    Hey! I'm Beth - a 27 year old foodie living and working in the Washington, DC area who has lost almost 90 pounds through Weight Watchers. I love good food, wine and getting creative in the kitchen, and then balancing that out with running, The Shred, and yoga. Please feel free to browse around and hopefully you'll find some ideas, recipes and motivation!

  • Enter your email address to receive emails when new posts are made on Beth's Journey.

    Join 116 other followers

  • Recent Posts

Eww!

Hello! How’s your Monday going so far? Mine is good and fast! Lots to do so the day is flying by. Lunch today was reworked leftovers with some of the veggies from my CSA.

I had Shrimp Fajitas for dinner last night, and only ate about half, so brought the other half home to bring in today. I grabbed some red leaf lettuce from my farm share and washed it 3x before packing it up. I brought it out today and look what I found:

A slug! I know its actually a good sign because you know it really came from the ground and is fresh, but…

Ew!

I almost couldn’t eat my salad but I washed the lettuce two more times and carefully inspected each piece to make sure there were no other creatures trying to get in my belly.

I threw together:

  • 2 cups of red leaf lettuce (0 pts)
  • 1/2 cup black beans (1 pt)
  • 5 shrimp + veggies (3 pts)

It was actually quite delicious! The shrimp + veggies were so good and added a ton of flavor to the salad. I didn’t eat all the lettuce because I was still a little nervous about the slug discovery.

On the side, I had some broccoli from the farm share.

I had some salsa to dip it in, but the broccoli was so delicious that I didn’t even use it! What a difference fresh broccoli is from what I usually get at the store! It was so flavorful and crunchy, and just perfect. I ended up eating this x2 and loved every second of it.

So time to check back in on my June goals, even though they are really not going as well as I would have hoped.

1.) Drink more water. Check on this one. I’ve been consistently drinking more water and making an effort to have at least 8 glasses during the work day, and more at night.

2.) Be consistent with exercise. Check on this one, too. I managed to wake up early Friday to get in a run and then did a 17 mile bike ride yesterday even though I was away for the weekend. I’d like to be getting in 5 days a week but 4 is more reasonable with the amount of traveling I’ve been doing lately.

3.) Get back to strength training. I have done strength training 2x this month so far, which is more than normal, but I’d like to get in 1-2x a week. I plan to do at least one day this week, so half check. I also ordered The Shred from amazon.com, so hopefully once that arrives (early next week) I’ll be able to get it in more consistently.

4.) Go back to Weight Watchers Meetings – Hopefully I’ll make it this Thursday. I weighed myself this morning and it’s not looking too good, but I definitely need to just suck it back up and go.

5.) Limit alcohol consumption – Fail. I haven’t been going crazy or anything, but I have been having a lot of unnecessary drinks here and there – and high calorie ones at that (margaritas!). I need to cut back in this department, though I have a happy hour for work coming up Thursday…

6.) Count WW Points. Half check. I’ve been good about counting my breakfasts/lunches, but not so much about dinners and eating out. Have to be more consistent about this until I’m at goal weight.

So I guess its not as bad as I was thinking, but I really need to get it together so that I can look and feel my best in my best friend’s wedding in August. I have 7 weeks from Saturday, so definitely enough time, but I need to get my butt in gear and stop making excuses! I realize that I’ve had a lot going on the past few weeks, but there’s always a lot going on, and I can’t keep using it as an excuse to get off track and not be so focused on my goals.

12 Responses

  1. I found a little green worm once in Brussel sprouts – YEARS ago – but I still wash them a million times now and am always afraid I”m going to find another. Guess I’m scarred for life!

    And I totally feel your pain about your friend’s wedding. The one I’m in on July 3rd was supposed to be in November so I had lots of time to “prepare” myself. No such luck seeing as it was just moved up! I thought I had months, but that quickly turned into only 4 weeks…and now only 2!!!! Eeeeekkkk!)

  2. Don’t you think that yoga at least partially counts as strength training? You are using your body weight but I think it helps with toning…

    • Hi Jamie, I think thats a good point! Yoga does strengthen and tone your muscles and I am happy that I’m incorporating it into my routine, but I haven’t been in over a week and personally I don’t feel as sore in my muscles the day or two after Bikram as I do with weights. I’d like to make sure to include both as part of my routine, but maybe I’m being too hard on myself.

  3. I also need to check myself on the alcohol consumption. Not that it’s been alot, but a glass of wine here… a bottle of beer there… it all adds up and I don’t really think it’s always necessary… :S

  4. I only really drink on the weekend if I do at all and this weekend I had a little too much wine–definitely need to watch myself with that one!

  5. When I’m going out with friends alcohol is where I fail. I never really drink by myself or even if it’s just me and my boyfriend, but I do love a glass of wine or two when I’m out with the gals…

  6. Ahh I would die if I found a slug!!! You are a stronger woman than I am! I bet if you stick to those goals, you will have no problem looking your hottest in August! 🙂

  7. I think I would wash my lettuce a few times too. Ick!
    Also, thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving kind words. 🙂 I put up a new tab with some pictures.

  8. ew ew slugs! i once found 3 in my lettuce once!! i almost barfed lol eek

  9. Eww!! I found a dead lady bug in my organic lettuce from TJ’s once, gross. You are right though, it just means its nice and fresh and not covered in pesticides.

    I am always so good with tracking bfast, lunch and snacks and then suck at dinner too.. boo!

  10. Yumm at the broccoli! I got some at the farmer’s market this weekend… soo much better than the “stuff” I’ve been buying at the store! I tried a new recipe for raw broccoli – let it marinate overnight in the fridge. Holy cow, it was so good that I ate it before I had a chance to put it on my salad. Oops! Isn’t it the best when you just want to scarf down your veggies?

  11. I love margaritas! But the classic ones are so freaking high in calories. My girlfriends and I will mix lime juice, Diet Sprite, and tequila and pour over ice to get our margarita kick 🙂

    Good luck on your goals! When I did WW, I used this bracelet where you moved this pendant past every bead for every point you ate. It made my life so much easier!!

Leave a Reply

